2/17 Tonka AMPS 119, +2 126, +3 131, PMPS 121, +3 54

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
Tonka decided this morning that he just wasn't hungry (he claimed to be starving last night, so got some extra low carb food in the middle of the night). I spread a little bit of gravy on his food to get him interested, but all he ate was the gravy part and left the pate. I managed to stay home from work in the morning to watch him and be sure that he wouldn't crash. He seemed to be climbing from the gravy and I had left out some medium carb food so I figured I'd be safe to go to work.

By the time I got home, the cats had eaten more of the food but there was still several tbsp left over.
Tonight Tonka is still not hungry. He'll nibble a bit, but wanders away without finishing what's there. Much like Teeger does. His +3 post shot is a little low for my liking at this point in the night (I only slept two hours last night, trying to get a report done, and there's no way I can do that again), so I just brought him down to see if he'd eat some more. Nibbled a bit more but still not eating all that much. Definitely in grazing mode today.

I know that this is perfectly acceptable in a healthy cat, and that he's probably just not as hungry now that he is getting better regulated, but I don't know what to do about his dosage. Even on Lantus, I assume that the amount that they eat will make a difference to how much insulin they require, even with the low carb wet food. Do I keep putting out higher carb food to keep him safe while waiting out the cycles to see what happens when the depot catches up to his new dose?
 
Tonka has been 5 cycles on this dose, his depot should have caught up by now. We do have a number of cats here who are grazers. Have you been weighing him to see if there are any weight changes? Since he is well regulated now, he doesn't need as much food. I'd continue to just give him his regular low carb food but you can leave high carb food out if you are worried about him going low when you are away. If he gives you a number lower than you feel comfortable shooting in the morning, you can always do a one time reduced dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top