2/17 Enana PMPS <500 +3 349

Status
Not open for further replies.

Natalia & Enana

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Llers,

PMPS 293
+1 292
+2 272
+3 263
+4 270

Why does she drop so slow?

Enana woke up very hungry. If I know what I am going to shoot her at PMPS, it is possible to given her to eat at +11? Or is it always better not to give to eat until shooting time?

Thanks

Have a great day!

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 2/17 Enana PMPS 293 +11 325 ?

Good Morning: No, we usually don't feed for 2 hours before ps. Do you leave food out for her overnight? Have a good day.
 
Re: 2/17 Enana PMPS 293 +11 325 ?

Yes, I left food overnight. I opened her door and picked up her dishes (there was little food left in one of the dishes) and she went straight to Gordo's dish...I caught her after eating just a bit :oops:
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341

AMPS 341 Shot 1.25u

All 5 ps present! With the troublesome P showing up twice in one day! YAy

Now Gordo is worrying me...

Have a great day ev1!
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341

Good morning guys .. I hope this is a short visit to the pink floor ... is there a reason why gordo is worrying you?
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341

He is not eating or drinking water as much as he used to. He is a big 20 pound cat, not just overweight but in size. I freaked out when Enana got sick and the whole thing with dry food. I switched him from Science Diet Hairball Formula to a combination of Fancy Feast and Hill M/D (dry). He has not taken the change in a good way.

He is peeing and pooping but not as he used to....

He seems to be in a very bad mood too...which I guess is understandable.
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341

Getting on my soap box LOL:
Be very careful with your other cat. A cat needs to continue eating well and any weight loss should be tracked and managed carefully. Do you have a baby scale or a petscale or a postage scale that weighs to the ounce?

A cat can quickly get Feline Hepatic Lipidosis - fatty liver. This can be fatal. But it is more often seen in overweight cats. When they don't get enough calories their livers don't process fat like ours do. It actually starts clogging. So you want to be aware of how much your cats are eating and how quickly they are losing weight. You want to be in control of this completely, not at the mercy of the cat if they aren't eating enough due to diet changes for example.

FHL is kind of like a cycle. Once the liver starts feeling it, they eat less, the liver feels it more, they start feeling yucky and often go completely anorexic as the liver gets worse and they feel horribly nauseated from this also.

What happened with Maverick? We were told Maverick needed to lose weight so we put him on a lower calorie senior food. What I didn't realize in hindsite was all of the signs were there and I missed them. And of course no vet had ever told us about FHL. His litterbox was "cleaner" than normal. I didn't realize he wasn't eating after a while because the dog was eating all the evidence. It was only when he started vomiting that I realized there was a problem. I didn't take him into the vet right away either. I spent another week trying to get his appetite back up with endless foods (tuna, chicken, wet, dry etc). I thought a few licks were okay. He was so sick when we picked him up from the vet. His liver was failing and he was yellow like a banana from jaundice. He had to get a feeding tube to get the calories into him to help his liver recover.

So you have to do food transitions very carefully. With Maverick - switching him to wet food really was a nightmare, but we knew about syringe feeding and got his blood work done often to make sure his liver was handling the resulting weight loss. We don't want anyone to have to deal with FHL.
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341

Thanks Kerrie.

I dont have a pet scale or any other scale that I ca use. He doesnt seem to be loosing weight though. I'll take him to my vet this afternoon.

He is SO picky with food. I have tried, raw meat, the purebites, warm wet food, fortiflora... confused_cat

I absolutely dont want him to get sick. I knew better but the idea of having two diabetic cats just freaked me out.
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341 +9.5 324

+9.5 324

I dont like or understand her numbers! cat(2)_steam

Tonight it would be her 6th cycle on 1.25. What should I do?

All 5ps present.

She didnt eat all the food I left for her, maybe that's why her numbers are high?
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341 +9.5 324 +11 378 Advice Please

+11 378

Should I increase dose? Stay the same?

She didn't eat all the food I left while I was at work.

I just caught her eating dry food from Gordo. grr_red
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341 +9.5 324 +11 378 Advice Please

Now she doesn't even like the purebites. My cats are too picky!

The Ketone urine strips say No Ketones.
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341 +9.5 324 +11 378 Advice Please

Tonight's her 6th cycle on this dose, and we usually hold through the 6th cycle, but she is ketone prone, so you might be advised to increase tonight. 1.5 is a lot easier to measure anyway.
Let's see what others say.
You have about 25 minutes to decide?
 
Re: 2/17 Enana AMPS 341 +9.5 324 +11 378 Advice Please

Good luck with the dosecrease. Yours is the only kitties I've heard turn down purebites. Wow.
 
Re: 2/17 Enana PMPS <500!!!

The meter didnt even say a number it just said HI. Thats higher than 500!!!

What should I do>>

Ketones in blood 0.2
 
Re: 2/17 Enana PMPS <500!!! help

Greater than 500 a second time. Gave her to eat, she is not too hungry. Could that number be the kibble she ate from Gordo??
 
with my experience with DL when he was on dry it was more like hours I know ECID but I bet her numbers climb back down to a better range once its out of her system
 
You're seeing the reason we don't suggest using dry food to bring low numbers up. The dry takes too long to both bring numbers up and to get out of a kitty's system. I think you need to show Gordo Enana's SS as an example of why the dry stuff isn't good for him!
 
Kazi always seems to take about 3 shots before her numbers come back down after she sneaks dry food. Is Gordo eating for you? Sometimes dry food addicts take awhile to adjust - there are better dry foods than others (still not great- Enana definitely couldn't have it) you could try as he adjusts. Evo makes a good 'low carb' dry option.

Glad to see her coming down from that hi reading. Hopefully the dose increase will help her clear the high numbers and come down to some better ones!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top