2/16 Asia +7 131 PMPS 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-asia-pmps-130-3-125-4-125.191188/

Last night was first full cycle of Lev sans a bounce. Observations so far: onset at +3, pretty even with a noticeable dip +6 to +8 ish. No stinging!!! None! :cat:

Now I have to figure how to adjust feeding schedule since I loaded her up in the front half with most of her food and a couple snacks thrown in later in the cycle. If I front loaded food with how Lev is working, she'd have a huge food bump to compensate for. Figuring this out.

Asia is status quo so far today, snoozy morning, she's hot because although it's pleasant mid 50s outside and our radiators are off , someone in this building thinks heat is needed and all the pipes are warm enough to make it tropical in here. Windows are open, but can't open them more than a hair less cat head height because bad things would happen with Toki and her daredevil ways.
 
Does Lev usually sting? Or is it that the lantus was stinging her?
Good luck with figuring out the foods!
Lantus can sting because it's in an acidic base (low pH). Some cats aren't bothered by it though. Lev's base is different and doesn't cause stinging. That's why owners of high dose cats often make the switch, among other reasons.
 
Doodles was so much better on Lev and it was clear Lantus was stinging him. Glad there is no more flinching with Asia. I fed Doodles PS, +4, +8 on Levemir and of course anywhere in between when needed. You free feed but sure you'll figure out what's best for Asia.
 
Doodles was so much better on Lev and it was clear Lantus was stinging him. Glad there is no more flinching with Asia. I fed Doodles PS, +4, +8 on Levemir and of course anywhere in between when needed. You free feed but sure you'll figure out what's best for Asia.

Did it sting Doodles even at lower doses? That's what surprised me, it's such a tiny amount, you wouldn't think it would be a big deal. I'm really liking it so far, too soon to say it's gentler and more even definitively, but it sure seems that way already.

We have acid tummy to contend with so I'm thinking PS, +3, +6, +9 and more little snacks in there if she's dropping in the latter half of the cycle. Tricky thing is, she gets a +9 overnight and it probably puts the breaks on a bit, sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't, but she needs a tiny something to keep the hungry puke from happening.
 
Did it sting Doodles even at lower doses
It did when we started going back up in dose but don't recall exactly when. I couldn't get a vet to prescribe Lev so it went on way to long.

We have acid tummy to contend with so I'm thinking PS, +3, +6, +9 and more little snacks in there if she's dropping in the latter half of the cycle
Sounds like a good starting point. :)
 
Well I'm glad Asia is on Lev now, I will make it my personal mission to use her SS and experience with it to convince the vets in our world that it's a great choice for cats, hopefully they will agree and tell all their vet friends too. I'm not sure why so many are reluctant to prescribe it. I've heard it's pretty powerful in dogs and a little goes a very long way (so it's not an option for small dogs), maybe vet's apply that same thinking towards cats and are just fearful to give it a go since cats are smaller?
 
I showed off Neko's Lev SS to vets too. Who knows if I converted anyone, her regular vet was still on the Caninsulin band wagon. :rolleyes:

Loving the blues today and last night's classic Lev cycle. :cool::D Neko had a +9 snack on Lantus, which became more of a meal on Lev. 9-+12 was her typical nadir so feeding then didn't impact the duration. The rest of her meals remained roughly the same time, just the amounts tweaked. She was such a traditionalist when it came to meal times. :cat: If Asia's nadir is +8 (maybe, sort of, not enough data yet), then her +3 and +6 could have more food than the +9.
 
I showed off Neko's Lev SS to vets too. Who knows if I converted anyone, her regular vet was still on the Caninsulin band wagon. :rolleyes:

Loving the blues today and last night's classic Lev cycle. :cool::D Neko had a +9 snack on Lantus, which became more of a meal on Lev. 9-+12 was her typical nadir so feeding then didn't impact the duration. The rest of her meals remained roughly the same time, just the amounts tweaked. She was such a traditionalist when it came to meal times. :cat: If Asia's nadir is +8 (maybe, sort of, not enough data yet), then her +3 and +6 could have more food than the +9.

I can't for the life of me figure how vets can read a lot of the current literature and still prescribe Caninsulin for cats! I think some doctors in general have favorites, or drugs they are comfortable using and will prescribe those over others that may be a better fit.

I love it too! Lev doesn't feel like a thrill ride! She probably will need a wee increase at some point, but even still, it's only been a couple days and it's already looking way more predictable than most days on Lantus. Very, very happy about that and I'm sure she is too, I can't imagine the thrill ride it felt like in her body! And I don't want to say this too loud because I don't have enough data and I don't want to jinx but...Asia hasn't been irritable at night so far either. Shhh! Maybe because Lantus was so crazy in her at night she knew what was coming at injection time and wasn't pleased about it?

I don't think I'll have much luck moving her food times either, I will likely have to move food quantities around. +9 "meals" have always been a nod to a meal more than anything, just to have something in her tummy. She eats around the clock, so it should not be too hard to tweak quantities without disappointing her.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-15-asia-pmps-130-3-125-4-125.191188/

Last night was first full cycle of Lev sans a bounce. Observations so far: onset at +3, pretty even with a noticeable dip +6 to +8 ish. No stinging!!! None! :cat:

Now I have to figure how to adjust feeding schedule since I loaded her up in the front half with most of her food and a couple snacks thrown in later in the cycle. If I front loaded food with how Lev is working, she'd have a huge food bump to compensate for. Figuring this out.

Asia is status quo so far today, snoozy morning, she's hot because although it's pleasant mid 50s outside and our radiators are off , someone in this building thinks heat is needed and all the pipes are warm enough to make it tropical in here. Windows are open, but can't open them more than a hair less cat head height because bad things would happen with Toki and her daredevil ways.

Wow, the change to lev produced dramatic results. Nice going, Asia.

Maybe your neighbors grew up in the tropics?
 
Wow, the change to lev produced dramatic results. Nice going, Asia.

Maybe your neighbors grew up in the tropics?

I like to say the change in Lev produced amazing, but a lot less dramatic results...so far anyway. ;)

Haha! Maybe they did. I certainly don't like to be cold, but 85 degrees indoors is a bit much for me. :p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top