2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25 PMPS 330

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Just checked E and he dropped to 35. Fed him some hi carb food and waiting to check him again in 15 minutes. It what a roller coaster.

Going onto laptop now to update his SS.
 
Re: 2/17 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5!!!

I guess the dosecrease is too much! I hope you're able to coax those numbers up to a safe surf.
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5!!!

So if 3u wasn't getting him into the green and 3.25u is getting him too low then do I go back to the 3u and wait and hope it gets him where he needs to be over time?
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5!!!

Congrats on the reduction! Come up a bit and surf safely Elian. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5!!!

I'm not sure. I know that it can sometimes take kitty a little while to adjust to a new dose. I can't give advice here, so hopefully someone who can will answer that question for you.

Did you feed him HC, MC, or LC?
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

I gave him Fancy Feast grilled - hi carb, from what I understand. Brought him up to 57 within 20 minutes. Will test again shortly. My poor baby. I massaged some pain relief cream onto his over-poked little ears. :(
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5!!!

The 35 earns him a dose reduction. Sorry, if I don't keep up with all the condos, but why didn't you reduce his dose when he got the 38 two days ago? Just curious. Anyway, that 429 looks like what we call a "high before the break".

Please test again in about 20 to 25 minutes or so after eating. You want to make sure he's not continuing to go lower as you don't really want him in the 20s. The HC can take a good 30 minutes to affect his numbers, but hopefully you will see a slight rise. You did just feed him a little bit, right?
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Susie and Elian said:
I gave him Fancy Feast grilled - hi carb, from what I understand. Brought him up to 57 within 20 minutes. Will test again shortly. My poor baby. I massaged some pain relief cream onto his over-poked little ears. :(
If he's up to 57, then test again in 30 minutes. Be warned the HC can wear off, so don't get complacent. You'll want to test every 30 minutes for the next few tests. Sorry Elian's ears.
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Thanks Dyana - I will continue to test. He's feeling fine - ate and followed his brothers outside onto the patio for some fresh air. Since he remained so high after the previous drop to 38 Im pretty sure I was advised to UP the dose but only .25 not .5. Sure hope so and that I didnt make a mistake!!!!
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

I was going to click through your links to yesterdays posts to see what was advised on that day, but there is no link in your first post. I'll go hunting for your post..
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Hi Susie,

I think what happened last time is that after the 38 he went up high, so it was suggested that you stay at the same dose for one cycle. After an earned reduction a trick that people can do if the cat zooms up is to stay at the higher dose for one cycle to help work off the bounce. It's called "shooting through the bounce". You then take the deduction the following cycle. If the cat is still low for the PS after the reduction is earned, then you take the reduction right away.
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=88969&p=952925#p952925

Sienne and Gabby said:
If Elian bounces by his PMPS, then you can shoot your current dose. If he doesn't bounce, drop back to the 3.0u dose.

She meant to shoot your current dose if he bounces by PMPS, for that one cycle.

It's okay. His new dose will be 3.00 units.
If he bounces high tonight, you can shoot the 3.25 the one time to help get him through the bounce, then take the reduction in the morning. If he is not high tonight, then take the reduction to 3.00 units tonight.
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Sorry Susie If I wasn't clear on that one :oops: ...I forget how much it is to take in. Whenever E drops below 50 it's always a dose DEcrease but like Dyana said if he bounces high you can wait a cycle until the bounce clears to decrease him.

It IS maddening and frustrating and can be a super duper pain in the butt watching our kitties bounce and not understanding what's going on...but that takes time too and one day you will "get it". :idea: Really!
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

WHY CAN'T I "GET IT" NOW?!!!!! I feel so stupid. I've been reading and reading and just can't get it to sink in....how this all works. So he's now up to 72. I will continue to monitor him. But.....do I now go back to 3 units tonight and forget about 3.25? Do I stay at 3 and hope that that will be the dose to work it's magic on him? You can be sure he'll be back up into the 400's pmps. I don't see a pattern with him other than high amps and pmps and inconsistent the rest of the day and night. Or is there a pattern that I'm just not seeing? No excuse but I'm working my butt off; have my 83 year old mom staying with me so I'm taking care of her as well as my two daughters AND Elian and his3 brothers. Overwhelming at times but I do count my blessings every day because while my life as a single mom is stressful we are very lucky to have all that we have in our lives. And the best part is having my snugglebuddy Elian next to me every night when I go to bed and every morning when I wake up!!!!!
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Thanks Dyana - I will post here tonight before shooting to be sure I'm doing what's correct for him. He's always high at night and I'm pretty sure that tonight will be no different....even with the 35 today.
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Aw, Susie, don't be so hard on yourself! It is A LOT to take in, and sometimes we talk in a bit of short-hand here. It will sink in -- and you do have a bit of a challenging case in Elian with all the bouncing.

But just to reiterate and to help in the future, as a newly diagnosed kitty, ANYTIME he goes below 50, he has earned a .25 dose reduction -- YAY! Then you hold him at that dose for a little while -- if he goes below 50 on that dose, you reduce the dose by .25, and so on and so on. Sometimes that happens pretty quickly and you keep reducing and reducing.

The other stuff that was mentioned (shooting through the bounce) is a more advanced technique (not so much in technique but in understanding what is going on with you kitty).

So, yes, reduce to 3.0 units. You can either do that right away or wait for one cycle (that is, shoot 3.25 at his next shot, then reduce to 3.0 on the one after that).

Take it easy on yourself -- you're doing fine!
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Thank you Sarah - it is confusing. And since he has only been in the green a handful of times and is in the 300's and 400's the rest it makes it even more confusing for me!
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Ha, I remember that -- especially the first time Jack went from 300-something to 74. I was like, "I'm just getting the hang of all this testing, shooting, etc., etc., and worrying about numbers that are too high, and now I'm supposed to be worrying about numbers that are too low?!?" And you are dealing with both high and low -- it's a lot!

It does seem like you're seeing more green than you were, so that could be a good sign, and hopefully Elian's body will stop freaking out at the lower numbers and his cycles will "flatten out."

And just to remind you -- you are doing a great job with testing -- so good that you did the mid-cycle test and caught that low number!

And one more thing -- he's well-earned his first dose reduction -- that is great news, too! Worthy of some celebration, so don't lose sight of that. :)
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Susie and Elian said:
WHY CAN'T I "GET IT" NOW?!!!!! I feel so stupid. I've been reading and reading and just can't get it to sink in....how this all works. So he's now up to 72. I will continue to monitor him. But.....do I now go back to 3 units tonight and forget about 3.25? Do I stay at 3 and hope that that will be the dose to work it's magic on him? You can be sure he'll be back up into the 400's pmps. I don't see a pattern with him other than high amps and pmps and inconsistent the rest of the day and night. Or is there a pattern that I'm just not seeing? No excuse but I'm working my butt off; have my 83 year old mom staying with me so I'm taking care of her as well as my two daughters AND Elian and his3 brothers. Overwhelming at times but I do count my blessings every day because while my life as a single mom is stressful we are very lucky to have all that we have in our lives. And the best part is having my snugglebuddy Elian next to me every night when I go to bed and every morning when I wake up!!!!!

Because it's not that easy! You've only been at it for two months. It's hard to understand all that goes into play with the diabetes and the insulin, and the shed and the overlap and the pancreas and the liver...that's a lot to take in. For anyone!!!! (I don't completely understand it all I just know, after almost 4 years, that it "IS"). And unfortunately you have no control over it.

You have to wait to see if he bounces high or not by PMPS. If he's UP in the 400's you can give him 3.25 tonight just to help him down from the bounce but you need to go back to 3.0 in the morning. I'd say 400 or under, give him 3.00 tonight. That's my opinion anyway. One day at at a time. He may or may not be back at 3.25 next week :roll:

(Oh he has patterns alright. He is very sensitive to new doses. He drops really early in the cycle with them. He bounces high, hard and pretty long and drops the same way. When he's not doing that his nadir appears to be pretty much mid cycle but so far he doesn't seem to be comfortable mid-anything else. It may not be a great pattern but it's a pattern and hopefully his body-Mr. P and Mr. L- will start working with the insulin soon and not against it an we'll start seeing more yellow and blue instead of only red pink and green) Have Faith Susie Have Faith :-D
 
Re: 2/16 Elian amps 429; 291 +2.5; 35 +5; 57 +5.25

Thanks Caryl - I have faith. And I'm really just taking it one day at a time. Not freaking out.... yet! Just want him to be healthy and happy. :-(

Just did his PMPS - he's at 330. So I'll take him back to 3 units and test more tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top