2/17 Buddy PMPS#352 +4 251 +8 279 +11 376

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike&Buddy

Member Since 2011
This could be NDW I suppose but I got a 364 last night while testing each ear with in 30 seconds of each other.

I want to know from some of you have you ever got the same numbers with in the same week or so?
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364

lol! yes. there's been a couple of occasions when alex has given me the same number all day.
cycle 3 on 1u bid. let's see what this dose can do.
like that 204 last night! :-D
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364

the flat numbers are pretty common at first. If you look at spreadsheets of other cats who have been here a while, what you'll see on most of them is that the numbers didn't move at all. They would increase the dose, and increase it again, and again, and the numbers didn't really change. Then one day BAM! They hit a dose that the cat likes, and all of a sudden there is blue and green where before there was nothing but pink. It amazes me every time, but it happens that way to almost all the cats. You would think the numbers would start to come down gradually as the dose increases, but usually that's not what happens, it happens all of a sudden. Hang in there, Buddy will get to his good dose and you'll be amazed one day to test and see a lower number out of nowhere.

I scanned yesterday's condo and you mentioned that Buddy had a sore that had opened up. Infection or pain can drive up BGs, so it is certainly possible that it could be helping to hold his numbers up.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +1.5 389

1.5 check before heading off to work. It's 389... bummer. :? Well, I guess we will be a worry wart at work tonight.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +1.5 389 +8 339

Home early again tonight, yay! Buddy's number, still 300's..boo! -sigh- NDW or what ever go away and give my boy some good numbers!
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +1.5 389 +8 339 PMPS#334

Checked again before 1u. 334, only a few down. Dinner after shot, all are happy though Dad is still hoping for some better numbers soon.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy PMPS#334 +4 310 +8 287

+8 looked better.

Seems to be a drop in BG here, but it's still early. Rather have him hovering in the 200's than the 300's I guess.

I did not test him per the +10 or +11 because he and the rest where hungry. By the time I get set up it will be time for his next shot. So the food spike should have run its course by that time.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364

I think this might be a food spike, he ate around 12:00 noon, it's 1:30 now. #362

Still I think we should be getting better numbers by now.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +8 356

If this is NDW why are there no lower readings around here. +8 356 Phooey!

Ether he ate the last of the food a couple of hours ago or it's a stubborn liver.

I don't know. I keep hoping for some lower numbers when I get home, it's so heart breaking sometimes.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +8 356

Unless there's something radically different, you can raise the dose after the up-coming cycle.

Did you not open a 2/17 condo?
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +8 356

Yes, earlier before work (1:30PM - condo). He is taking 1u now but only for the last 4 doses, are you sure this is a safe? I can only check him so many times compared to what others can do. Especially after 1:30 Pm, I am off to work and not back till after midnight.

I look at him as he sits there being so patient and quiet. Waiting to get some late dinner after I test him and give him his insulin. Such a noble, wonderful boy he is. I shed a tear of hope, of fear. I cry a sigh of prayer for my boy.

My boy, my Buddy.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +8 356 PMPS#356

Not much change since getting home, but its only about an hour. PMPS 352, 1u given.

I am wondering if an increase is warranted. I'm going to be honest it scares me about thinking if this is the next step.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +8 356 PMPS#352 Increase? - H

Mike: I can't advise you whether to raise the dose or not but we do it in small increments. The protocol calls for increases of .25u but if you are worried about being able to test, etc., then ask the dosing experts about just adding a drop. When we were going up the scale with Gracie, we did increase by .25u but now I am adding or reducing by a drop at a time but that's because we have lots of testing data. You hold the syringe so if the experts advise a dose increase and you aren't comfy with .25u, then ask them about a smaller amount.
 
Re: 2/16 Mike's Buddy AMPS#364 +8 356 PMPS#352 Increase? - H

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Mike: I can't advise you whether to raise the dose or not but we do it in small increments. The protocol calls for increases of .25u but if you are worried about being able to test, etc., then ask the dosing experts about just adding a drop. When we were going up the scale with Gracie, we did increase by .25u but now I am adding or reducing by a drop at a time but that's because we have lots of testing data. You hold the syringe so if the experts advise a dose increase and you aren't comfy with .25u, then ask them about a smaller amount.

That is the frustrating part about all of this is being able to attain a decent volume of data. I am willing to push the envelope for his sake but I also risk my own health and not be any good to him. A drop my be prudent, I can't seem to really get enough data with my insane schedule I have with my job and life. I know I am not the only one with this problem its just frustrating in trying to figure out how to help my boy with out burning a candle at both ends.

Thanks, I will see into the dose options if any experts can advise.

Thank you.
 
Re: 2/17 PMPS#352 +4 251 +8 279 +11 376 ?Increase? Help

His 5:30 check seemed promising, then boom it went up. Each time I checked him he was crashed out on the recliner. I need to know from those with some pretty good experience if a "drop" increase would be OK. How you measure a drop is they real question I suppose.

I was terribly sick this morning after his first check and have had only a few hours sleeps so we slept late, our schedule is down to the wire today. He will get his usual 1.0u at 1:30 PM.

Please if anyone can advise let me know. I must leave for work in a couple of hours.

Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top