? 2/16-Flame-AMPS=275, PMPS=361 , +3.75=291 - Dose question/Phos binder question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-encouragement-thank-you.173214/#post-1896895

Good morning everyone,

Feeling a little better this morning. Thank you all again for holding me up yesterday.

He did eat both of his meals yesterday with the binder. You can tell he's not crazy about it and is a bit reluctant to eat it, but he's hungry so he eventually eats it. He picks and nibbles all day and overnight but bowl was empty when I got home from work yesterday and again when I woke up this AM.

This morning I took some Halo Liv a Littles chicken treats and put some of the powder on top and that enticed him to eat. When I left for work, he'd eaten about a half can of his FF.

He came out of the pink from last nite (thank goodness). Today was his second to last dose of Pred. He'll get one more dose on Saturday and then will be done. Please keep those vines and prayers coming that is breathing continues to be under control without the Pred!!

I know he probably needs more insulin, but I'm nervous about increasing until I see what his body does when there is NO pred in his system. I normally don't like to increase during the week when I'm not around to monitor, so I usually wait till Thurs nite or Friday AM to increase. Not sure what to do.

Hope all the kitties and beans have a good day! Surf safely kitties!! Prayers and vines to all who need them today!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm glad Flame is feeling better and eating, even if he's not crazy about it. I'm not sure what to suggest about increasing if you're wanting to wait for the pred to be finished. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

What happened with the squirrel?
 
What happened with the squirrel?

Hey Carla,
Well, we had a quiet couple of days after the exit trap was installed and then yesterday afternoon, my son called me and said he was hearing scratching again. UGH!! Called the exterminator, he said he was out to check the exit trap earlier and didn't see any way for them to get back in, but don't think he got up on the ladder or anything. We may have to go to plan b - cut sheets of plywood thin enough (maybe 23" or so) to slide up there to create a temporary "floor" so someone can get up there.
The saga continues!!! :arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
So I guess it wasn't just one number last nite. Second nite in a row his PMPS was in the 300s. Not happy cause I don't know what's causing this. HATE when I'm not home during the week to monitor!! I don't really think he's bouncing, although I guess that's possible cause I have no idea how low he went during the day. But, he's also not prone to big drops. I'd blame it on the Pred, but he didn't get Pred yesterday and it happened. He did get 1.25mg Pred today. Any ideas folks?

The only thing that's changed in the past couple days is adding the binder to his food. Anybody know if aluminum hydroxide can cause BG to spike? Not likely but thought I'd ask.

So, his last dose of Pred is on this coming Saturday. I'm hesitant to do a dosecrease now since I don't know how his body will react when he comes completely off the pred but I don't especially like his numbers either - and the unexplained spikes to 300s again. Don't like to increase during the week when I'm not home to test, so I normally increase on Thurs nite/Friday AM when I can see what he's doing with the new dose over the weekend. That gives him at least 6 - 7 cycles when I can be around to test him. What do you all think? Hold this dose for one more week or take the chance with an increase this weekend?

Hope everyone is having a good day so far!! Thanks for any advice, opinions!!
 
If you're wanting to see how Flame does without the pred, and you don't want to increase during the week when you can't monitor (I didn't like to do that either), it looks like you'll have to hold the dose for another week.
 
I think that you should leave the dose where it is for now. When he gets adjusted to not having the pred., then you'll have a better picture. Also, he is eating the food with the binder, but apparently reluctantly. That might be a factor also. Give hime some more time to settle in.

Good luck with the squirrel!

Hugs, scritches,
 
Oh, forgot to update on the binder. He's now eating the food with the binder in it. I'm glad I backed off on the dose at first to get him used to it. Also, Marje's idea to crumble some freeze dried chicken on top seems to work!! He's hungry tonite. Gave him a can of FF chicken and he's eaten almost the whole can already. I usually like to leave him some food overnight in case he does drop a bit and feels the need to nibble, but I already gave him the binder in the can of food he's eating now. Not sure if I should / could give more binder if I left another 1/4 - 1/2 can.

I have some of those FF Appetizers White Meat Chicken which only has 0.61 Phos and 1.30 carbs for overnight if he feels the need to nibble.
 
He came down a bit. Still seems hungry. Gave some FF appetizer for nibbles tonite.
See you all tomorrow...

Night nitght all...:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top