2/16 DAVIDSON +4 88 +8.5 78

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi..........

Question - I dropped Davidson's dose the other day and just wondering if he drops to <50 do I still reduce the dose or do I leave him on this dose for 5-7 days? He's been under 100 since the reduction and if this continues I'm not sure if I follow the same protocol

Thanks and hope you all had a great Sunday!

Shawna
 
if he stays between 50-120 for a week, yes, you reduce by .25

The other way they can earn reductions (other than dropping below 50) is to stay in normal numbers for a week
 
Yes, "normal" numbers are between 50-120...that's why if he can stay in normal numbers for 7 days, he will "earn" a reduction of .25

Some cats will end up going OTJ because they consistently stay in normal numbers, even though you're reducing the insulin.

Oh, FYI - NORMAL is just a setting on a dryer

I know that using the word "Normal" when it comes to anything feline isn't really accurate :lol: :lol:
 
sometimes if an opportunity for reduction is right after one has been taken, we might suggest you hold the dose and not take that second reduction. When a dose is reduced the depot has to readjust to the new dose. A larger dose = a larger depot built up in the body. So when a dose is reduced, the previous dose's depot might still be influencing numbers for up to 6 cycles. The influence might be less the farther you get away from the previous dose.

So . . . as an example. since you reduced the dose last night, if you'd then gotten a 48 today, i might've suggested that it was still yesterday's dose influencing the numbers today and thought it would be a good idea to hold the current dose. if there were 5 cycles in between one reduction and the next low number, then maybe it would be far enough away from the old bigger dose to take the reduction.

kinda depends on the rest of the picture. But i think this is what you're asking about. Kind of Davidson to be straightforward for us, however, and not make us scratch our heads and work out any hard decisions. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top