2/17/20 AMPS @160; +2 @ 113; +6 @ 67

Crystal&Hendrix

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone, my kitties BG this morning was 142 so I stalled and re tested in 30 mins and it was 140 so I fed him and re tested again in 30 and it was 160. I usually give him his shot for 10/10 and he didn’t get his shot until 11:18pm
(I’m from Canada so time zone may be different for others reading this)

@+2 = 113 then I fed him
@+6 = 67 so I retested him in 30 mins and it was still 67 so I fed him hc food and a tiny bit of corn syrup and I’m going to re test in 30 too see if it has gone up any! Just thought I’d share just in case!!!
 
High carb and syrup may have been a wee bit too much, he was actually staying flat, and these numbers are later in the cycle. I guess we'll see. Glad to see you've made some notes in your SS for reference next time. Sometimes just a little LC does the trick to keep them flat ;)

I see you just switched to 911...we try and reserve that for medical emergencies, ie. hypo symptoms, numbers in the 30s, Hendrix is just fine at the moment. Can you please remove the 911?
 
I didn’t give him too much I gave him like barely a spoonful of hc if that and a tiny tiny of corn syrup barely any on my finger. Also I fed him a good chunk of ff classics pate before I re tested him and he was still 67 so I fed him a bit more FF
 
67 is still quite safe, and he's been there with the previous test at +6...some kitties are very carb sensitive, I know my guy would jump to the moon if he even smelled HC food :p. Try and let the numbers guide you, certainly let's see where things are in another 1/2 hour, okay?
 
67 is still quite safe, and he's been there with the previous test at +6...some kitties are very carb sensitive, I know my guy would jump to the moon if he even smelled HC food :p. Try and let the numbers guide you, certainly let's see where things are in another 1/2 hour, okay?
Of course, thank you and it’s been 30 minutes now but I could wait another 30 if that’s what you mean? But it’s definitely been 30 mins since I gave him food and everything. And I do know that certain numbers are safe I just see them and I’m like oh crap!! I got that “normal kitties BG is between 80-120” stuck in my brain and I need to get it out of there so when I see low numbers I don’t freak out lol
 
High carb and syrup may have been a wee bit too much, he was actually staying flat, and these numbers are later in the cycle. I guess we'll see. Glad to see you've made some notes in your SS for reference next time. Sometimes just a little LC does the trick to keep them flat ;)

I see you just switched to 911...we try and reserve that for medical emergencies, ie. hypo symptoms, numbers in the 30s, Hendrix is just fine at the moment. Can you please remove the 911?[/QUOT
I didn’t give him too much I gave him like barely a spoonful of hc if that and a tiny tiny of corn syrup barely any on my finger. Also I fed him a good chunk of ff classics pate before I re tested him and he was still 67 so I fed him a bit more FF
I know I changed it when I remembered 911 is for emergencies only..... and I did remove it already :p
 
It's up to you, but I think you can wait 1/2 hour more :)
Waited an hour and re tested, BG is at 4.7(85):cat:

I was honestly scared it was going to be way higher but I didn’t give him a spoonful of HC.... only a quarter size and a PINCH of corn syrup. I wrote in my journal for next time to remember to stall and retest, stall, retest until number gets high enough to shoot too, instead of what I WAS doing. I’d stall and wait 30 mins then re test and if it didn’t come up I’d feed him and wait 30 mins an re test which isn’t really good to do because then I could be shooting an unsafe number and I need to remind myself of this and stall, retest, stall, retest until number comes up on its own.

I’ll also write down NOT to give corn syrup or HC unless BG drops below 50. I need to tell myself that “green is good!” ;)
 
Fabulous, glad to see that 85! It is all good info! Believe me I know that feeling, the first time Maverick hit a too low for comfort number, I cracked open 20% carb food, and gave him 1/2 a can :rolleyes:. That's when I learned 20% carb *usually* is overkill for him. Just depends on where we are at in the cycle as well. When I see later lower numbers like +6 or +7, I may react differently than when I get the same lower number at +2. You did just fine, and really he didn't skyrocket, which is good to know too. Your combo seems to have worked with Hendrix, that is why we always say know thy cat. We each need to learn what works for our cat, what works for my Mav, may not work for Hendrix.
 
Hi Crystal
Just wanted to mention about when you are stalling. I thought you were going to lower your Preshot number to 140. Did you change your mind about that?

Next time you stall .... do as you did and then when you get the next BG (as you did when you got 143 then next test 140)..... post and ask what to do.
Don’t feed then wait another half an hour and test again. You are going to get way out with your schedule if you do that. You would have been fine to have fed when you got the 140 and then given the insulin straight away. That way you would not have been so far off schedule.
If you feed, the BG is going to go up and the next BG is food influenced, so it is no safer to do that, than to feed and shoot when you got the 140. Does that make sense?
 
Hi Crystal
Just wanted to mention about when you are stalling. I thought you were going to lower your Preshot number to 140. Did you change your mind about that?

Next time you stall .... do as you did and then when you get the next BG (as you did when you got 143 then next test 140)..... post and ask what to do.
Don’t feed then wait another half an hour and test again. You are going to get way out with your schedule if you do that. You would have been fine to have fed when you got the 140 and then given the insulin straight away. That way you would not have been so far off schedule.
If you feed, the BG is going to go up and the next BG is food influenced, so it is no safer to do that, than to feed and shoot when you got the 140. Does that make sense?


Hi Bron!!! Glad you’re here! And I did want to try the 140 preshot number I just forgot about it due to lack of sleep and all the new information and trying to fix the spread sheet I couldn’t keep up today my brain was everywhere! Sorry about that! I was honestly thinking that when it all happened like “why didn’t I just shoot at the 140 *slaps forehead* i felt so stupid LOL. I didn’t get too far behind schedule luckily but I’m learning new things STILL to this day! I will make sure if I get another 140-143 I will feed and shoot correct? Also I need to learn to stop feeding when I stall! I’m so bad for that! Then I could be shooting a food influenced/unsafe number doing it that way!! I also just spent the last hour or so going through my journal log and the SS making sure each number is in the correct column, stacking what needs to be stacked, manually colour coding, etc. Even did the US side as well....boy oh boy. It’s been a long day and a long night. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Hendrix is doing SO good and I don’t want to mess anything up on him.
 
Don’t worry about not getting everything right. It’s early days yet. And none of us ever stops learning!
So don’t feel bad.
Yes next time you get a 140 shoot. As long as you can monitor the cycle.
 
Don’t worry about not getting everything right. It’s early days yet. And none of us ever stops learning!
So don’t feel bad.
Yes next time you get a 140 shoot. As long as you can monitor the cycle.
Okay, I will do that. I bet tomorrow he will be 140ish again, not 100% sure but he’s been doing so well. So if that happens I will feed, shoot and re test for a +1 or +2. Thank you for all of your advice and help :bighug:
 
Back
Top