2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107, PMPS 335, +5 = 193

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=113849

Flat yellow cycle for PM cycle last night. I think I spoke too soon about Eddie not seeming to have high flat bounce cycles. Must have jinxed him. Either way, he had four good cycles before the bounce, so I can't complain too much. Looks like he's hopefully cleared it by this AM.

Today:

AMPS = 308 (2.6u)
+5.5 = 107
+10 = 212
PMPS = 336 (2.4u) begin trial of adjusted scale
+3 = 221
+4 = 254
+5 = 193
+6 = 192

Healing and calming vines to Melissa and P today.
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

+5.5 = 107

We had snowfall starting last night and as of about an hour ago, we were approaching 5 inches, and it's still coming down. :cry: Yicko for driving back and forth today.
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

Nice drop but those harsh drops may be causing the higher flatter cycles. You could try reducing the dose at that range by just a smidge and see if the cycle evens out a little and stops the bounce? It may not work with Eddie. I think we tried to even out the cycles a little before and the reduction didn't help, but things are changing all the time.......And I think we tried a change bigger than a smidge.
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

I've been considering that again. I overall reduced the scale by 0.2 before with kind of mediocre results. I'm willing to give it a try again, or maybe just certain parts of my scale need to be adjusted. Scratching my head on figuring that out. My current scale is 200-250: 2.2u, 250-300: 2.4u, 300-350: 2.6u, and 350+: 2.8u.

I'd be happy with Eddie surfing in the low blues or high greens, but I can't seem to find the right tweak to get him there. It's been either a little lower than ideal so he bounces or I have to feed to even him out or we have some long duration doses, or when I tried the across the board reduction, his pre-shots were pretty good, but he wasn't going lower than the mid-100's or even higher. Maybe he just needed a little more time on a reduced scale?

Do you think maybe I should try fiddling with just the upper parts of the scale? He seems to clear those high pre-shots fairly easily now, and the pink and red pre-shots are usually where he gets the late nadir and long duration. Maybe 2.6u for 300 or 350 plus and dump the 2.8? or change it to 250-350: 2.4u, and 2.6u for 350+?

While it's nice to see greens on his SS, with how ProZinc works, I don't know if running him that tightly is safe or even effective in the bigger scheme of things. :?:

As always, I appreciate your input Sue!
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

Yes, I like your changes. Try for a few cycles and see if it works.

Remember that I am the conservative one. :mrgreen:

What I think is happening is that he is generally below the renal threshold and he is in safe numbers and so his pancreas should be healing. But I think he is doing this on his own time frame. Some cats go off insulin in a few weeks, some take months. There doesn't seem to be a rhyme or reason to the timing. Sometimes being aggressive really makes a difference (it certainly got him off his flat yellows and pinks) and sometimes it does for a while and then doesn't. I think the average time frame for an cat to go OTJ is 3-6 months. That of course averages in the cats who just need a food change and the ones that take a year or more. As you know, this is not an exact science.

What I am saying is again, I think you are doing all the right things and all your tweaks are certainly worth doing. But Eddie is the only one hearing the music in this sugar dance and he calls the shots. Using the data is valuable in general terms but we are all still guessing and needing to remember that things other than doses affect the numbers.

When you get tired of my sermons, Jen, tell me. . I know they tend to be obnoxious
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
When you get tired of my sermons, Jen, tell me. . I know they tend to be obnoxious

Lol, no they aren't obnoxious! I definitely want input if I'm doing something that seems dangerous or wrong, or if you see something that warrants discussion. :smile: Those discussions are what help me better understand.

There are days when I think this all makes sense, I don't freak when I see a high pre-shot, I don't freak when Eddie goes into the mid-greens, and I don't freak when he has a high flat cycle, and that those things are all a normal part of the process. But, then other times, I think that maybe I'm doing this all wrong, that I should back off on the dosing, or that maybe ProZinc isn't even the right insulin.

By way of example, I keep going back and forth on trying a reducie again. BJM commented the other day that the longer duration was pretty clearly an indication that a particular dose was too high, but it was like a day after going back up after the failed reducie, so I kind of ignored that suggestion :sad: (Sorry BJM!). But then, the doubt about whether or not I was shooting too much starts to creep back in. At the same time, since I do test as frequently as I do, and I've got a fair handle on guiding with food, I also don't have to be overly conservative with Eddie, I don't think.

On the other hand, Eddie's feeling pretty good. He's not in DKA, and he's not hypoing, so we can't be totally failing here! :smile:
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

Absolutely, he is feeling good and you are doing the right stuff, always with his health in mind. It is so good to read your posts and see how much you have learned and are applying.

Especially after replying to a Health post where the cat is either in DKa or hypo and the vet told her home testing wasn't necessary so she doesn't have the option of doing anything because it could hurt or help, but we don't know which? No car; Dh driving home so they can maybe make it to the vet.. So tragic and wrong.
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

I saw that, and I saw the kitty the other night that was in DKA that passed. :sad: So so sad. When we very first started testing, a vet tech (not our normal one) chided us for reducing Eddie's dose, even though he was pretty clearly dosed too high. Even though I gave the numbers to her, she was like "well, was he stumbling? or were his eyes glazed over? or having a seizure?" and since he wasn't exhibiting those symptoms, I was overreacting. That's the advice we were given when we first started -- if he's having the typical hypo symptoms, give him some karo. Problem is, DKA obviously can have very similar symptoms, and there's no way to know without testing. :sad:
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

And, by the time you are seeing "symptoms" of a hypo, the trip to the vet can be too long. Very seldom do we see symptomatic hypos here - just lower numbers that are managed with food.
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107

Jen, you are amazing! I can't believe how knowledgeable you are about all this. It looks like you and Eddie have been on your sugar dance for about as long as P and I and I'm still floundering!

Thank you for the vines. I know I got them and I think P did too. He swatted the computer a while ago while we were playing with hairbands. I think he was telling me to tell you thank you and saying what's up to Eddie. :-D
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107, PMPS 335

Melissa and P said:
Thank you for the vines. I know I got them and I think P did too. He swatted the computer a while ago while we were playing with hairbands. I think he was telling me to tell you thank you and saying what's up to Eddie. :-D

Aww! I will tell Eddie hi!

Gosh, I don't know about the knowledgeable thing. I guess it's just devouring as much info as I can, and applying it to Eddie, and if one approach doesn't work...time to move on to the next one!

PMPS = 335 (2.4u)

Tweaked the scale a bit. This dose is 0.2u less than I would have shot on the previous scale. Current scale is: 200-250: 2.2u, 250-350: 2.4u, 350+: 2.6u. It finally occurred to me that rather than trying to instruct my husband on what to dose after he's tested before 6AM but before I'm actually awake, I could just put a stickie note on my night stand with my current scale, rather than trying to think through it while half asleep! Duh.
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107, PMPS 335

I'm a worrier and I get so freaked out reading some of this stuff sometimes that I get anxious and upset; all doom and gloom. I just need to get the eff over myself and devour as much as I can.

Haha! At least hubby can help out in the morning. Mine looooves his sleep and will sleep until the absolute latest minute, throw clothes on, and rush out the door. You should see me before I shoot in the morning. I count like 10 times to make sure I've drawn up the right dose. I'll pull up some skin, tent it, then release, look at the syringe again, count again, then pull, tent, and shoot. :lol:
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107, PMPS 335

Melissa and P said:
Haha! At least hubby can help out in the morning. Mine looooves his sleep and will sleep until the absolute latest minute, throw clothes on, and rush out the door. You should see me before I shoot in the morning. I count like 10 times to make sure I've drawn up the right dose. I'll pull up some skin, tent it, then release, look at the syringe again, count again, then pull, tent, and shoot. :lol:

My DH needs his beauty rest, too LOL. He just goes to bed early and gets up at the break of dawn. I'm a night owl, so it works out OK for Eddie. He has someone monitoring him for 18 hours a day or more. :smile: I do the same thing with shooting. Especially with the conversion chart. Double and triple check the conversion, and the dose in the syringe as well. It can be tough to read those tiny markings on the syringe before coffee, though! @-) ~O)
 
Re: 2/17 Eddie AMPS 308, +5.5 = 107, PMPS 335

Oh man, that conversion chart! I haven't used it in a while, but when I was: @-) is exactly right.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top