2/17 ruben 136 +3 142 pmbg otj trial day 10

Status
Not open for further replies.

RubenTheCat

Member Since 2013
send low bg numbers and good Mr.P vines, i can't handle this.
180 amps
plus +3 needs to be lower
i gave him a new flavor food (beef and liver) but same brand! could that change his numbers?
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg

Hi Samantha. I didn't see a dose on his spreadsheet. Normally we enter the current dose in the "U" columns. His numbers don't seem that bad to me but I'm far from being an expert. I have learned that consistent treatment seems to work best. You may want to put the "?" at the front of your subject line so one of the knowledgeable counselors notice it and can give you some expert advice.

Hang in there and don't let one number bother you. I remember when PurrFace gave me the first mid blue number. I panicked and was pulling my hair out (what I have left :lol: ) trying to decide shot, skip, reduce etc. Fortunately for me I posted and was guided through the situation. Now I'm happy when I get a blue number. It takes time but eventually you'll become more confident in your decisions. Your doing a great job with Ruben and Ruben with a 180 AMPS is a much more healthier one than a Ruben that has untreated diabetes. If Ruben's +3 number isn't lower don't let it upset you, it will get better. This is a slow process and fortunately or unfortunately you do not have control Ruben does...he's in the driver's seat and your just along as the navigator. You always have everyone here for support and advice so don't hesitate to post and someone will help you.

Have a great Sunday Samantha and as long as Ruben is happy and purrs ally's well.
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg

thank, i am curruntly no shooting he is on an otj trail but seems to be trending up, trying to breath. i have to go back to work next week so if he goes back onthe juice i wont be here to test.
send low bg vines this way please...
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg

SammyBear - by chance is it Fancy Feast Beef & liver? Altho' it's listed as being LC, it sends KT's sugar soaring. I learned I can't give it to him unless I'm trying to get him out of low numbers.

If sweet boy has to go back on insulin that's no big deal - better to support his pancreas to continue it's healing if that's what he needs.

Yes you CAN handle this! I KNOW you can! You've done it and even did it all by yourself when the board was down!! BREATHE, BREATHE AGAIN! Paste that grin on your face, Dance a few shuffle steps, do a kick and a couple of spins! It will be OK!!!!

BIG HUG!
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

oh thank you guys your vines are working. and so is his mr.p
oh thank you jesus
maybe its the flavor food
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

Good going Ruben and Sam! Now it's my turn to tell you to remember to breathe:) :lol: You're doing great!!
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
HIP HIP HOORAY!
10 DAYS OTJ!
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

Go Ruben and Sam!

I concur with everyone else and it won't be a big deal if he has to go on the juice for a little while longer -- you could always do just one drop or .1 u or something (frankly, I found measuring 1 drop easier than .1) -- with Jackson, it was a nice transition without plunging him at all. And the only difference between one drop and nothing was about 10 points (for Jackson, anyway), so you could likely safely dose him at that and not worry about him going low while you're at work.

And this is only IF he needs a little longer taking just a sip of juice. Remember that you want what is best for him LONG TERM, and if it takes an extra few weeks, it's worth it!

You're doing great!
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

I'd try a different LC food and lets see what he does. He's definitely bringing himself down.
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

what other low carb wet do you guys reccomend, i just spent $40 bucks on fancy feast? open to suggesion
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

Hi Reubens momma,
I'm as new as you are to this "cat journey", but using my medical brain (23 yrs as a neonatal ICU RN) I think a 76 drop after eating is great dancing_cat his pancreas is functioning YEAH!! :-D :-D
I'm sending happy thoughts and good numbers for the next 4 days...You can do this!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

I agree with Marje about trying another LC food. You may also need to switch brands if you can't find anything lower than what you're giving him. If you're currently feeding him the Beef flavored Fancy Feast, try the Turkey & Giblets flavor instead. I think that's about 4% (or it could be a bit higher, I don't remember). All you can do is try, and keep trying until something works to help bring Ruben's #s down. From what I understand, and per the protocol, a kitty needs to be in the healing range of 50-120 as much as possible. The longer that Ruben's in those #s, the better chance his pancreas has of healing on its own. To be honest, I wouldn't try the OTJ trial until the #s present themselves better. That's just me, though. Good luck!

Would it be possible for you to get later midcycle tests... somewhere between +6 - +11 during the day, and maybe a bit more +4 at night? I'm sure that the experts would like to see how Ruben's doing later on during the day. Just wondering, is all. :-D
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

what other low carb wet do you guys reccomend, i just spent $40 bucks on fancy feast? open to suggesion
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

Just stopping in to say Happy Day 10!!!! Goooo Ruben!

FWIW, certain fuds that work well for other kitties make Trix's BGs run all over the map, with the biggest offender being Wellness Chicken. So maybe the new flavor today just doesn't work the Ruben's BGs. Gotta love how these kitties keep us guessing!!! Can you return the unused FF, or at least the beef flavor?

Keep working, Mr P!!!
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

I'm not sure, Sam, cuz I don't feed Fancy Feast. I do think it is an ECID thing. But I'm thinking if he throws another high PS, he's going to need some insulin.

Can you post a test one hour before his PMBG so we can see where he is? Thanks!! I'll be looking for it in two hours....right (9:30 EST would be one hour before PMBG?).
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 180 ambg +3 104 otj trial day 10

Hi Sam, a few of us have been studying Ruben's spreadsheet. Are you up for another little experiment?

Since his AMBG and PMBG numbers are running high, but we know he can bring his number down after eating, could you try feeding a small meal at +8 or +9 in each cycle? Those numbers might be running high because he is going for longer between meals, so a little meal then might stimulate his pancreas to work and not let him go so high.

I think we should give this a try and see if he can get stabilized in lower numbers before calling him officially "OTJ," even though it will probably mean extending his trial for more than 14 days. We have extended trials sometimes before when we think a kitty needs a little more time, we just want to be really sure he is ready before calling him OTJ. I think a week on this new food plan should be good, so his trial might be more like 17-18 days instead of 14.

Can you do this, starting at +9 tonight?
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 136 pmbg otj trial day 10

pmbg 136
so i just got just this message now, yes i can try the experiment, but i need clarification
so i do not feed 2 hrs before than do i pull up the food until +8? then pull up again?
he grazes lil here and there about every 2-3 hrs ive noticed. i will start this trail tomorrow ambg but need specific instruction of when and how to feed. im going to work next week and am there usually 12hrs a day 730-7 sometimes i get to come home for lunch but not gauranteed. so need to do this this week!
i really think it has to be the food thats spiking him, cause i looked on the list and all the ones he does good on are 4% or lower as soon as i started the beef flavors he's jumped.
please send low number vines, he can do this, Mr. P is working cause bg does come down by lots sometime. also i did forget to pull up his food in the am 2 days (over slpet) maybe thats it too
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 136 pmbg otj trial day 10

Sam

This is a good thing! Since he likes to free feed, test him at your normal preshots and feed as you normally would and then just check and see at +3/+4 if he's bringing himself down. You can free feed him mini meals but we just want to be sure that he absolutely eats at +8 or +9 then pull up his food.

Does that help? Good luck and let's hope he comes back down.
 
Re: 2/17 ruben 136 pmbg otj trial day 10

you don't need to pull up the food prior to +8. If he is used to free feeding, what I would do is go in at +9 and give a tablespoon of fresh food and encourage him to eat it. Maybe give him 30 minutes or so to eat that, then pick it up until +12.

If you think a specific food makes him spike, then I would avoid that food for the next few days.

His pancreas does work some of the time, but it seems like it is getting tired so we're looking for ways to help it out a little bit.
 
+3 142
did eat a lil b4 test time, gonna leave food out pull up at +7 (530am) and test again at 1015
will try to feed a tbsp at 530am (but will be sleep walking when i do so no promises :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top