2/17-Flame-AMPS=330 :-(, +2=281, +4=248, +6.5=219 , +8=226 , PMPS=266, +3=248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
Good morning L&L,
I am a bit confounded by these higher numbers all of a sudden. Although, if I look at his SS, while he was still in yellow, he was creeping up slowly. This dance can be frustrating sometimes.

Today is a NO PRED day and fortunately, I'm working from home so I can test more often and hopefully get an idea of what he's doing during the day. I most likely won't be able to do a full curve because of the timing of my conference calls today, but I'm going to try to get as close as I can.

He's been eating his food with the binders and his appy has been good, so that's some good news! He fought the inhaler last nite for some reason. He's been really good with it for a while now, so not sure why he decided he wasn't having it last nite. Eventually got enough puffs into him, but not easily/happily. Once he comes off the Pred, the inhaler is going to be really important to keep his breathing stable.

Still undecided as to whether to bump his insulin by .25. Maybe having more tests today will help me decide that. I really don't want to leave him in higher numbers for a whole week, so I'm still very torn, yet I know once the Pred gets out of his system for a few days, that 'can' make a pretty big difference.

He has an acupuncture appt tomorrow afternoon for his arthritis. Hoping this works and gives him some relief after a few sessions. He's also been getting Reiki daily - 30 minutes.

I ordered some Methyl-B12 from Vitacost and some Jarrow B-right multi-B for him cause his HCT was gettig low. We'll have to see how that goes. I don't want to be adding too much to his food for fear he'll stop eating, so if the oral doesn't work, I'll have to consider injectable - at least for the B-12.

OK, folks, gotta go do his inhaler and get ready to start work.

Have a good day all! Surf safely kitties and give your beans a break!! Prayers and vines to all who need them.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry for the pink this morning. I hope the tests today give you some guidance on his dose. I'm glad he's eating the food with the binder. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wonderful he's eating his food with the binder :woot: The b-12 has no taste so hopefully that'll be fine to add as well. Flame, please don't give mama bean a hard time with the inhaler buddy.

I does look like he needs an increase but getting tests today is a good idea before doing so.
 
I does look like he needs an increase but getting tests today is a good idea before doing so.

I think so too Karen, but just concerned since tomorrow is his last dose of pred and I have no idea how his body will react after he's completely off it for a few days/week and I won't be home to test during the week. It's a tough call.
 
You can hold the dose and see what happens but I do think you would have started seeing a downward trend from the reduced dose. It's possible there are some hidden lower numbers that haven't been caught. See what happens today, hopefully some tests will be informative.
 
OK, so maybe he was bouncing. 82 point drop in 4 hours and looks like he's still going down. He had a small snackus of a tsp of baby food with SEB at about +2.5 cause there wasn't too much poop in the box this morning and I want to head off any constipation issues from the aluminum hydroxide before they start. Will check again at +6.
He's really hungry today! Ate his whole can of FF already, then had the baby food/SEB snack and he's still looking for more food. Not drinking as much and wish he would cause with the binder, its important that they drink. He may end up getting some fluids tonite if his hydration isn't what I think it should be.

Hope all the kitties and beans are doing good today!!
 
Hmmm, amazing what testing can tell you!! He may hit blue today yet. We're at +6.5 - still dropping. Look what I've been missing while at work. I'm thinking those PS numbers may just have been a bounce cause that 219 is lower than he's been and we're only at +6.5. Interested to see what the rest of this cycle brings.

Still asking for food! Just gave a tsp of turkey baby food with a tsp of water. Gobbled it down. Also ordered some PureBites freeze dried chicken treats and gave him a few of those after the last pokie cause he's being so good today even though it looks like his ear is starting to get sore. Using Neosporin with pain relief like I always do, but this is more testing than he's used to.
 
So, work interfered with being able to get a full curve today. I had to miss the +10 test. Flamie was happy cause he had about enough with the pokies today! So, I'm kind of glad that I didn't increase his dose yet and I'm really glad I was home to test today. I have a feeling, once he's off the pred completely, we'll be seeing some blues. We might even see some tonite if he trends the way we did today. Today, he had a 50 pt drop in 2 hours and he's starting at 266 tonite.

This boy has been screaming for food all day!! I have no idea why he's been so hungry today, but it's like he's been ravenous. He started screaming for dinner 2 hours before T/f/s time. Gave him some freeze dried chicken treats to hold him over. Gave him some food that is not even his favorite, with binder and 1/2 capsule of Methyl-B12 (starting slowly here again) and he's eating it.

Never a happy medium, either I'm worried about him not eating or I'm worried about why he wants to eat so much!

Hope everyone is having a good day and the kitties are behaving!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top