2/17 Alex AMPS 327, +2 356, +4 245, +6 235, PMPS 408, +2 400

alexMama

Member Since 2026
New here! Day 1 advice

Alex is doing well! Will check him at +4 and update! We are getting the hang of this somewhat!! He has already figured out that he gets a snack after a Bg check.. so he is more tolerant of the poke!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0782.jpeg
    IMG_0782.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 34
New here! Day 1 advice

Alex is doing well! Will check him at +4 and update! We are getting the hang of this somewhat!! He has already figured out that he gets a snack after a Bg check.. so he is more tolerant of the poke!
Oh yes. Always always give a treat after a BG test. Many people use Pure Bites freeze dried chicken pieces or just boiled chicken cubes. Y’all are doing a great job with Alex!
 
You're doing great with Alex! You've picked up a lot for somebody so early into this process!

He's also adorable by the way!

I'm glad @Suzanne & Darcy are keeping an eye on you guys, too, since her "specialty" is Prozinc, where mine is more geared towards Glargine (Lantus). Of course, I'm always available for you in the group too if you need help with something.

Alex..you be a good kitty! Your mama is trying so hard!
 
Last edited:
Thank you both!! You have both been such a huge help to us!
+4 he has gone up already to 286, so a little surprised he didn’t go down more..
I’m so new at this though, so I really don’t know what the normal trend should be and I know it’s really early and too soon to know what his norm is yet!
 
You're doing great with Alex! You've picked up a lot for somebody so early into this process!

He's also adorable by the way!

I'm glad @Suzanne & Darcy are keeping an eye on your guys, too, since her "specialty" is Prozinc, where mine is more geared towards Glargine (Lantus). Of course, I'm always available for you in the group too if you need help with something.

Alex..you be a good kitty! Your mama is trying so hard!
Chris, you are always so helpful to all of our members! Thank you. Maria really has done an amazing job of getting up to speed — faster than most new members for sure. You are very determined.
 
Thank you both!! You have both been such a huge help to us!
+4 he has gone up already to 286, so a little surprised he didn’t go down more..
I’m so new at this though, so I really don’t know what the normal trend should be and I know it’s really early and too soon to know what his norm is yet!
Well, we have to give him a bit more time to break this bounce. It’s so frustrating. Tell me how he seems to you today behavior-wise?
 
he seems his normal self… Super happy to get some snacks when we check him and then goes back to his usual spot on the sofa in the front window… And goes to sleep for a bit. His +6 was just 281.
 
419 AMPS, ugh… Seems happy as a clam! Eating just fine still, We have noticed he isn’t begging for water in the tub anymore and he hasn’t thrown up once since switching to FF pate’! The dry food was the culprit this whole time! 😑 I feel like we could have saved him and us a lot of grief if I had put that together sooner! We had tried wet food before , to no avail..
Any clues on what’s happening with these higher numbers since last night??
 
Well, I have a lot of thoughts on it. It may be the high before the bounce clears. Sometimes when you see relatively flat yellow cycles and then kitty goes high, it’s a sign that the bounce is about to clear and numbers will come back down. I hope that will happen today!

I do think that he is going to need an increase in a few days anyway.
 
How many days has he been on Clavamox?
He has been on it for 7 days and the new vet gave me another bottle of it as he wants that mouth infection to clear to see what his real numbers are.. (he thinks the infection is making his numbers higher.. and that does make sense). I will get a good look at it before i head to work.
 
431 AMPS.. Ugh… 😑 Our guess is his liver is kicking in the extra sugar in response to the increase in insulin.. This is quite a dance!!!! Goodness!! He seems just his normal happy self! Alex is loving his Ff pate’s and is dealing with all the pokes like a champ!
 
Our guess is his liver is kicking in the extra sugar in response to the increase in insulin.

What increase? If you mean going from .75 to 1.0, that was days ago. I agree with @Suzanne & Darcy that he's going to need a little more juice. I think you could go up to 1.25

Please start a new post for 2/15 when you do it. We usually start a new one every day (or every couple of days here in the Prozinc forum). You might also want to post in the Main Health forum, just because it gets a lot more action. You could post here and then just do a quick post there with the link to your newest post here (just to get people's attention)
 
Personally, I would have thought that Antirobe (Clindamycin) would be a better choice for a mouth infection. It’s generally the drig of choice for anything involving mouth bacteria/dental procedures, etc. It also is much less likely to cause GI upset than Clavamox. Hopefully, he’s not having diarrhea or vomiting with the Clavamox? Why liquid? The pills aren’t that large. Are you not able to hive Alex pills with a pill shooter? As Chris pointed out, many liquid antibiotics have forms of sugar in them. Since Clavamox is a pet formula though, perhaps it doesn’t have sugar? I just checked and found it doesn’t have sugar but it does have the artificial sweetener Aspartame (NutraSweet, Equal) and it has Strawberry Cream Flavor… whatever is in that?
 
As for threads, you have the option to start a new one or to keep posting on this one until it hits 50 posts. The most important thing is to copy a link to the previous thread to the new one — in the first post. It’s not as busy here as on the LLB forum so we don’t mandate that members make a new post for every day.

You can do a cross post to Feline Health if you want to, but there are not many people who will advise you on dosing there. If you just have a general question or have a hypo emergency, you could post there as well as here. Post here first though.
 
Finally, about the dose. I would like to see you hold it for 7 days. It’s not that much longer. When cats are new to insulin their bodies need some time to adjust. After 7 days, the ProZinc Start Slow Go Slow protocol recommends a .25 unit increase if nadirs are above 150. Alex’s nadirs have definitely been above 150 except the one time. I hope you have the u-40 syringes with the half unit markings because you will eyeball it between the 1 mark and the 1.5 mark.

He’s not producing ketones is he? Are you testing? If he has more than trace ketones, my dose recommendation would be different.
 
Good morning all!!
Thank you for all of the feedback. Alex is doing well. No vomiting which is a miracle around here after 8 years of it..
No diarrhea either. Totally normal stools.
I have not tested for ketones. I can never catch him peeing when I’m here! What is an easier way to do that when you can’t catch him?
Yes I do have the u-40 syringes, so I can get a little help with the in between doses..
What increase? If you mean going from .75 to 1.0, that was days ago. I agree with @Suzanne & Darcy that he's going to need a little more juice. I think you could go up to 1.25

Please start a new post for 2/15 when you do it. We usually start a new one every day (or every couple of days here in the Prozinc forum). You might also want to post in the Main Health forum, just because it gets a lot more action. You could post here and then just do a quick post there with the link to your newest post here (just to get people's attention)
I meant just his body reacting to the insulin he’s been getting now for the past week…
 
I have not tested for ketones. I can never catch him peeing when I’m here! What is an easier way to do that when you can’t catch him?
I have a blood ketone meter, the Nova Max Plus blood ketone meter (purchased from ADW Diabetes Supply.) There are a lot more brands available now. I would do a little research and see if I can find a reliable one. These work exactly the same as your ReliOn except with special test strips to measure ketones.
 
AmPS 327…
Going to see what happens today at 1.0 unit and then will move up to 1.25 tomorrow, based on your recommendation. Will start a new thead and link tomorrow as well.
 
And just catching up in my email box and that message about his 156 definitely didn’t come into my email box until 10:14 this morning for some reason.

It’s strange, but you are doing a great job.
 
And just catching up in my email box and that message about his 156 definitely didn’t come into my email box until 10:14 this morning for some reason.

It’s strange, but you are doing a great job.
Thanks so much! I don’t understand these major fluctuations in his levels! 408 and 400 tonight.. ugh!😑
 
Back
Top