2/17 TAZ, AMPS - 249, +5 - 209 (question about curve)

SaraMV

Member Since 2022
Taz is starting to feel better from what we believe was a pancreatitis flare up. He has began to eat again on his own for the first time since Monday. I increased his insulin dose last Saturday night, so his curve should be done this Saturday, correct?

When checking for nadirs and whether to increase/decrease insulin, is it the nadir on curve day that we would go off of?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...is-flare-up-ketone-strip.259403/#post-2914598
 
Taz is starting to feel better from what we believe was a pancreatitis flare up. He has began to eat again on his own for the first time since Monday. I increased his insulin dose last Saturday night, so his curve should be done this Saturday, correct?

Yes. However you test enough to catch the nadir during the day. What we don’t know is how low he goes at night. I’d rather see a couple of tests to see the nadir at night than a complete curve.
When checking for nadirs and whether to increase/decrease insulin, is it the nadir on curve day that we would go off of?

It’s much better to look at the numbers for the whole week when deciding on dosing rather than just the curve. Some people following SLGS don’t get any extra tests so we have no choice but to use the curve nadir.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...is-flare-up-ketone-strip.259403/#post-2914598

I’m glad he’s feeling better and the flare might be over.
 
I’m glad he’s feeling better and the flare might be over.

I'm able to get a couple of tests during his PM cycle tonight. What are the best times when I should get them? I might also be able to get one tomorrow night.
 
Can you stay up until 10:30? If he is not a lot lower than the pmps don’t test again if lower set an alarm for +5-7.
 
Yes, I'll try to read or I'll set my alarm for 10:30. Thank you. I'm always confused on which readings to spot check. I usually just try to grab one's that haven't been done in a while but I hate poking him numerous times a day, so I try to keep it at a minimum. I was actually wondering if taking so many readings last weekend caused him to start feeling bad again from the stress. :(
 
I completely disagree about the testing. Max was very sensitive and I was afraid he would hide from me all the time. It didn’t bother him at all. It doesn’t hurt them. Lantus is dosed based upon how low a dose takes him. If you don’t find the nadir you might think he needs more insulin when he’s actually bouncing from going lower than he is used to. You don’t have to be a testaholic like I became but it is important to find how low his bg is going on the dose. Taz might have been pink last night because his bg went lower after the +4 test.
 
Back
Top