2/16 Mickey amps 329 pmps 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
Ok, we are going up again. I have to go pick up b12 shots 1x a week for 6 weeks. For the runs? Came home to poo on the hall rug and baseboard again this morning. Yesterday it was in my bedroom on the floor and baseboard. I have been stratigically placing newspaper where he normally lets go. Mystifyed here.

I was hopeful for a minute. Now numbers are going up again. Trying to be patient. I know it takes days for this to set. Not freaking out tho. :razz:

Vicky and Sheila , thanks again for taking time for scheduling with a crazy schedule. I am going to shoot you a pm in reference to the "reduced dose" I am on my last midnight shift tonight (now tomorrow night). edited to say: now I have to work 6 midnights. Did you ever just have someone at work that has drama all the time!!

And my apologies to Sheila, I wrote Vicky and Claudia-- Sorry I am suffering from sleep deprivation :oops:
 
Re: 2/16 Mickey amps 329

No idea on the diarrhea for you, sorry. Has there been a change of food or a new batch of old food been bought/used?

Who suggested the B12? If memory serves, I believe it's recommended for IBD. My best suggestion for IBD is raw food.
 
Re: 2/16 Mickey amps 329

Hi Peggy,

Sorry to jump in here, I don't normally post on ISGs, but we (me and Lilly Grace) adore sweet Mickey.

How long has he had the diahrea? Did you talk to the vet? Flagyl, a script from the vet, might help. He can become dehydrated if this goes on too long, can you get extra fluids into him? I know you're work schedule is crazy, but when do you think you could get some spot checks on Mickey? Maybe tonight after the shot get a +2 or +3. I'm wondering if it's time for a dose increase. The belly ache, any stress really, can cause higher BGs and the .5U might not be enough.

We are using FortiFlora, one packet daily for Tucker's belly right now. Seems to be helping.
 
Re: 2/16 Mickey amps 329

Peggy and Mickey said:
Ok, we are going up again. I have to go pick up b12 shots 1x a week for 6 weeks. For the runs? Came home to poo on the hall rug and baseboard again this morning. Yesterday it was in my bedroom on the floor and baseboard. I have been stratigically placing newspaper where he normally lets go. Mystifyed here..

You mention diarrhea meds he was on back in the beginning of December. What were these? Was it the Flagyl that Jennifer mentions (which is sometimes used for diarrhea even though it is an antibiotic).

Have you had him checked for parasites? Can be a frequent cause of diarrhea.

Also, agree with Vicky on the raw food. If he does have IBD then a raw diet would probably help a lot. There is a link in my signature.

Peggy and Mickey said:
I was hopeful for a minute. Now numbers are going up again. Trying to be patient. I know it takes days for this to set. Not freaking out tho. :razz:

Yes, with your schedule it might be awhile before you see some improvement, but hopefully not.

Peggy and Mickey said:
Vicky and Claudia, thanks again for taking time for scheduling with a crazy schedule. I am going to shoot you a pm in reference to the "reduced dose" I am on my last midnight shift tonight.

Er, I think you mean Vicky and Sheila! LOL Yes, they did a good job trying to figure out a dosing regimen with your schedule. :)
 
Re: 2/16 Mickey amps 329

Peggy, please correct me if i'm wrong, but I believe Mickey has tried flagyl twice (last in December if my memory serves), and is currently using fortiflora. Everything in Mickey's labs came back normal, so her vet doesn't know why he has poop issues. For a while there his poop was formed, but always outside of the box, but it seems he's back to diarrhea again. Poor Mickey!! I hope the b-12 helps. You must be at your wits end. confused_cat
 
Charliemeow- great memory!!

Pamela and Tigger-He was on antibiotics for a URI, then came the runny poo/go where ever I feel like it. 2 rounds of flagyl. Once the dosing was not enough for his weight. Second with the correct dose. He was checked for parasites that was negative. No food changes however, did take some away. No old food usage. Too many cats for that. LOL Thanks for the link to Feline's Pride. It is already made!! That is great.
Glad you caught my error in the thank you, I fixed it. :oops: Sleep deprived and embarassed.

Jennifer-We tried flagyl x2. I will not be able to get spot checks until Friday and Saturday. Sunday is out stuck working OT. :evil: Oh, and we are using fortiflora too.

Vicky- It probably is IBD knowing our luck. I think I might try the Feline's Pride. It will be awsome if he will eat it.
 
Peggy, what type of food does Mickey eat? I think he gets some dry, is it gluten free?

Tucker's been experiencing some of what Mickey is going through but that's because he stopped eating, long story behind all of that with his brain tumor and such, but I gave him some food with corn and wheat gluten, he loved it but we've been paying the price ever since. Was giving him K-Pectin for cats, a diahrea medicine and stopped the gluten food, he's getting better.

You have to watch dehydration and electrolite loss if the liqiupoo continues. I touch Tucker's gums, if they are sticky he's dehydrated. For Lilly Grace she gets water added to all her wet food since that's the only way she can get water, for Tucker he gets subq fluids.

Tucker did also get another B12 injection when right when his IBD started to get better, that could be the reason too.

When you give Mickey his PS shot at night, is it right before you go to bed? Is there any way you could test even an hour after or even a little later? With Levemir it's hard to tell how well it's working without seeing numbers after preshot. I know you can't get spot checks during the day with that crazy schedule, that's why I'm wondering if we could get a couple at night before bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top