? 2/15 Viamo AMPS=357, +2=290 Dose suggestions? Testing suggestions?

Teo

Member Since 2020
A brief summary of Viamo's state can be read in this thread

Viamo is very slowly improving his BG since we started with 2.25 U four days ago. But he still hasnt reached numbers lower than 300.

I need help with the dosage. Maybe starting Tight Regulation?
 
Hi Teo,

As you do more blood glucose tests during the day, you update the thread title to include those additional tests.
You include the time in + hour format of when the test was done and what the blood glucose reading was.

So for today, if you test Viamo again in this morning's cycle, you would add those test numbers to the thread title.
For example:

2/15 Viamo AMPS 357 +6 xxx +9 xxx PMPS xxx +3 xxx

Replace the xxx in the above example with the actual value you got from the blood glucose test.
Replace the + hours with the actual + hour time when you did the blood glucose test.
That is, how many hours since the insulin shot you gave. The number of hours are counted from the time of the insulin shot.

Testing during the middle of the cycle is needed, to determine if this dose needs to be increased or decreased.
Are you or your mom available today to test Viamo sometime in the +6 or +7 time frame? Or later?
Let us know what works for you.

Also, you should always try to obtain 1 or 2 tests during the night time cycle. Always the pre-shot test. Then 1 or 2 other tests. A test at either +2 or +3 during the night can be helpful information.

A test before people go off to sleep for the night can be useful.
 
Another way you can get people to answer your thread, is to use the ? prefix on your Thread.

When you start a new thread, the default is to have no prefix.
There is a box over on the left hand side when you enter the new thread title, that allows you to select a prefix from a drop down list. Select the prefix that is the ? mark.

If you have already submitted your new thread for the day, it is possible to edit the title and to change the prefix on the thread at that time.
 
The protocol information for Lantus Tight Regulation (TR) can be found here in this link.
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

First half of the document talks about the TR protocol.
Second half of the document talks about the SLGS protocol.

Focus on understanding the first half of the document that talks about using Tight Regulation.
Not sure how well this document translates into Spanish.
You may want to print out a copy of the document and read it several times.

If you have any questions about Tight Regulation (TR), ask about them in your thread.

Tight Regulation is probably Viamo's best chance at getting better regulated on insulin. Once that happens, the diabetic neuropathy should get better also.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Teo
Back
Top