2/17 Zazzy AMPS 337. Bounce, dosing question.

Zazzy

Member Since 2019
Morning all.
Zazzy made me do a mini curve last night. She had a blue PMPS, first one we've shot! So I got in a few tests throughout the night to check her. Could have sworn I set an alarm for +7, but that was 3am here so who knows. Also note her +5 was taken before my husband gave them their "midnight snack" meal, so I knew she was getting food in her system.
My question is technically we've earned a reduction on SLGS. However, we were just on 0.5u after a few low PMPS and missed shots to "reset" her dosage and she runs in mostly the 300s and upper 200s. I know for TR you don't reduce until you get 3 low readings, can I do a modified SLGS and wait for 3 under 90 readings? If she's bouncing due to her body trying to regulate I don't want to reduce and undo what we've been working on at 0.75u.
 
You need to take the reduction. This is particularly the case since you do not have AM cycle tests.

Are you missing pre-shot data?

If I'm understanding the comments on your spreadsheet, are you adjusting your AMPS shot time by as much as 2 hours? If so, it's a problem. Due to the depot and the overlap between shots, an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose reduction. You have about a 30 min. window to shoot, providing your cat isn't sensitive to the time change. Otherwise, Lantus likes consistency.
 
If I'm understanding the comments on your spreadsheet, are you adjusting your AMPS shot time by as much as 2 hours? If so, it's a problem. Due to the depot and the overlap between shots, an early shot acts like a dose increase and a late shot acts like a dose reduction. You have about a 30 min. window to shoot, providing your cat isn't sensitive to the time change. Otherwise, Lantus likes consistency.

The AMPS is early, but her shot is at her regular time. My husband is home for shots, he just cannot test her.
 
I was clearly confused. Rather than saying your AMPS was 2 hrs early, can you put it on your spreadsheet as a +10? Maybe putting something in your signature or on the spreadsheet explaining would help.

Do you have a back-up plan if you test and get a low number? Will your husband know what to do if you've left for work?
 
I was clearly confused. Rather than saying your AMPS was 2 hrs early, can you put it on your spreadsheet as a +10? Maybe putting something in your signature or on the spreadsheet explaining would help.

Do you have a back-up plan if you test and get a low number? Will your husband know what to do if you've left for work?
Yes, I have a note on the far left of my spreadsheet that AMPS was at +10, and the number is in the +10 column, I just leave the AMPS spot blank. And yes, I let him know before I leave for work if we need to adjust dosage. We have not run into the issue of needing to adjust her morning dosage, for some reason it's only been her PMPS that goes low occasionally.
 
Back
Top