2/16/20 Claudio No AMPS Test, 287 +2, 242+9, 327 PMPS

Susan & Claudio

Member Since 2019
Couldn't get him out from under the bed. He absolutely refused to budge. So no AMPS. But when he came out to eat half hour later, I grabbed him for his shot. And back under the bed he went. Hoping to get a + 6 and a + 10 during the night.
 
It's really important to get a preshot test. If Claudio happens to be low and you shoot his normal dose, you could have an interesting cycle. Many people associate the tests and shots with treats. With Freckles, she eats a freeze dried chicken treat while I'm testing her. She associates the test with food, so it's not a big deal. I also test and give her shots in the bathroom.
 
I know the importance of the preshot test. But there are times that he is already under my bed when I wake up. I cannot physically get to him when he's under there. He usually comes out after 30-45 minutes to eat. Then I shoot. Only have this problem in the morning.
I have no problem testing any other time of the day. And he shows zero interest in treats now. Used to be able to use sardines as treats, but now, nope. After the test, he'll just sit there next to me. So go figure.
 
Tried that. He runs back under as soon as he sees me. I've learned not to be in the room when he eats. Otherwise he won't eat. He comes into the living room when he's finished eating. Then he's fine the rest of the day.
Guess he's not a morning type of cat.
 
Monsieur Claudio is a tricky one! :cat: I wonder if dividing up his breakfast into two mini breakfasts (one in his room by himself, and the other mini breakfast when he comes out into the living room and eat next to you) might work?
 
Good thinking there Judy ;). I just hope he comes out before his food kicks in. That's my mission for the next time he wants to play hide and no seek, lol.
 
Only sort of related, how is Claudio's weight doing on 8 oz of raw a day? My 14+ lb girl Neko got 4 oz of raw a day and maintained her weight. Just wondering if he needs to be a bit more food motivated to come out from under the bed.
 
Good thinking there Judy ;). I just hope he comes out before his food kicks in. That's my mission for the next time he wants to play hide and no seek, lol.
Ms. Freckles is a challenging cat too... but in a different way. We've had to put baby latches on all of the cupboards (lower and upper), bungee chord around the garbage can, and a huge cutting board to cover the sink - I HATE being outsmarted by a cat so I was on a mission too!! lol

Looks like you are up for the challenge. Maybe blocking so he can't get under the bed? Sleeping at night in a different room (without hiding spots) so you can snag morning tests and give shots. Just brainstorming here with you...
 
Tried that. He runs back under as soon as he sees me. I've learned not to be in the room when he eats. Otherwise he won't eat. He comes into the living room when he's finished eating. Then he's fine the rest of the day.
Guess he's not a morning type of cat.


Sounds like you might benefit from reconditioning him to tolerate that AM test eventually
Maybe you could set up to test, randomly during the day when he is out, go through the motions of testing, but NOT test and give him a reward- maybe up the ante on the reward and find something new. My guy likes broiled chicken or some baby food most times. It might help lower some of that initial reaction in the AM of him remembering what time it is and not wanting to participate. Don't really blame him - he sounds like a smarty :)
I definitely doesn't seem like a big deal now, but I remember once when I needed to stall and then retest. With my cat and with him hiding from me it made for a stressful morning - mostly for me but :confused:
 
Wendy & Neko
Only sort of related, how is Claudio's weight doing on 8 oz of raw a day? My 14+ lb girl Neko got 4 oz of raw a day and maintained her weight. Just wondering if he needs to be a bit more food motivated to come out from under the bed.

He is maintaining his weight. Just weighed him 2 days ago. He's still 15 lbs. That's where I get confused. Others say their cats are eating and eating, but losing weight. Claudio has been getting a total of 8 oz a day for the past 2 years and hasn't lost any weight. He's not food motivated. I'll find something that will do the trick. Weird part is, this isn't every morning. But it's the third time in 2 weeks. And it's only in the morning. Rest of the day he's okay with the testing. When I can do a AMPS he's been in the middle 300's. And his overnight tests have been in the yellows and blues. So I'm not totally panicking, yet. But hopefully he'll be in the 200's soon. Guess I'll be sleeping on the couch and closing the bedroom door now. Nowhere to hide in the living room.
 
Judy and Freckles
Ms. Freckles is a challenging cat too... but in a different way. We've had to put baby latches on all of the cupboards (lower and upper), bungee chord around the garbage can, and a huge cutting board to cover the sink - I HATE being outsmarted by a cat so I was on a mission too!! lol

Oh My !! If I didn't know better, I'd think you're baby proofing for a 2 year old :D. The things you do for a cat, lol. You'd think he'd realize that his attempts are futile and give up.
 
Judy and Freckles
Ms. Freckles is a challenging cat too... but in a different way. We've had to put baby latches on all of the cupboards (lower and upper), bungee chord around the garbage can, and a huge cutting board to cover the sink - I HATE being outsmarted by a cat so I was on a mission too!! lol

Oh My !! If I didn't know better, I'd think you're baby proofing for a 2 year old :D. The things you do for a cat, lol. You'd think he'd realize that his attempts are futile and give up.
LOL Her appetite is voracious. Until we started insulin she was losing weight but eating everything in sight including: caramel popcorn (put away in upper cupboard), bread dough (rising on the stove), and even toast out of the toaster! Her poor little body wasn't able to use the energy from the food and she was literally starving. With the insulin, she's gained her weight back and is looking and feeling much better. Her appetite is still very 'good' but I'm no longer worried that she is going to take down the 45lb border collie dog for an afternoon snack! lol
 
Si am cat mom
Don't really blame him - he sounds like a smarty

Yeah, a smarty pants.
I definitely doesn't seem like a big deal now, but I remember once when I needed to stall and then retest. With my cat and with him hiding from me it made for a stressful morning - mostly for me

Once I get the 1st test done, he cooperates the rest of the day. It's just getting that 1st one. And yes. The stress is greater on us. I've explained numerous mornings to him why this needs to be done. All I get is " la la la. I can't hear you".
 
Judy & Freckles
With the insulin, she's gained her weight back and is looking and feeling much better. Her appetite is still very 'good' but I'm no longer worried that she is going to take down the 45lb border collie dog for an afternoon snack! lol

Glad she's feeling better and gaining weight. As for snacking on the dog, lmao. Too funny !!
 
Back
Top