2/17 Tweety AMPS 176 +1 231 +2 218 +4 241 +7 344 PMPS 376 +1 359 +2 365 +5 310

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...25-1-280-2-290-3-189-4-125-5-110-6-10.286713/

Anxious to shoot. Staying the course and learning about "Feeding the Curve" from Staci. :cat:
Good morning, Teya. Very nice Amps. Congrats on the beautiful blue preshot number. :cool:
I don’t know what you are feeding (carbs) but if you see Tweety dropping very fast, especially in the first 3 hours, you can give a teaspoon or 2 of a little higher carb than her regular food, to try to slow her down.
Later in the cycle, past the nadir, try to stick with lower carb foods.

I feed Ivy’s regular 6% food at +1,2,3 to keep her coasting along to attempt keeping her from diving as the insulin onsets.
But, if she’s in a bounce breaking cycle and dropping fast, early in the cycle, I need to use some medium carb 12.5% to slow her down (1 or 2 teaspoons).
You want to keep her hungry in case you need to feed more again. (Don’t feed a lot each time).
Hope this helps.
You’re doing so great with Tweety!
Have a safe cycle and a great day :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Good morning, Teya. Very nice Amps. Congrats on the beautiful blue preshot number. :cool:
I don’t know what you are feeding (carbs) but if you see Tweety dropping very fast, especially in the first 3 hours, you can give a teaspoon or 2 of a little higher carb than her regular food, to try to slow her down.
Later in the cycle, past the nadir, try to stick with lower carb foods.

I feed Ivy’s regular 6% food at +1,2,3 to keep her coasting along to attempt keeping her from diving as the insulin onsets.
But, if she’s in a bounce breaking cycle and dropping fast, early in the cycle, I need to use some medium carb 12.5% to slow her down (1 or 2 teaspoons).
You want to keep her hungry in case you need to feed more again. (Don’t feed a lot each time).
Hope this helps.
You’re doing so great with Tweety!
Have a safe cycle and a great day :bighug::cat::bighug:

Thank you!!
Very helpful and simplified! But I'll still read all the detail of feeding the curve.

Tweety gets low carb Fancy Feast Classic Pate. I bought Fancy Feast Grilled In Gravy for a higher carb option. I think it's also about 12%. So if she really drops this morning I'll give her a tsp. or so. She's a BIG eater so I'll have to be careful. Rarely if ever (unless she's sick) is food presented and she will not eat lol!!

I wanted to run errands this morning but I'm going to table it to keep an eye on her. Amazing how just .25u can make such a big difference.

Thank you again and have a wonderful day as well!! GO BLUE! I'd love to see all blue and ok fine a tad of yellow today. :)
 
Thank you!!
Very helpful and simplified! But I'll still read all the detail of feeding the curve.

Tweety gets low carb Fancy Feast Classic Pate. I bought Fancy Feast Grilled In Gravy for a higher carb option. I think it's also about 12%. So if she really drops this morning I'll give her a tsp. or so. She's a BIG eater so I'll have to be careful. Rarely if ever (unless she's sick) is food presented and she will not eat lol!!

I wanted to run errands this morning but I'm going to table it to keep an eye on her. Amazing how just .25u can make such a big difference.

Thank you again and have a wonderful day as well!! GO BLUE! I'd love to see all blue and ok fine a tad of yellow today. :)
Just small amounts at a time. Keep her wanting more if you need her to eat!! Go Blue :cool:
 
@Teya and Tweety
Hi don't know if you saw my message from yesterday
You said you have the iPetPro if you ever have to check Tweety's BG against the Libre
Just a suggestion since the Libre is actually a human meter why not buy a hand held human , it might get confusing if you need to test with the i iPetPro meter since those BG numbers will be different
Those strips look very expensive
Most of us use The Relion Human meters from Walmart

Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart
Only because I see Bhooma said to you in another one of your posts
Use the reading you get with the meter to take reductions rather than the Libre.

Here is your post where Bhooma said that
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ps-325-1-280-2-290-3-189.286713/#post-3153269
Post #2
 
Last edited:
@Teya and Tweety
Hi don't know if you saw my message from yesterday
You said you have the iPetPro if you ever have to check Tweety's BG against the Libre
Just a suggestion since the Libre is actually a human meter why not buy a hand held human , it might get confusing if you need to test with the i iPetPro meter since those BG numbers will be different
Those strips look very expensive
Most of us use The Relion Human meters from Walmart

Here is the link for the meter and test strips so you don't have to search for them
Relion Premier Classic Meter at Walmart for 9 dollars
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-CLASSIC-Blood-Glucose-Monitoring-System/552134103

The tests strips are 17.88 for 100
https://www.walmart.com/ip/ReliOn-Premier-Blood-Glucose-Test-Strips-100-Count/575088197
At least if you need more test strips you can run into Walmart and pick them up or if you're running low you can just order them from Walmart
Only because I see Bhooma said to you in another one of your posts
Use the reading you get with the meter to take reductions rather than the Libre.

Here is your post where Bhooma said that
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ps-325-1-280-2-290-3-189.286713/#post-3153269
Post #2
No I totally missed it... I think there were lots of messages last night
I'll go back and make sure I didn't miss anyone else. I've had s busy morning but will be back online shortly. Thank you!

Yes I've got the ipet and just bought new straps which were $50 give or take. I'm getting confused as I thought someone told me it didn't matter if it was human or pet. But I'll look back and figure out what to do. So much info but all helpful.

UPDATE -- $9?!?! I spent $50 just on the meter and another $50 on the strips, etc. Wow... I think I had better get this. It is a no brainer. Plus there is a nicer/newer one for $19 The Platinum. Do you think it matters? THANK YOU it always takes my mind a bit to process things. I will try to process before replying. I just try to reply ASAP so I dont forget.
 
Last edited:
I have one from CVS, as I don't have a Walmart close by, and it's the same price, less than $10 for the meter and the strips are around $40 for 200 strips.
I answered you in Staci's post but will say it here as well: I buy Woody's food for Bella, she loves it. They will give samples if you want to try it for a few days :-)
 
I have one from CVS, as I don't have a Walmart close by, and it's the same price, less than $10 for the meter and the strips are around $40 for 200 strips.
I answered you in Staci's post but will say it here as well: I buy Woody's food for Bella, she loves it. They will give samples if you want to try it for a few days :)

That's crazy... I had no idea meters were so cheap. I feel bamboozled. Lol that word makes me laugh and think of my mom. :) Anywho, I'm going to make a trip to Woodys!!! Do you worry about bones and stuff though? Tweety has IBD and is on Prednisolone. I worry about bones but would also go with cooked food. She's 18. Going raw might be a bit much. For her little system.

I love that you're local!!!!
 
No need to keep testing until you get to PMPS. Looks like she's bouncing from those lovely overnight numbers. I know you are using the Libre now, but if you ever get to the point where you are just using a meter with strips, the +2 guideline helps you save test strips and when you need to use them. If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, it'll be a regular Lantus cycle with some downward action. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the PS it can be an active cycle needing more testing. A higher +2 means a quiet cycle with little action.
 
No need to keep testing until you get to PMPS. Looks like she's bouncing from those lovely overnight numbers. I know you are using the Libre now, but if you ever get to the point where you are just using a meter with strips, the +2 guideline helps you save test strips and when you need to use them. If the +2 is about the same as the preshot, it'll be a regular Lantus cycle with some downward action. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the PS it can be an active cycle needing more testing. A higher +2 means a quiet cycle with little action.
No kidding?!? I don't even know what to say. This is HUGE. HUGE... had no idea. I am going to start printing things out and making a book. I am totally serious. Until I get the hang of things. I can't wait to go back and look at her SS and see this. To think I could have rested easy so many days vs being on high alert. Today is super weird... bouncing I guess as she is well over 300 now. Which means she could take a deep dive soon in the coming days. If so I now know steps that include staying calm. :) THANK YOU! *** WAIT btw... what is considered "close" within 50 points of AMPS at 2+?
 
I’m answering your question about answering a post on the current day’s condo.
You asked:
So... I start Tweetys new day with AMPS and then just @ people from previous day to answer things.

That works fine. I copied and pasted your question.
 
No I totally missed it... I think there were lots of messages last night
I'll go back and make sure I didn't miss anyone else. I've had s busy morning but will be back online shortly. Thank you!

Yes I've got the ipet and just bought new straps which were $50 give or take. I'm getting confused as I thought someone told me it didn't matter if it was human or pet. But I'll look back and figure out what to do. So much info but all helpful.

UPDATE -- $9?!?! I spent $50 just on the meter and another $50 on the strips, etc. Wow... I think I had better get this. It is a no brainer. Plus there is a nicer/newer one for $19 The Platinum. Do you think it matters? THANK YOU it always takes my mind a bit to process things. I will try to process before replying. I just try to reply ASAP so I dont forget.
@Teya and Tweety
Hi Teya either of the Relion meters will be fine, most members use the Prime meter .:cat::cat:
Also great job highlighting when you switched to TR on your SS
 
what is considered "close" within 50 points of AMPS at 2+?
I'd think more in terms of percentages than absolute values, as 50 makes a big difference depending if her PS was 90 vs 400. There will also be some variation between cats. Looking at her spreadsheet and seeing what you can see is a great idea.

It also looks like Tweety likes to onset (when the shot starts working) fairly early in the cycle, sometimes by +1. Look for example at the cycle on the PM of 1/26. For my girl, the +2 meant nothing, she onset late so the +3 was a better indicator.
 
I'd think more in terms of percentages than absolute values, as 50 makes a big difference depending if her PS was 90 vs 400. There will also be some variation between cats. Looking at her spreadsheet and seeing what you can see is a great idea.

It also looks like Tweety likes to onset (when the shot starts working) fairly early in the cycle, sometimes by +1. Look for example at the cycle on the PM of 1/26. For my girl, the +2 meant nothing, she onset late so the +3 was a better indicator.
Thank you, will do. I've got a lot of extra time today to devote to learning more about everything I was told these last several days. :)
 
Back
Top