2/17 Chino|AMPS=532/445|+8=371|PMPS=420|+3=355|+7=286

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know your feeling discouraged. Try to celebrate the little things and yellow was nice to see. Sorry about the bounce. If you're testing with both meters it will drive you crazy. Have you been checking for keytones? Looks like he was negative for them on the last labs which is good. Doodles never had them (anti-jinx) despite his ugly numbers. It's good to hear the "cheese" trick is working with Chino :smuggrin::woot::woot:

Also have to remember Chino is more than his numbers. It's hard to do, I know, but try....give him extra scritches.
 
I've been testing when I can, but I only get a chance to check before and after work. Fortunately, Chino doesn't have a history of throwing ketones. I waited for him to use the litterbox this morning but he only went #2, so I was unable to check before it was time to start work.

I only tested with both meters the last time he saw green, so I could show the vet that he wasn't anywhere near hypoglycemic, but before I started home testing, I ate something high carb and tested my own BG with the Relion Confirm, the Nova Max Plus, and the AlphaTrak 2. The human meters showed 221/222 and the AT2 showed 334, so I know that when I get a number in the low 200s, the real BG is in the 300s.
 
Though there was the time on 12/29 when I tested with both because I was switching from the AT2 back to the Relion Confirm. At one point, the RC read 216 and the AT2 read 262... so maybe he was somewhere in the 200s last night.
 
All meters are allowed a 20% variance and yes the AT runs higher because it's calibrated for feline blood vs. human blood. The TR protocol was written using a human meter. My AT is our back up meter too :)
 
I scheduled a follow-up appt for 3/03 for labs to evaluate the efficacy of the methimazole and screen for adverse reactions. I'm also going to ask for the tests that need to be done before Cat Thyroid Center will take him as a patient for radioiodine treatment. Leaving town in 1.5 day and wondering if I shouldn't have the sitters give 6 units while I'm gone, since 5.5 is not an effective dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top