2/17 Chyna PMPS 121 +3.5 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good Morning. Chyna cat is lower for glucose than I expected today...with the antibiotics/steroid thing going on. I didn't manage to get up in the night so I'm not sure how low she dipped, I must have eaten something that disagreed or lack of sleep caught up, not feeling great at all.

Chyna seemed a little sensitive when I petted near her bum and I didn't see poo last night when I scooped. Which may or may not be unusual, since I just started checking recently and I'm not sure how much she goes. I may have even missed it when scooping. I didn't find Fortiflora but read somewhere that there is some sort of health food store probiotic that would do, I'll have to find that post. Does it work if she is constipated, or is that just for the runs? Maybe one of the small pet stores will have it? I doubt it but I can call once they open. I don't want to give her anything that will react with the other stuff going on. I'm wondering if I should stop the methylcobalamin since she is walking better and I know they are only supposed to be on it awhile...she still seems a little wobbly.

I have aluminum foil set up for a ketones test, but yesterday it took her 5 hours before going so I won't hold my breath ;-)

Chyna 2/16
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 probiotic?

I buy FortiFlora from the shelf at my vet's office. There is currently a $10 rebate for FortiFlora being offered

If she turns out to be constipated, I just found out that a heaping teaspoon of baby food squash really helped J.D. to go.

Nice AMPS to start Chyna's day today ;-)
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 probiotic?

I would not give a probiotic if Chyna is constipated. The probiotic was suggested because antibiotics will often cause diarrhea. If Chyna is doing fine in the litter box department, I wouldn't worry about a probiotic. I would add more water to her food as a first step, though until you can figure out whether she poops on a daily or not so daily basis.

I also wouldn't stop the methylcobalamin. It's a form of vitamin B-12 and shouldn't interact with other medications. You can always call a local pharmacy and ask about interactions if you're concerned. Methyl B-12 is water soluble and what's not needed is excreted. It also takes a couple of months for methyl B-12 to have an effect on neuropathy.
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 probiotic?

Thanks:) Still waiting for pee. Maybe I'll run out to get some baby food squash, to have on hand just in case. I have to go buy some freeze dried cat treats anyways:) She seems to be happy, and maybe it's just hopeful mama bean but she doesn't seem to be scratching her ears as much...except right after we do the ear drops!

She just opened a cuboard again and knocked the magazines inside it over onto the floor so someone is feeling nosy too. I've never given my kitty so many things in all her life, up till a few months ago it was food and water and some Cosequin! So it's a bit confusing confused_cat and I'm so grateful to have people who have done this stuff before:) I'm both dreading and hopeful for the dental appointment and what comes after...poor kitty.
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 probiotic?

No worries!! We have lots of info on dental procedures if you want the link.

The things to remember re. dentals:
  • Follow your vet's instructions about when to feed/not feed the morning of the procedure.
  • The same re. insulin -- although most of us don't shoot the AM of the procedure.
  • Test as soon as you bring Chyna home and then at PMPS. Anesthesia lowers BG so you may need to adjust the PM dose so numbers don't drop too far or too fast.
  • If you're home well before PMPS, feed only small amounts. Anesthesia acts to stimulate appetite but it also slows GI motility. If you feed as much as your kitty wants, you'll have scarf-and-barf.
  • Please inform your vet, NO Metacam/meloxicam for pain since it carries an FDA black box warning due to it's causing renal failure in cats. Most of us ask for buprenorphine for pain management. Likewise, NO Convenia should be given. This is an antibiotic that has a 2-week duration. If your cat has a reaction, there's not stopping the action of the drug once it's administered.
  • If there are extractions, it may help to have some baby food on hand since it's easy to eat. Either Gerber or Beechnut Stage 2 are only protein and broth. As long as there are no veggies, onions or garlic in the food, it's fine.
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 probiotic?

The dental link would be awesome:) I think it's an extraction. I'll have to contact the vet for instructions on the AM feeding and insulin, since they wanted me to drop her off on the way to work. I was wondering about all of that. I'm not sure if they want me to pick up early where I'd have to get off work early, or monitor her all day there. I don't know if I will be any good at work anyways or if I will be a basket case, LOL. That is some great information.
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133

Chyna's spreadsheet is looking so beautiful. :smile:

I know I'm a nervous wreck during dentals. You can ask your vet to call you when she is out of surgery to let you know she's out and ok. They'll probably want to keep her for a little while after that so they can monitor, but at least you'll be able to relax.
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 +4 70

Thanks, that's a good idea, maybe they call anyways I wish I wouldn't have been so tierd when I was in for the appointment so I could ask some of these questions then instead of having to wait until Tuesday when they open again, lol. (Monday is a "holiday" but I still have to work). I think Chyna is trying to give me a heart attack, +4 at 70 already? I keep expecting her to go up, with the ear drops and antibiotics not down...just fed a mini meal:)
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 +4 70

Here's the link on dental procedures.

Since you said extractions are likely. The one thing to make sure about is that the vet does post-procedure x-rays. It's the only way to be sure that there's aren't any roots left.
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 +4 70 +5 70

Thanks, I will be doing some reading! They're supposed to have the best "up to date" facilities in town with on site blood testing and digital x-rays (my previous vet had to send blood out and it took a day or two), I'll be sure to find out what all that includes. They have a blurb on their website going on about how important dental care is and my boss and another co-worker goes there, and have rave reviews of their staff and vets. Paws crossed!

Chyna finally decided to pee...I saw her exiting the litter box as I was exiting the shower...and she peed in the wrong direction of my aluminum foil trap :-x I put on gloves and tried to squeeze the litter to put on the ketones strip, which probably isn't reliable but I squeezed water through the litter once just to see and it came negative for ketones so I thought what the hey. It didn't work so well and the strip stayed negative, but I don't trust it much. Will try again later! On the upside, I found poo while I was in there, so no poo problems yet:) What a way to spend my day off today :?
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 +4 70 +5 70

Detective Poo here, checking in on Chyna. Great report! :lol: Was the consistency good? Not too soft and not too hard? Great numbers today too! Woohoo!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 2/17 Chyna AMPS 133 +4 70 +5 70

Poo seemed ok, maybe a little soft but still in a "poo" shape...never thought I'd post online about POO...LOL.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top