2/16 - Shakes - I give up!! what to shoot

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
ok so shakes has been bouncing the last 2 weeks sicne the meter mess....
SO I was going to reduce last night but I got a 473...
I got nervous and upped him to 3.8....
his +4 was 196
+5 was 112
****...I fed some EVO dry and his amps was 415
so I shot a 3.4....
SO.....Tonight he is 466.......
CRAP!! AGAIN!!
Do I lower, but I cant stand these high numbers
but when I raise he goes to low to fast..... :evil:
 
I feel your pain momma. We are in the same boat I think. Like you saw in our thread, our vet wants us to hang at a lower dose for about a week to let everything clear. I am not convinced I want to hang as low as he says, but I will “renegotiate" that tomorrow :-D

So a theory could be you have to lower and hang tight for a bit to let all these bounces clear. Hard to say for sure. Your spreadsheet and our spreadsheet are starting to look like Jackson Pollock paintings :roll:

Out of frustration I have tried shooting a bounce and (no sh*t) it don’t work ohmygod_smile I guess we all have to do it to find out.
 
thanks Donna,
I thought about what your vet said, looked at Shakes SS and I did raise kinda fast after
the meter mess so even though he is 466
I lowered the dose to 3.2 and I will be praying that it helps TONIGHT!
Hope it works for at least one of us!
 
It may help to lower the dose to elimate that rebound that Shakes has been on for the last few cycles. Even if he goes flat for a cycle or two. Perhaps if his dose was reduced, even though overall numbers may trend higher, you may not get that bounce at the end which ends in that ugly preshot.

I know it feels contrary to everything that makes sense to reduce the insulin but it may stop this cycle of shoot, bounce, can't reduce because of PS#, shoot, bounce, can't reduce because of PS#... you get the idea. Even if he falls flat a few cycles it may give his body a chance to adjust and get off the rollercoaster.
 
Oh Denise, i feel your pain. I hope that the lower dose helps tonight. I know it's got to be frustrating you and SHakes.

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top