2/17 Ole3.5 508+4 565+4.5 565+5 520 +6 HI+7 hi +10 hi

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Active Member
Good morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113850

Ole had a night much like the night before, so this morning I increased his dose to 9uL. Go Ole Go!

He was a well behaved little puss this morning, allowing me to sleep without needing a time out! We had a little cuddle and purr before we began our day, so it's going to be a great Monday. Alex comes home from his ski trip. It will be nice to be all together again. There is a delightful little French Bakery in Durango, so Alex is bringing be home some pastries for me, mmmmm!

Have a great day!
Rebekah
 
Re: 2/17 Ole AMPS 362

Good luck with the new dose, and I hope that it helps to bring those #s down some more. They are starting to look better, but just remember it's always slow going.

I'm glad that you'll be spoiled today. Enjoy your pastries! :-D Have a great day, guys.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole AMPS 362 +2 339

Mmmm, delightful French bakery pastries! I'd say that's a nice present to be expecting, in addition to having him home again! Enjoy your day.

Hope Ole comes down a little more for you and surfs smoothly.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole AMPS 362 +2 339 +9 397

Matt will be jealous of the pastries. My native New Yorker hates that we don't have real bakeries in the South. He misses his Italian pastries...cannoli, rainbow cookies, butter cookies. I've figured out the recipe for the butter cookies, but they are a PITA to make!!

Work that juice Ole!
 
Re: 2/17 Ole AMPS 362 +2 339 +9 397

Work that juice, Ole! Yep, that could definitely be NDW...or a bounce...or Ole being a cat and messing with his MamaBean's mind.

Have a great night, Rebekah!
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

OMG!!OMG!!OMG!!

I don't know how this happened and I am total distress!

I am always so careful, but A and I were catching up and I accidentally grabbed the WRONG VIAL! OMG!!

I immediately gave him some HC w/honey. Did I just kill Ole?
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

Hi Rebekah

Get Ole to the ER asap. Alex should come along. Bring the karo or honey as well and keep feeding while en route

how close is the ER ?
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

Do you have a vet that is open tonight? You may need to take Ole to the vet. I don't have experience with R, but it's always a good idea to know the vet is open and how long it takes to get there.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

I have a call into my vet.

Ole is still gobbling HC and honey. He is giving himself a bath.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

Omg. Saying a prayer for you and Ole.

Are you anywhere near East Old Canyon Court in Flagstaff? It's an emergency vet open until 11pm. Phone number 928-774-5197.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

Yes, We go to West Side, it is about 10 minutes away
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 Grabbed wrong vial!! just shot 9uR!!!

Go NOW.

Bring Karo or Honey. The vet will put Ole on a dextrose drip. Do not delay. R acts fast. You need to get ahead of this.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535

Massive amounts of prayers going your way. I hope you are on your way to the vet. Keep us updated when you can.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535

Yes, on it! On our way! I am doing the best I can.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535

Oh my gosh, I hope everything is going ok. Sending my thoughts and prayers along with you too :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5

Hey all!

After talking to the 3 vets in my office that I go to, it was decided to monitor from home and be in contact with them every 1/2 hour. If he hits the yellow range, I will take him in for a drip.

I am lucky that Ole has a tremendous appy. He is happily eating his bread and honey, and is really pretty happy, purring and cleaning up after each feeding. He is still in the red after 1.5 hours in. I will test him again at +2 in 10 minutes.

I can't tell you how incredibly awful I feel! What an idiot!

I am lucky to have Liz and Anne here and I have been on the phone with them.

I'll continue to keep you posted on everything that is happening. He is safe for the moment.

Thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5

I often see a very big drop about +2 and +3.

Thanks for keeping us posted. There are a bunch of us watching but if he starts to drop, I'd call the vet and hit the road.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5

Good, you're in constant contact with them.

I had the fear of this exact same thing happening. We have a mini fridge in our bedroom where we keep the Lantus and bottles of water for us. When I got the R, I put it in our main refrigerator downstairs. Cobb's morning shot is sometimes given in a bit of a haze and I know I would grab the wrong vial.

Don't beat yourself up. Stuff happens! You caught it quick!
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5 456+2 HI

+2 in and he is HI.

I am just dying over here.

He was napping on the sofa, but was right there when I walked into the kitchen, so his energy is good.

Yes, I am living my worst nightmare. I have always used such caution. Alex and I pulled into the driveway at the same time at 5:45 (15min before preshot), he from Durango and me from work. We were catching up and I guess I was distracted. What a fool. I am going to put the hook side up of velcro tape around R (if we survive this) so that it is tactically different from L.

Thanks again for your support. We really need it.

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5 456+2 HI

Rebekah

Looks like the HC is working for you. I'd much rather see him HI than the alternative.

Sorry but if you get a chance, could you take the 911 down please just so if you need it again, we know it's "new"? Thank you!
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5 456+2 HI

This is a case where HI is most welcomed :cool:

fingers, paws and everything possible crossed over here. . .
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5 456+2 HI

that may be the HC, or it may be the counterregulatory hormones helping his body fight the insulin. Stay alert in case the pull of the insulin is too much to fight.

Just making sure, he did not get a Lantus shot tonight also, did he? If not, that should help, but since his regular Lantus dose is fairly high, he has a large depot so there will probably be some Lantus action at play too.

Hang in there, make coffee.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole PMPS 439 just shot 9uR!!! +.75 535 +1 498 +1.5

Marje and Gracie said:
There are a bunch of us watching but if he starts to drop, I'd call the vet and hit the road.
what marje said is important.
we have no idea if he'll drop. we don't know if he'll drop like a rock "if" he drops... so i'd be on my way to the vet the minute i saw any kind of a drop.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/17 OlePMPS 439+.75 535+1 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520

No, Ole did not get a L shot too.

Still in the 500's and I am so grateful. He is as round as a beach ball. Do you think I should be curbing the HC? He will eat anything I put out there.

Thank you again.

How long should I monitor him very closely? Right now I am testing every .5 hours and I can do this for as long as it takes.

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/17 OlePMPS 439+.75 535+1 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520

Please don't be hard on yourself. Just be thankful that you actually realized it....what a blessing that is!

I'd stay on top of the testing like you are because, as Jill said, we don't know if he will drop or how much if he does. ....or how fast.

The other thing to remember is that you could see him come down even more the next cycle. As Libby said, even if he didn't get a Lantus shot, he's still got a large depot. If the R starts to knock back the counterregulatory hormones, and you give a Lantus shot the next cycle at the regular time, you could see some lower numbers when the Lantus kicks in.
 
Re: 2/17 Ol 439+.75 535+1 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520 +3 480

Ole is 480 and doing well.

Do you think that at this time I should still be giving him sugar and HC?

Thank you all so much.

I absolutely still can not believe that I made such a colossally stupid mistake.

I hope we will both come out the other side unscathed.

Rebekah
 
Re: 2/17 Ole 439+.75 535+1 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520 +3 480

honestly it's hard to know what could happen. He's dropping (over 100 points in an hour), whether that is from food wearing off or the Lantus depot kicking in, or counterregulatory hormones wearing off, we don't really know. He's super high, so you have a little wiggle room, but there's no way of knowing whether he will drop, or how quickly, or for how long. You'll need to balance the need to keep the food coming (you HAVE to stay ahead of the insulin) versus feeding too much and making him sick.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole 439+.75 535+1 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520 +3 480

Rebekah!

OMGosh what a night you have had. Keeping you both in our prayers over here and hoping all goes well with Ole.

So glad your Vets were available!

Linda
 
Re: 2/17 Ole++1 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520 +3 480+3.5 508

Good to see he is staying fairly flat. I'd be sure to keep up the testing through +5 and then we can see where he is.
 
Re: 2/17 Ole 498+1.5 456+2 HI +2.5 520 +3 480+3.5 508 +4 565

Hi all,

+4 565 I consider that he stayed pretty flat through this horrible ordeal thus far, given monitor's the way that they are. I can hardly believe it. 9 units of R...what a SNAFU!

I will continue testing him, but I did not give him food this time. He has quite the round little belly.

Just for the record, this is what I've fed Ole. He always licked his bowl clean.

Upon discovery (this happened within 2 minutes after dosing at 6:15 MST); 1 3oz can HC FF with 1 tsp honey stirred in. (this is on top of his normal 4.5oz LC FF meal)
After +1; slice of bread with 1 tbsp honey (aproxi)
After 1.5 ; 1/6C EVO dry kibble with 1tsp honey
After 2; Same as above
After 2.5 1oz HC FF with 1/2 tsp honey stirred in
After 3.5 1oz HC FF with 1/2 tsp honey stirred in

I'll transfer this to Ole's SS, but I wanted to get it down before I forgot. I am so grateful that his appy is so...ah, robust. He is sleeping, but when I go into the kitchen, he joins me. I don't have to call him for his test.

Rebekah

Edited because upon review of honey jar, there about 2 TBSP used. It seemed like a lot more at the time. Sorry for any confusion.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top