2/17 - Sami - + 5 pmps 245 - PMPS 524; +2 391; +4 320; TESTING advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Good Morning Everyone,

Yesterday's Condo

Well, we got a bit more blue yesterday, but really we barely dipped out toe. I am wondering if it might be time for an increase? I was really hoping that this would be the dose that would bring Sami down, and it appeared that it would, but now I am starting to wonder.

What do you think? Should we try a F2.0, 2.25 or should we stick with this dose for another couple of cycle to see if she finally makes a move?

I am also wondering if Sami did clear a bounce on 2/14 but then got another bounce because of the huge drop from 436 to 165 in a couple of hours? Any thoughts on this. If that is the case than we probably need to hold this dose for a couple more cycles to see if she is going to clear it.

I am planning on giving Sami fluids this morning, so maybe that will catapult her a bit back into the mid to low 100's.

I will check back in after +2 and fluids and let you know how it is going.
 
I was trying to look at Sami's SS, but it's acting really weird for me....I can't get it to scroll past Jan 30, and even though the scroll bar is moving, the SS isn't. Has anyone else mentioned having a problem? I don't know if it's a setting or what...it's odd.
 
I'm not sure....I don't know if the problem lies with your SS or my computer, and I'm not super-duper tech savvy about SS issues. Let's see if anyone else has the same problem I had. @Marje and Gracie is really good with SS issues if it really is an issue with the SS, and there is also the Tech forum where you canpost questions. It might just be me, though o_O!
 
@Amy&TrixieCat and @Marje and Gracie Let me know if there is something I can do differently. I could move it to Google Drive if that is better.

But I am still in need of some dosing advice. I don't know if I should stay with this dose or increase. Maybe you all are waiting to see what happens today with the fluids.
 
Must be my computer then...it's weird, but at times my computer does odd stuff with SSs when others have no problems. Unfortunately since I can't see your current data, I can't answer the question about dosing....
 
Sorry I didn't add some dosing advice. I was just getting up and getting :coffee:. I think it's time to increase to 2.25u. She's had plenty of time to clear the bounce from the greens and she has not gotten back down into green.
 
@Marje and Gracie Okay, should I increase tonight or wait until tomorrow morning? Is one better than the other?

Is there a reason why a dose will do so well for awhile and then just doesn't any longer?
 
+7 - 421

Here I am pulling my hair out again. I am seriously starting to wonder if Sami just can't eat DUCK. The last time I gave her food with DUCK PM on 2/13 - AM 2/14 she went up to the 400's and today I just wanted to give her something a bit different and here she is back up in the 400's. I keep telling myself that I will stick with the same food, and then I waiver from it.

Which makes me question the increase again? Should I hold off on the increase until we see if she levels out with a different food, or should I go ahead and increase tonight and see how she does? I just gave the DUCK this morning, so really the past couple of days have been only on Turkey and she really hasn't dropped down to the GREEN, so maybe I should go ahead and increase tonight.
 
I won't offer dosing advice since I ask all the time. I'd trust what the experts here say. Know what you are goin through and the frustration. Just know Milo abd I understand. Hope Sami and Milo get the s pancreas working soon.

Hugs from
Meredith and Milo
 
I would just increase. The timing is up to when you can monitor, but it's hard to say when the cat will see the first effects of the increase. Some cats get NDW, some get it some of the time. I often increase at night because Neko more often shows a reaction on the second cycle after an increase, which would be day time. But it's a gamble.

I'd also change one thing at a time. Stick to her regular food, experiment with duck later. I haven't heard of reactions to duck before, but ECID.
 
I agree with Wendy....I'd increase, stick with the duck, change one thing at a time.

It is not uncommon to see a kitty doing well on a dose and then not. Lots of things that we can't account for can change. I go through this with Gracie. My philosophy is to not get attached to a dose; if she needs more insulin, she does. Maybe she'll only need it for a short period of time but so what?

I'd just give Sami a 0.25u increase and see how she does.
 
@Marje and Gracie and @Wendy&Neko Okay, I will go ahead and increase to 2.25 units tonight. It sounds like Wendy is saying NIX the Duck and stick to what I have been feeding Sami (Wellness Turkey and Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblet), but it sounds like Marje is saying keep feeding the Duck.

Which should I do? I am more inclined to NIX the duck for now, and keep feeding the Wellness Turkey, Friskies Special Diet Turkey and Giblet, and Wellness Beef. As I looked back over the spreadsheet her numbers didn't seem to fluctuate with the Wellness Beef so I would be okay giving her that as well. Maybe the Duck has too much FAT?
 
I won't offer dosing advice since I ask all the time. I'd trust what the experts here say. Know what you are goin through and the frustration. Just know Milo abd I understand. Hope Sami and Milo get the s pancreas working soon.

Hugs from
Meredith and Milo

Thanks Meredith! I hope to see some changes in her numbers soon. We will be increasing tonight!
 
Just keep doing what you are doing with food. It won't make that much of a different to negate the need for an increase.
 
Sorry....I misread about the duck. My bad. I'd go with Wendy's advice....keep doing what you're doing with the food and increase the dose. Although...the fat in the duck won't affect the BG unless they lower the fat to increase the carbs.
 
@Marje and Gracie I read that higher fat is not necessarily good for the pancreas.

+11 523

We are going in the wrong direction and I am completely frustrated. I hope that these high numbers were due to the food today and once she gets her shot tonight things will get better. I am fairly certain that there was not a FUR Shot this morning, but I guess anything is possible. I usually run my fingers through Sami's fur after the shot to make sure there is no moisture.

I hope we see some better numbers over night.
 
Lantus has a very distinctive smell...Kind of like a band-aid factory (or some people say it smells like scotch but since I don't drink, I wouldn't know)

When we first started the sugardance, I'd sniff China's fur where I shot to make sure the shot had gone in. Looks kind of funny saying "I sniffed my cat" but it worked!

If you put a little on your finger, you'll know exactly what to "smell for"

As for the duck, I want to say it's possible!! China was getting higher numbers when I started feeding her RadCat (which is supposed to be 0%) and when I removed it, she came back down into her normal "good" numbers

Good luck with the dosecrease and I hope you see some better numbers for Sami soon!
 
High fat diet does not affect the pancreas in the same way in cats as it does in dogs and humans. Even one or two high fat meals can trigger pancreatitis in dogs or humans. Pancreatitis in cats appears to be more idiopathic than in dogs or humans.
 
PMPS 524 - Shot 2.25 units

I am going to try to relax. I know I can't do anything but monitor Sami. Her body is going to do what it is going to do and I just need to get over it. I shot the dose and now all I can do is wait. I hope we see some reduction in the numbers tonight. I guess I don't expect to get back to normal in one cycle, but it would be nice to get back under 300 at least.

I am going to try to distract myself by playing some video games this evening.

@Chris & China When Sami was re-diagnosed the doctor wanted to put her on a limited ingredient hypo allergenic food with a different protein than she had been on before because she thought maybe that was what was causing the pancreas to stop producing insulin. I don't know if that is the case or not, but based on her spreadsheet each time I have given a food with Duck Sami has spike up over 400. Maybe it is because she has never had that sort of food before. I will be sticking with the three foods that I know seem to work okay for her. I need to keep telling myself this and stop trying to give her variety. The doctor things that too much variety could also be a problem for Sami's pancreas.

Has anyone heard of this before?

@Marje and Gracie Thanks for that information. I can't remember where I read about a high fat diet being bad for the pancreas. Could it be a case of ECID? I don't know if it is the fat or just the protein source, but at this point I would rather just not feed her that food until we can get the numbers under control and than maybe try it again down the road.
 
I do think when it comes to food, you definitely can see an ECID thing. With Trix, I would see food spikes with certain foods that - in theory - shouldn't spike her. Since you are seeing a definitely trend with the duck, you could try eliminating it for a while, then reintroduce it and see if you get the same results. If Sami levels off without the duck, then spikes again with the duck, then duck just isn't for her.

Good luck with the increase!!

BTW, I can scroll through Sami's SS just fine on my Apple laptop, but it was my PC tower that was acting weird with it this morning. Gotta love modern technology :rolleyes:!!
 
+2 PMPS 320

I almost had a heart attack when I first tested Sami at +2 I got 62. Of course I retested her TWICE because the second number I got was 320, which was more inline with what I thought she might be at. I am happy to see that she is back down from the 500's at PMPS this evening. I am hoping that not only the dose increase but also removing the Duck from her diet will get her back on track quickly.

I will probably hold off on testing until +8 tonight, unless someone thinks I should get a test before then.

Please let me know, I will be heading to bed shortly.
 
Not an expert, but I would wait and test at + 8. Someone gave me the advice a few days,ago that there'll be nights they will keep us up testing and to sleep when we can. I'd give ears a break also. But as I said I'm no expert. If I were seeing the numbers I'd let Milo alone until morning.
Keep coming down Sami...
 
@milosmommy That is sort of what I was thinking, but I didn't know if I should get more tests because of the dose increase. Sami has a ways to go before she gets in to the danger zone so I think it would be okay to wait until +8 then I was going to test again at +10 just to get an idea what is happening at AMPS tomorrow. I will go with that unless I hear otherwise in the next few minutes before I head off to bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top