2/16 +14 245 - Jezebel

Status
Not open for further replies.

morrieb1

Member Since 2013
Hi all,

On Lantus for one month was 1 BID, vet changed dose 2 wks ago to 1 unit AM only - probably due to low +12 numbers. I've run a curve today, have 245 at +14 and if she runs true to form it will be about 350 for the AMPS.

I wanted to ask you folks to take a look at her curve (done today) and her history (just started testing this week) - and let me know if I should start shooting PM and what dose - was going to wait till tomorrow, but looking at this # - should I shoot now - and if so, how much?

Thanks,
Em
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Welcome to lantus land!!

I think sienne posted dosing info on your post on health...http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view...ng syringes if an adjustment is in order. Em
 
I will let the experienced dosing members comment but I think sienne said to start on 0.75iu twice a day. Starting tomorrow is fine.

Also we don't recommend you feed in the two hours before the shot because it will inflate the blood glucose numbers when you do the preshot test.. Feed at shot time. So it would be test, shoot and then feed.

Wendy
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
I will let the experienced dosing members comment but I think sienne said to start on 0.75iu twice a day. Starting tomorrow is fine.

Also we don't recommend you feed in the two hours before the shot because it will inflate the blood glucose numbers when you do the preshot test.. Feed at shot time. So it would be test, shoot and then feed.

Wendy


Thanks Wendy - I'll go with .75 in the morning then....I feed with the shot (right at the start because she's distracted) and then I'll try to test her at +6 - I've only got one ear working and she's been pincushion girl today so I want to take it easy on her tomorrow. Poor dear is "tolerating" but definitely not enjoying all the poking....

Em
 
Make sure you always give a treat, even if unsuccessful.. And spend time pettin and touching the ears even when not testing and give a treat then too so she doesn't always think you are only going near her to test.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Make sure you always give a treat, even if unsuccessful.. And spend time pettin and touching the ears even when not testing and give a treat then too so she doesn't always think you are only going near her to test.

Yep - got all that..she gets grilled chicken pieces as a reward .We test on the computer desk and she happens to be up here now, its her favorite hangout....She just doesn't like having her head held still - and if I don't, she just can't help shaking the drop off. Today was just a whole lot of testing, including her patience :).

Thanks,
Em
 
You hold the whole head? I just hold the ear.. But as you get more experienced you will get faster at it and you won't need to hold it as long..
 
Hang in there Em. This sugar dance needs a lot of patience from your & Jezebel but you will get there.
Remember to put a question on your topic line if you need further info.
 
Good morning, and Good Luck with the new dose.

You can open a new thread (we call the condos) for today with a Subject Line of 2/17 Jezebel AMPS 430

See you there :smile: .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top