2/16 Morgaine AMPS 178 spoke to vet!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Good day!

Just a qucik update as I broke a tooth and am off to the dentist.

Morgaine was doing quite well yesterday and used the boxes but before bedtime she pee'd the rug so back to confinement. I am not good at sticking to this because I feel so sorry for us both. Anyway, she is barracaded in the tiny kitchen and is really being difficult. she has not pee'd since last night. It is as if she is holding it in. I have no idea how healthy that can be. Otherwise she has eaten and is hanging in there. The gate I ordered should be here today. now I am hoping I can put it up myself. This is the hardest experience I have ever had to deal with with Morgaine. Just hoping she uses the box and pees!

BBL.
 
Re: 2/16 Morgaine AMPS 178

Rosalie, I'm so sorry it is so difficult for both of you. I was hoping the confining to the one area might be a start to helping with the situation. What did the Vet say if you made a call? You had mentioned giving a call the other day. Is there a neighbor you're friendly with that could help assemble the gate. I know anything I order that needs assembling I need help. Have you given any more thought to the Animal Communicator Marje mentioned? Thinking of you both.
 
Re: 2/16 Morgaine AMPS 178

I am so worried and will be calling the vet. I had to let her out of the kitchen. she pee'd on hereself some but not a full pee. This is a stubborn kitty with a lot of spirit. at this point I am at a loss for what to do but confinement in a tiny kitchen with her box in there is not the answer. Whew! She just let it all out on the rug. I am so sad but at least she relieved herself.
 
Re: 2/16 Morgaine AMPS 178

(((Rosalie))) I'm glad that she doesn't appear to have a bladder infection. Maybe she was holding it because her food and litter are too close together in the kitchen when you feed her?

I left you a message that I can come put the gate up for you if you need any help. I hope you got the tooth fixed where you do not have pain. I'm so sorry for the issues with Morgaine. You know I will be happy to take
you both to the vet .....just let me know. Mike is home tomorrow and can stay with Gracie if you want to get Morgaine in.
 
Re: 2/16 Morgaine AMPS 178

Thanks Marje! I sent you a PM. Am waitrng for the vet to call back. She also let loose her poo and it was all liquid. OMG! What as mess this is. I have no idea what I am going to do. She is fine now, sitting here acting normal and licking herself. Hopefully cleaning the pee off of her belly. I will try to clean her up but that too is a problem since she gets angry. Right now I need to be talked down from the thoughts I am having.
 
Re: 2/16 Morgaine AMPS 178

I spoke to the vet and then to Marje. Thanks for all the support Marje!

We are taking Morgaine off of the prozac because if it causing the loose poo then we will need to start over once it is cleared up and at a lower dose. She also may have just had that awful poo due to holding her pee for 14 hours. This is not a good situation and I am not going to be able to live with a cat who will not use a box or even a pee pad at this point. I am not sure what to do but my own well being has to come first. Morgaine's regular vet will be back tomorrow and I will see what she suggests. The vet I spoke to said that cats who are happy do not do what morgaine is doing. She also suggestested that if we can't find a way to correct this I may have consider the unspeakable, putting her down. Just typing those words makes me sick. Morgaine is a very spirited cat and she is still full of life and love. I am just not sure what to do. We really could use some prayers and healing thoughts.
 
i know how much you love morgaine - it has been obvious the whole time you've been here, so to hear you considering this tells me how very bad the situation is. you are in my thoughts as you work through this. :YMHUG:

marje's suggestion that the box is too close to the food . . . it's true that cats don't want those close together. i wonder if feeding her elsewhere would help.
 
(((Rosalie)))......keeping you in our thoughts and prayers. The meds I mentioned are gabapentin and amantadine ...used together.
 
Sending love and healing thoughts to you and Morgaine, Rosalie...
and hoping fervently for a good resolution.

celi & binks
 
Dear Rosalie,
I do hope that you can find a solution to Morgaine's problems. Have you considered an animal communicator? Many people here have had good experiences with a communicator.
We are wishing you both a good night. Try to think positively and perhaps put your house back to it's "normal" set-up. Kitties don't like changes in their routines. It's possible that Morgaine doesn't like her new litter. Have you ever tried The Worlds's Best Cat Litter? It is superlative in every way.
I hope that your broken tooth got fixed and that you are not in pain.
Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for all the good thoughts. Morgaine has to be confined but i have moved the litter box with a pee pad in it, back to the bathroom. I have covered my hallway with pee pads and she now has access to the kitchen, bathroom and hallway but not the living room or the bedroom. So, she has a T shaped area to do her thing. Tomorrow I will get a gate set up but right now I am moving a box and her carrier(the barrier) back and forth so that I can function. If I were not so physically limited it all would be different. I am feeling a bit calmer. I got something to eat and took a nap. She is a loving cat and the thought of ending her life for this is just not okay for me. She is full of life even if she is not her old self. I will have to figure it out. Marje has offered to help me tomorrow so maybe we can get the gate set up and maybe I can get a plastic runner for the hallway carpet so I can pick up the pee pads. I am not too steady on my feet and they are hard to walk on. Thanks everyone. Accepting all good thoughts and prayers for my sweet Morgaine..
 
a plastic carpet runner sounds like a great idea. will try to keep thinking of possibilities. you never know what will come to you when you sleep.
 
Sending healing vines to Morgaine possitive thoughts for a solution.

I know we'll get there. :YMHUG: We're all here with you.
 
My dog was urine incontinent for a year and a half. I couldn't imagine making a choice to be honest with you. Cats are extremely clean and I really don't think its a behavioural issue. I think she's trying to tell you that something is wrong. I would try things anyway - like adequan. It is known to help with cysticis (spelling) - which is very painful. Maybe even a few doses of buprenorphine to rule out pain.

I don't mean to sound judging, I know how emotional everything is that you are dealing with. And its not fun for her either.

I bought human pee pads from a health store. The kind you put on beds for people recovering. They can be easily washed tons of times and have built in protection for the bed and floor. I had to put on a waterproof matress pad to protect the matress. Hefner has punctured holes in most of them or I'd ship them all off to you. My dog is an angel now.

You can make a walk in litterbox out of rubbermaid so its a very low entry.

Take a deep breath. You are her mom, and you will find a way to get through this. Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top