2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223+6~193 -( Dose advice ?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

asoolty

Member Since 2010
Hello LL,

Last Night

PMPS~225
+2~353
+3~232
+4.70~266

AMPS~434
+4~223
+6~193


No sing of blue - nor green for two days now, I was thinking of increase ? need an expert here for some advice please. I'm taking her for a potassium test tomorrow for the leg problem, I spoke to her doctor today and she potassium can be one problem that cause legs weakness so lets see. as for breathing its still the same no improvement with the cortisone yet ! so it might be the potassium and the sodium again.


wishing you all a good day, and health vines to all sick kittens include mine.



Previous Condo

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89098
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

I haven't been following Noni's progress all that closely so I'm not sure when the cortisone was started or why it was prescribed. It looks like the bounce is breaking with the drop by +4. To be honest, I might wait to see if Noni is back in green either during your AM or PM cycle. If not, you could definitely increase. I think it's your call whether to increase during the PM cycle today or tomorrow at AMPS.
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

Thank you Sienne , cortisone started on the 14th, I took her to check her breathing cuz it wasn't 100% normal, I was thinking fluid is starting to build, but it wasn't and doctor notice some dots in the x-ray in the lungs area so she said this might be some kind of infection and she said lets see with cortisone before starting any antibiotic. she put her on cortisone for 10 days.
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

Just an FYI --

Cortisone, or any steroid, can lower resistance to infection. (This is one of the drugs that the give to transplant patients since it lowers the risk of organ rejection. However, they give an antibiotic at the same time since steroids reduce your immune response making you more vulnerable to infection.) I don't understand your vet's rationale. If the vet thought this was asthma, a short course of oral steroids makes sense and you then transition to inhaled steriods which don't have the same issue with immune response. Since the course of steroids is almost done with, I wouldn't worry too much.
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

Hi Aseel. Glad that Noni dropped out of the read zone. She could have used her yellow parachute, though, to come down a bit slower; but in any case she's out of the red area which is good. I'm sure you'll make the correct decision on when to increase her dose if it's needed.

Hope her potassium results are good Tomorrow.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

I'm glad Noni slid down to yellow for you today. Maybe she'll keep sliding to blue. Good luck at the vet tomorrow.
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

I would give this bounce time to clear before increasing. She has hit fairly low numbers on this dose before, so you want to see where she goes when the bounce clears. It looks like some of the lowest numbers were influenced by an extra shot on 2/8, is that correct? But she did hit 40 again a few days after that, which indicates that this dose might have some power in it for her.

If/when you do increase, I would do it when you'll be able to monitor.
 
Re: 2/17 Noni AMPS~434+4~223 -( Dose advice ?)

Sienne you made me worried nailbite_smile ! it's not helping her anyway I didn't see any improvement in the breathing or so, do you think I should stop it ! she was telling me to stop it if it got her BG higher ???

John thank you so much I hope it goes away, and breathing get back to normal since there is no fluids, wishing you a good day.

Thank you Carla ,, she did hit the blue ;D

Libby thank you for the advice, I will wait as you suggested, I didn't like the idea of more insulin she only weight 7 lb , and I already think 2.5 units is already too much, hope the bounce clears soon and so we see some lower numbers and decide based on. you are right about the influenced dose I did gave her 1 extra unit that day at +5.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top