2/16 Haley PMPS 99, +2 59, +2.5 58

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/16 Haley AMPS 119, +2 97, +11 95

Haley seems to have done well on her own today. +11 was at 95. This .1u appears to be keeping her very stable. Wish I could see what her numbers were all day.
 
Re: 2/16 Haley AMPS 119, +2 97, +11 95

perfect. :smile:

I bet her numbers during the day were 80s and 90s. That seems to be her permanent range. It's a great permanent range. :smile:
 
Re: 2/16 Haley PMPS 99

Hey everyone... I'm going out to buy some fancy feast as Haley is pretty much refusing to eat the Purina DM stuff the vet recommended. She's been off the dry food for a couple days now but I had to give her some tonight so I could give her the insulin shot.

Any recommendations?

Should I just follow this list?:
Gluten Free
 
Re: 2/16 Haley PMPS 99

You won't find any of the FF varieties up here in Canada. Just a couple that are on Binky's list are available up here. Make sure you really really pay attention to the labels to make sure you are getting the right one.

Here's the list - there is one for Canada. FF isn't on there.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm

The Walmart special kitty "Classic Entrees (Walmart)" is the small 3oz cans. Not the 5oz cans - they are different. Maverick is doing great on Turkey and Giblet from Walmart. He is an extremely picky eater and won't eat any of the high end foods.

I can't believe how well Haley's numbers are and shooting a 99 already. Impressive!!!
 
Re: 2/16 Haley PMPS 99, +2 59

Haley is pretty low right now? +2 is 59. I don't think she ate much during the day today. I did get her to eat a small meal of dry food before her shot.

Should we react to this or just monitor for now.
 
Re: *LOW +2* 2/16 Haley PMPS 99, +2 59

Get a test at +2.5.

FYI: A meter can read "low" -- it would be a reading probably below 30. Posting "Low" in your subject line is going to get people running to your condo.
 
how about feeding a couple tsp of low carb wet food and testing in 30 minutes. She's on a tiny dose of insulin so she's ok, we just want to see where this is going.
 
hmmm. well, look at it this way...
you might lose a little beauty sleep tonight, but with any luck, this will be the last night. feed her some lc wet now and get another test in 60 - 90 minutes tops. can't sleep thru the alarm. she needs to be checked in case she starts to drop again.

i'd skip the shot in the morning. i've had reservations about her needing insulin from the start. it looks very much to me like the insulin has been pushing the numbers up. let's see what she can do on her own.

going forward, try not to feed much, if any dry food. stick to the low carb wet foods. post what would be your preshot number in the morning and evening.
 
ps --- adding to the above...
this is the first time we've seen the effects of a consistent dose for 3 cycles in a row and that dose is the "last dose" (0.1u).
look how it's dropped her already... and that's after you fed her a small dry food meal before her shot!
i really think withholding insulin and starting an OTJ trial is the way to go.
 
Here are the OTJ trial instructions:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If she is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then her pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give her the support she needs.

Good luck!
 
Haley is 74 @ +5

Thank you all again for all the help and advice. As I'm sure you know this can be stressful and complicated at first. I've often wondered if that last steroid injection didn't trigger all her recent medical issues (it is when all this started a couple months ago).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top