2/17/20 Need help with spreadsheet

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, sorry to be a bug.

I am in need of some help with my SS for today so I can fix it if needed.

AMPS @ 7.9(142)
Then waited 30 minutes without food and retested @ 7.8(140)
I then fed my kitty and waited another 30 minutes and re tested @ 8.9(160)
I then fed him a small bit more of food and have him his medicine.

@+2 his BG was 6.3(113)

I just want to make sure I have these in the right columns and not the wrong ones...:p

(Also if someone could post the link on how to use the SS, again, that would be great, it has been shared with me before but I can’t seem to find it now)
 
OK....so what time is your usual AMPS? Did you try for 11am today but didn't actually shoot until noon? (when he was 160?)

What time did you get the 113? At 1pm or 2pm? (if you shot at noon)
 
I tried for 10ish AM but didn’t get to shoot until 11:18am. I tested him at 10:03am he was 142 then I tested him 30 mins later he was at 140 so I fed him and tested again and he was at 160 then I gave him his shot. The 113 was at 1:29pm which was a +2


Right now I’m trying to help him as his BG is 67......

I tested him at +6 and it was 3.7(67)so I tested 30 mins later and it was still 3.7(67) so I fed him a bit of he food and a tiny bit of corn syrup. Going to re test him in 30
 
so I fed him and tested again and he was at 160 then I gave him his shot.

You need to get out of the habit of doing this!! When you stall, you are doing it to see if the number goes up without the influence of food. By going ahead and feeding him, of course his number will go up!! That's what food does!....so now you're making a decision to shoot when you really don't know if it's safe or not.

Right now I’m trying to help him as his BG is 67......

67 is a safe number....no reason to give Karo unless he drops below 50. You want him to stay in those pretty safe green numbers as much as possible. That's when the pancreas can heal.
 
You need to get out of the habit of doing this!! When you stall, you are doing it to see if the number goes up without the influence of food. By going ahead and feeding him, of course his number will go up!! That's what food does!....so now you're making a decision to shoot when you really don't know if it's safe or not.



67 is a safe number....no reason to give Karo unless he drops below 50. You want him to stay in those pretty safe green numbers as much as possible. That's when the pancreas can heal.
I didn’t give him a bunch just a lick of it lol. He has big drops sometimes so I never know if it’s going to drop even more. And 67 worries me because I thought a cat was supposed to be between 80-120 so when I see 60ish my heart starts to pound. And the amount I fed him i don’t think it was going to bring it up a bunch I feed him like a quarter size of food. But sometimes his number doesn’t go up so I feed him a dime size of food I wait 30 mins to an hour and test him again.
 
On your spreadsheet, the number you actually shoot is always the Pre-shot. So if you waited until he was at 160 before shooting, his AMPS should be 160....that way all the + cells still line up to the number of hours since the last shot.

If you end up stalling, you can put the numbers in the +11 cell (like 142 @+12, 140 @+12.5....all in the +11 cell) and then put the actual number (160) in the AMPS cell
 
On your spreadsheet, the number you actually shoot is always the Pre-shot. So if you waited until he was at 160 before shooting, his AMPS should be 160....that way all the + cells still line up to the number of hours since the last shot.

If you end up stalling, you can put the numbers in the +11 cell (like 142 @+12, 140 @+12.5....all in the +11 cell) and then put the actual number (160) in the AMPS cell
Okay thanks I’ll fix that
 
Back
Top