2/16 Chyna +5.5 43 +6 54 +6.5 59 +7 47 +8 187

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good morning :-D Yawn. I had a btb but still feel like I could use some more sleep! I must be coming down with something @-) . Thanks for visiting us last night, Marje, Tricia, Wendy and Deborah! Chyna is surprising me by still being yellow and showing some blue after that skip. Yesterday: Chyna 2/15

Last night I didn't have the heart to get up and poke Chyna again :sad: . I could not get her to purr and she wagged her tail at me while I rubbed ears, gave her nanner to her, and fed her. But this morning when I got up at 3:40am, she was in the middle of the hallway floor (a foot away from the autofeeder) purring while I petted her. Waiting for her 4am meal :lol: . And this morning still purring while looking a little annoyed at pokes still got up and came toward me :-D. It's weird when she doesn't purr, as she almost always does.

She had two giant poos yesterday morning (of course, she was facing the wrong way with her bum just out of the litter box) and it hit the just washed mat. UGH :? . Oh, well, at least we had poo :roll: . Maybe I need to try that rubbermaid long container...Then she did a few more smaller ones in the evening...must have been cleaning out as the last few days were sparse. I have no doubt the subqs helped along with the bit of oil I gave. Everything else seems ok but her left eye is still watering, and she is still licking her lips quite a bit and I'm wondering if she needs anti-nausea meds.

I am supposed to go for brunch/lunch with a friend who said to text her once I got a +2 but she hasn't got back to me and I'm starving...I'm not sure if I should eat! :o I guess I'll go shower and if I don't hear from her by then I'll just eat something...have a nice day, LL!
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295

Yay for poo, even if it ended up on the mat. At least Chyna was in the lb. I hope she slides down today and her eye stops watering.
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295

Poo is good even it missed the right spot. Enjoy your lunch if it works out. You could use a little break.
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295

I would take poo anywhere NEAR the litter box! Willie will use the lb to #1, but #2s wherever he feels like in the basement. DBF is NOT amused. I told him that when he was 126, he would get to poo wherever he wants too. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hope you were able to make it brunch. Now you have me thinking I'm hungry.... Come on down, Chyna! too close to stinky pinky!!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295

So today you're the one centering your condo on poo! :lol: :lol: At least I finished breakfast before I read it. ;-)

Chyna is again sounding like Cinco - hanging the butt over the edge of the box! I resorted to the giant box, Petmate Giant Litter Box to eliminate that problem, and it worked very well, except the time the poo came out of the box still attached to his butt! :o

Hope you got to go to your brunch, and I hope you are NOT coming down with something! Sending vines, just in case! :-D
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220

Hi Rachel,
I'm glad Chyna got her puurs back today. :-D
And not a bad cycle after the skip!
I hope Chyna isn't nauseated and also that you are not coming down with something.

I use the litter box Tricia uses too, and I love it.
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220

Thanks for visiting guys! I didn't make brunch, my friend couldn't make it to town :sad: . I just pulled out the slippery elm bark, to see if that helps the licking lips...

-Thanks Carla, there is a little bit of sliding. I'm glad we have lots of poo! :lol:

-Hi Catherine, thanks, yes, at least she was trying to be in the right place :-D

-Sorry Christie, didn't mean to make you hungry...I'm happy Chyna was at least in the box! You have a point on the old age ;-)

-Hey Tricia, I know, right? I figured it was time to go on about poo :lol: . The litter box I use is 22" long and has a really high end to it as Chyna is a stand up pee-er...I'm guessing from arthritis. That is a big box...how long is the actual litter part, and is it very high? I wonder if Chyna would have trouble getting in with her arthritis...I may just get one of those big storage plastic containers and cut a entryway like the ones on Dr. Lisas site :-D Amazon.com often costs a lot to ship here...our pet stores that we have here are really pathetic when it comes to what they stock for boxes. I special ordered the last one from somewhere in Canada but don't remember where...will have to look around. She usually gets it all in the box :lol:

Thanks Mariko, I'll take yellow over the higher floors anyday, especially with the skip! I still hear some purrs so that is a good thing :razz:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220

Rachel:

It's lower on one side than the other. The curved side is 8" high and the straight side is 10". Cinco stands up, too, and so far he has not peed or pooed over the edge (anti-jinx). I was concerned about his getting in and out, with his neuopathy in the back legs, but he has no problem. The actual litter box part is 26" long and 17" wide at it's widest point. There are other places that sell it, but you want to be sure you get the Petmate brand. I bought mine at Petsmart, but they are now selling a cheaper version that I hear is flimsy. This one is VERY sturdy. My only complaint about it is that there are no liners that fit it, so I have to scrub it when it's time to change the litter, and Cinco's pee is part glue! :o :lol:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220

Hi Rachel!

Sorry about the missed brunch date...I'm finding cancellations are the normal while the weather is less than ideal.
I was just at Dyana and JD's condo and she is using pee pads just outside the litter box...that might be a good option to protect your rug. I know with the kits here, a couple of them just 'like' to back into the corner of the box and often (more often than not actually) end up voiding #1 or #2 on the floor. I have large rubber mats under the pans because I tried the larger boxes...and no luck for me :? :lol:

Hope you're having a good evening!
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220

Poo is awesome and outside the box never counts, especially when a kitty has the best of intentions! A pokey break is a good idea sometimes ... I give Trix a break when I know for sure she's in safe numbers. They do so much to help us with all this, it's the least we can do for them!

I hope your not catching the LL cold... I can tell you, it doesn't like to let go. Get some more rest so it doesn't get you too!
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220

Chyna what a day! I am also glad you pooped! :-D

Rachel I bought 10 of those flimsy petsmart litter sleds and they break when I try to move them full of litter the good part is if your litter is stationary they are long and my stand up kitty has no over the top problems. They are also 24 bucks which is nt cheap for something that doesn't last long. I am glad to hear about the petmate one's.

Keep it up Chyna!
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220 PMPS 267

Hi again everyone:)

Tricia, thanks for the measurements. I did find it on amazon.ca...but I saw another few that looked interesting too :cool: . This only happens once in awhile, she usually goes the other direction and there is a big mat there but I may try a new one (once I have some cash, hopefully in a tax return!)

Thanks Kim, weather sucks for trying to make plans :lol: . The litter box I have now is really high backed so no more pee on the carpet, she usually pees facing out...my old box was terrible, it was hinged and the pee just came flying through the middle section between the two parts of the box onto my carpet and wall, blech. It's just the occasional poo that she doesn't quite hit the inside for and faces the other direction to do for some reason :roll: ...good thing I have a mat :lol: .

HI Amy! Yep any poo counts. I feel like Chyna isn't liking her bean much this weekend...too many pokies. So she looked like a "normal" cycle when I went to bed which was good! I hope you're feeling better tonight:)

Thanks Linda, no that is not cheap! I hope you can get the one Tricia mentioned :-D

I think I am going to go watch a movie on my DVR...the lone ranger looks good? And I like Johnny Depp ;-)
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220 PMPS 267

Rachel,
I put a "stepper" right in front of the box, and it's much easier for Lucy to get in and out.
I now use this kind of flat corrugated cardboard scratcher as a stepper because my cats don't even think it's a scratcher.
But two empty cat canned food case with a phone book inside worked fine too.
The corrugated scratcher was supposed to be a temporary stepper until I find something more appropriate, but I quite like it now because it catches the litter pretty well!!
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220 PMPS 267

Good luck with the litterbox thing. Rusty has one of the PetMate hi-backs and it is very good (it's a BIG box and made in Texas!). We got it for him when he came to live with us because we were told that he needed the hi-back. As it turned out, he is fine with any shape and size of litterbox and his other litterbox at home is a conventional size with the collar. He is proud of his litterboxes and treats them with great respect and accuracy, even the tiny one we travel with in the car. We use Worlds' Best Litter and I think it is the greatest. No smell ever, easy on a cat's feet, and easy to scoop. And I only have to replace it once a month (of course, we are a single-cat household).

Nice flat yellow today, Chyna.

Rachel, the US holiday on Monday is "Presidents' Day". Back in the day there were 2 holidays in Feb.: Lincoln's Birthday and Washington's Birthday. They were "merged" and made into a Monday holiday. Now, of course, hardly anyone can remember the real dates!

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220 PMPS 267

I see a very yellow day for Miss Chyna. Not too shabby. How about you slide on down into the blues tonight...ok?! YAY for poopy, boo for missing the LB. :oops: Sorry to hear about missing out on brunch. Hope you were able to get something in your belly, though. Sleep well and give your little purry girl some scritches from me. :smile:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna AMPS 287 +2 295 +6 220 PMPS 267

Enough with the yellows Chyna. I know every cat needs a rest every once in a while, but it's time to head to the blue floor again.

I hope you are having a great evening Rachel, and don't find any bombs outside the box for a while.
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65

ACK :o . I wasn't expecting the bedtime test to be this! Feeding LC for now...guess it's a good thing I'm off tomorrow...

Thanks Mariko, that is interesting and I will have to look for it!
Hi Ella, good to know which holiday you have:) I haven't tried worlds best litter but thought about it, we tried several of the higher end ones but use precious cat right now and I like it for no dust :-D
Deborah, thanks, she skipped the blues and went straight down! I always manage to find fuds for myself :lol:
Wendy, she got tierd of rest apparently, for both of us...eeeek. I hope its a surf now, and not a dive! :shock:

I guess I may be hosting the PJ party I teased Tricia about...geez Chyna, give a bean a happy medium...
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65

I see what it is: we didn't have a party and Chyna was all dressed up and no place to go, so she decided to throw the party herself! Chyna, I know you've developed a fondness for late night drama, but I really think you need to give it a rest. Mama needs some shut eye tonight, so why don't you come up a bit and surf the rest of the night for her? Please?
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44

Yikes!! :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Up Chyna please! Congrats on the reduction. I guess that flat yellow really meant something. :cool:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44

OMG Chyna, we JUST did a skipped shot and a reducie 2 nights ago! :shock: . Should I just drop her down to like, 2 units and see what happens?
I'm scared to death she'll do this when I'm working :sad:

Thanks for visiting, Catherine and Tricia. I want her in green and all, but mid to high green! :o

(and hi Wendy, you posted same time as me! is it a reducie if it's not under 40?)
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44

I'd do a reducie. It wasn't under 40, but she did it just 4 cycles after a skip which tells me that she wants less insulin. I don't think I'd drop her down to 2 units. When Neko was going down fast and furious after her SRT, we were getting a lot of back to back reductions, but I still went down the regular amounts. Of course, Neko was kind enough to do most of them at night. :roll: If you are worried about what happens when you go back to work, you could try a 1U reduction, but you might have to go back up again. She's got some great momentum going now.
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44

Thanks Wendy. If only I could not have to work :lol: . It just scares me she could do this while I'm gone, if only I knew that she'd just do it at night...this is crazy.
I'll do a reducie for sure...I just don't know what to do for amount and work :oops: :sad: . What is an SRT?
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44

SRT is Stereostatic Radiation Therapy. Neko's acromegaly is a tumor on the pituitary gland and we had the radiation treatment done on it. It neuters the tumor cells. That tumor is what sends out the excess growth hormones and causes Neko's diabetes.

I agree that Chyna's not being very predictable right now. Especially hard if you can't get a +2 before going to work. You have to do what you think will keep her safe. :YMHUG: It's always better to err on the side of caution.
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44 +5.5 43

Ouchie, poor Neko. I'm glad she has such a good bean! :-D

The first time round was a lot less of this, never bounced, never dove (well, a few times, but not like this or this low! :o ). I just can't figure out a shot schedule that I could even get a +1 (which probably wouldn't tell me much) and still be home from work in time for evening shot time...I may try the 1u reducie just to see what she does with it...
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna PMPS 267 +4 65 +5 44 +5.5 43 +6 54

Wow, Chyna, what the heck are you doing? I know mama has a four day weekend, but do you really have to keep her up every night? You earned another reducie, so now it's time to call the party over and get back to normal, sweetie. Come on up a ways like a good girl, please! You skipped right over the blue floor, and Cinco was waiting there to talk to you about your ice dancing triumph! He's still there - you can catch him if you hurry!

Poor Rachel, I'm so sorry you're having to deal with all this drama. I hope she comes to her senses and surf safely the rest of the night. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna +5 44 +5.5 43 +6 54 +6.5 59

It may be awhile before we see blue...ugh. I'm really tierd. I'm trying the not feed/test in half hour now. She meowed really loud and mad during and after the last poke :sad: . The guy who rents my basement suite probably thinks I'm killing her :oops: . So I sat on the floor and had a good brushing session...now I have to tick her off again in 10 minutes... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna +5 44 +5.5 43 +6 54 +6.5 59

I know what you mean. Isn't it awful that we have to be so cruel to them and can't explain it? I'm sure Cinco thinks of me as that lady that keeps coming and torturing him all day! :sad: If it isn't ear pokes it's eye drops. I try to make a point of going in and just petting him a couple times every day, so he knows I don't ALWAYS do bad things to him! :YMSIGH:

Come on, Chyna. Fun's over. Move along now. The blue floor is this way :arrow:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna +5 44 +5.5 43 +6 54 +6.5 59 +7 47

Well, the no feed for half hour and see didn't work...so I pulled out the syrup and mixed with HC. I don't even know what to do anymore...she cried and meowed and I am having trouble getting a sample of blood, my eyes are bleary...and I feel like the worst, meanest bean ever :cry:
 
Re: 2/16 Chyna +5 44 +5.5 43 +6 54 +6.5 59 +7 47

Oh Rachel, you are the best bean, not the worst! If you were the worst, not only would you not be staying up all night making sure she's safe, but you wouldn't care so much about how upset she is. Hang in there. I'm sure she'll come up for you soon.

Sending movin' on up vines! And hugs. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Thanks Tricia...I'm glad someone was up with me :smile: . I know this jump is from the syrup an hour ago, but I'm hoping it continues up. I'm leaving out some HC mixed with LC, I just need to get some sleep...
 
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Wow, Chyna is on a a mission! And yes, you are the best bean. Chyna knows that, too...I hope you were able to get some rest.
 
Oh Rachel,

You poor thing, but yippee on another reducie! I am glad you were off for this drama. You are the best bean :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
I hope you get a nice, long nap soon!
 
Hi Rachel,
It was a rough night for you and Chyna. I hope the reducie will get things back to manageable. Don't forget that Chyna's shed will have to reduce, too, and it may take a day or so, during which you have to stay super on top of things.
Get some sleep this morning!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top