2/17 - Wally - AMPS: 268 +3: 300 ...the day after kibble

Wally & Stefano

Member Since 2018
Prev post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-16-wally-amps-191-2-166-4-109-5-97-down-again.210805/

Today my girlfriend is taking measurements every 2 hours ... (i'm the one sleeping) to see what's going on

On prev post @Wendy&Neko you suggested to move back to the last working dose that could be 5.5u or maybe something lower.

I'm wondering if I should take action on PM shot or maybe wait tomorrow...

I don't know how much the yesterday stolen kibble will influence his system and measurements
 
I agree with Mandy. You don't want to react to "kibble" effect and end up giving too much insulin. Wally's BG is coming down so I'd stick with 3.5u right now. The kibble effect may go quickly or it may linger a bit.....really depends on how carb sensitive Wally is and he doesn't seem to be overly sensitive from what you've seen lately.
 
The larger 5.5 unit depot should be gone by now. At this point, we don't yet know what 3.5 units can do, because of the one slighty reduced dose on 2/15 AM. I would hold the 3.5 unit dose at least consecutive 6 cycles before deciding what to do next. That would be tomorrow night. Perhaps even a couple cycles longer because of that kibble raid. It can take longer for kibble to get out of the system. The appearance of ketones would mean increasing sooner - good to see you are checking regularly.

Any reason there is still kibble in the house?
 
Any reason there is still kibble in the house?

Thank you for your feedback Wendy.

Wally's sister doesn't like much wet food and we are having trouble keeping her on ideal weight. She is on remission from a gastro-intestinal lymphoma that was DX'd in October and after the chemio therapy she revealed reduced kidney functions... our priority is to have something in her stomach (she is eating some Hills prescription dry food).

She's currently eating same Wally's wet chicken food but some kibble to give her some more calories!
 
Thank you for your feedback Wendy.

Wally's sister doesn't like much wet food and we are having trouble keeping her on ideal weight. She is on remission from a gastro-intestinal lymphoma that was DX'd in October and after the chemio therapy she revealed reduced kidney functions... our priority is to have something in her stomach (she is eating some Hills prescription dry food).

She's currently eating same Wally's wet chicken food but some kibble to give her some more calories!

Not to upset you but Hills Prescription is not that great.
If I wanted to put weight on Bear I would go with higher % Carb wet.

Bear was put on that by the Vet and I couldn't control his BG while he was eating it, Black and Red Level.
I know Eva isn't diabetic but since her brother Wally is you should consider that diabetes could be genetically inherited and Eva could be prone also.

I am sure there are others that could give you some great ideas for Eva with her health issues.
@Wendy&Neko
 
Wally's sister doesn't like much wet food and we are having trouble keeping her on ideal weight. She is on remission from a gastro-intestinal lymphoma that was DX'd in October and after the chemio therapy she revealed reduced kidney functions... our priority is to have something in her stomach (she is eating some Hills prescription dry food).
Unfortunately, I have too much experience with GI lymphoma. :( Three kitties now. Neko had it, as well as a couple civvies. Cancer thrives on a high carbs diet. I would really try to get your girl kitty onto low carb food. Dry food is also really bad for cats with CKD, which Neko also had. CKD cats are typically dehydrated and cats aren't good drinkers. Is your girl kitty getting prednisolone? That should make her a little hungrier. A higher calorie, but lower carb food would be best. If she is still getting chemo (chlorambucil I presume?), then she may need an anti nausea drug like ondansetron to help her appetite. Fluids or wet food will also help with nausea.
 
A higher calorie, but lower carb food would be best. If she is still getting chemo (chlorambucil I presume?), then she may need an anti nausea drug like ondansetron to help her appetite. Fluids or wet food will also help with nausea.

We also tried wet CKD Hill's but she ignores it.... I just ordered some GranataPet with low Phosphorus.
Gill suggested some brand we're already using with Wally - so we might also solve the possibility i forget her bowl open again!

About her therapy it will be hard for me to translate into english, but this is what she's doing (i don't know if it makes sense)

Once a month in clinic: 0.5 vincristina, 1 ciclofosfamide
At home daily: Omeprazolo and Prednicortone
 
Thanks for the update on her therapy, I do understand, but it doesn't make sense. Does she have small cell lymphoma (thickened intenstines) or large cell lymphoma (a mass)? I suspect SCL because you said she is in remission and kitties don't typically go into remission with large cell. Vincristine is not the normal protocol for SCL. It is a much harsher drug that the chlorambucil that is the standard protocol, along with daily prednisolone which it looks like she is getting. Omeprazole is an acid blocker, sounds like she's not getting any anti nausea medication like Cerenia or ondansetron. Chemo can induce nausea and make them reluctant to eat.

Hills CKD is also too high in carbs, glad she doesn't like it. Getting her onto Wally's food would be best.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top