2/17, Bell, AMPS 60 +2 85 +5 191 +7 241 PMPS 246 +2 128 +3 77 +4 66 +5 54 +6 57 +7 62

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

Last night was rouggggggh. I was up every hour testing Bell after she dropped late and fast. Was hoping she would earn her reduction but she decided to just toy with me again. I don’t know if I’m being overly cautious, but I never felt comfortable calling it a night. Decided not to feed higher carbs because I wanted to see if she’d get her reduction, which was a mistake in hindsight. Altho, being new to using higher carbs, I know they don’t last forever so even if I did prop up her numbers with higher carbs and went to bed, I feel I’d still need to be worried when they wore off. Or I’d have to be confident she’d eat while I’m asleep, which I’m not.

Thank you Bell for putting up with all the pokes. Hoping to get some sleep tonight while she is bouncing, altho it is a mild bounce. Maybe another crash incoming… Hope all you folks have a great day/evening.
 
@cecile & bella: this was Bell a few days ago channeling her inner Bella :bighug::bighug::bighug:

upload_2025-2-17_19-25-44.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-2-17_19-25-44.png
    upload_2025-2-17_19-25-44.png
    412.9 KB · Views: 140
Oh boy, hope you at least snuck in a nap today. When talking about use of carbs and them wearing off quickly, that’s when using high carb over 15%. Nothing wrong with using some higher LC to prop her up. Even if that means doing a mix of MC and LC to get a littler higher LC. Just a thought. :)

Behave yourself tonight, Miss Bell.
 
Ok, thank you so much, Christie! That’s what I was previously doing, I’ll keep it up and try to get some more data to see how it affects her. Mentally, I’ve been thinking of using higher carbs as a last ditch method for when I’m going to be gone, since I don’t want to prop up a potential reduction cycle. But even I need some sleep :p
 
It's OK to add a little carbs early in the cycle to reduce a dive. It's good you fed some MC at +2. It's looking like a repeat of last night. Can you get a +3?

For future reference, when you use HC, you want to monitor for 2 hours after to ensure she doesn't dive after the carbs wear off. If she stays up 2 hours after carbs, then you can assume that her numbers are not artificially being propped up by carbs.
 
Thanks Bhooma, I will get a +3 and feed her a little more. I’m going to need to strategize some sleep here that is longer than a 40 minute chunk.

Good to know about the HC food. That was my fear if I tried to prop her up and then went to bed
 
Good to know about the HC food. That was my fear if I tried to prop her up and then went to bed
Yeah, if you fed HC, you would need to stay up at least 2 hours after feeding it. Which is why it is better to feed the carbs earlier in the cycle - reduces the diving earlier in the cycle (and in turn, any bouncing due to diving), will not affect duration as it could later in the cycle when the insulin action isn't as strong and you can be awake to see what's happening after the carbs wear off.
 
I may have to Bhooma! I think she just enjoys being fed every hour so she is willing herself to stay just above 50 :p. I just saw her cross the 60 mark, so I loaded her up with one bigger meal, left plenty of food out, and am calling it a night (2 AM my time). Thank you all so much for the help!
 
Back
Top