2/16 Willows amps 212bg rough night!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Willow

Member Since 2016
Good morning

Sleeping is clearly overrated!
Our new syringes should be here today. The current ones only have unit markings making it really tough to do 1/4 or 1/2 unit decreases.
Since changing her food we been battling to get her back into blue numbers.
Yesterday afternoon she finally hit blue! Then her pmps was a solid blue, I was thinking I should give her a reduction at that time, however she had not earned it yet. My gut was screaming to give her less. Her +2 was lower then her pmps and her +3 was 57bg lower putting her into green. Danger Will Roberson!

At that point I gave her another can of fancy feast and she gobbled it down. It slowed her down, I set the alarm for 2am and went to sleep, at 2am she was safe yellow, back to sleep.
Between 3-430am Willow was up and down eating, you see Willow now sleeps between my wife and I heads all stretched out hugging my wife for most of the night. With her being up and down she was keeping me awake. Then came the vomiting! Holly cow it was like out of the exorcist, how much food did she eat? Wow she may win a medal for longest vomiting. Within a 10 minute span she had covered my entire side of the bed and the end of the bed. Now this sounds like an exaggeration! Not even close to how much she vomited.
We are thinking the fancy feast beef is to rich for her when she has an empty stomach. She did not stop vomiting until her amps. I did a safe reduced shot with the thought if she eats again and vomits it all up with no food to save her I could come home today to a dead cat.
Never a dull moment at our house!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-willows-pmps-156bg-137bg-2-99-3-50.173228/
 
Yuk, sorry about the vomits. Beef is another common allergen or it's the fish in the FF beef. Hope you get the allergy test soon and it helps
 
Yuk, sorry about the vomits. Beef is another common allergen or it's the fish in the FF beef. Hope you get the allergy test soon and it helps
Good morning
Willows coughing is back, she sounds like she has asthma and the vet said this could be the case.
What is odd is while she was on antibiotics her coughing almost was completely gone with only a cough here and there. Now that the antibiotics have stopped her coughing is back. Thoughts?
Thank you on her vomiting, omg I have never seen so much.
Wait their is fish in the FF beef?
 
How stressful that must have been! I'm sorry to hear that.
Beef may have been the culprit. Uncle can only tolerate it in small amounts (I don't give it to him anymore) but his brother would throw up almost immediately (and violently) after having any amount of it, venison as well.
Not sure about the coughing, I bet someone here will have an idea about that.
I hope Willow feels better today.
 
Sorry about the vomit. Poor Willow and poor you. Sorry to hear her coughing is back. Maybe put coughing ? in the subject line to get more input.
 
sounds like she has asthma and the vet said this could be the case
From the video you posted that's what I'd say it is or some type of lower airway disease such as chronic bronchitis. Asthma is hard to diagnose because unless they are in a flair the xrays may not show it. You should keep good notes on the SS. Unfortunately the only way to treat it is with a steroid Pred and or an inhaler. We thought Doodles was coughing because of the CHF but over and over again the cardiologist has said cats don't cough because of heart disease. We can't treat Doodles suspected asthma/ LAD because his heart is not strong enough. In Dec. his coughing was horrible and close together...since Jan. 1st only 3 episodes but I can hear him wheezing/ breathing hard most days.
 
Hope you can get some answers about the coughing and the AB; I don't think an AB would subdue asthma but I don't know for sur.

The vomiting sounds not fun at all and maybe try to keep beef away and see what happens.
 
Sorry to hear you had such a stressful evening with vomiting thats awful. I had a very late night monitoring Tinka too after shooting low last night, but thankfully she stabilised and I finally got to sleep at 4am. Seeing lower values again today. Not sure on the vomiting, maybe too much food, too rich or maybe an allergy. What did you feed her this AM then? No vomiting since?

Is Willow on any kind of medications? Long term steroids can sometimes lead to asthma. One holistic practioner that Tinka saw a while back said that being on steroids long term for her skin could drive the condition deeper into her chest resulting in asthma. I have noticed when she is on steroids for a few weeks her breathing becomes a bit wheezy which is why we have worked so hard to reduce the steroid down. When she's off steroids and her skin is better her chest clears. However the steroid use seems to have made her more and more reliant on its use. Anyways not sure if thats of help just thought i'd share. I know sometimes steroids is actually used to help asthma and it does help but it can just suppress it further into the body. Ultimately we need to find root cause of problem eg what is triggering itchy skin or cough, try and avoid these things if possible and support body's immune system so it doesn't react to these triggers in first place and help body to detox. I believe this can be done with diet like raw food diet, vits and min, herbals and homeopathics. Or a more conventional approach would be to treat symptoms and hope that the old or new symptoms don't resurface. If the former doesn't work or isn't possible to do sometimes the latter is an option, but there's usually a pay off. Hope Willow gets well soon and you can all get some rest too! Keep going, my hubby and I can totally sympathise, its hard when our fur balls are sick.
 
Good evening,

Thank you everyone for replying.
We started the antibiotics again per the vet. No coughing today.
No other medication except the antibiotics. The coughing seems to happen after she eats. I'm going to take better notes so I can find the trigger and post what I find. A bunch of minds working on a problem is much better then one.
I'm thinking between the richness of the beef and she ate almost three cans, she over ate! Good news is we pulled beef from her diet. And I spent a few house cleaning the room today.
Because I'm leaving town at 5am tomorrow we are reducing her to 1.5 units twice a day to be safe. No one home to keep an eye on her. Need to be safe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top