2/15 Snuggles AMPS-291/219+4.5/207+6/159+7.5/168+8.75/PMPS156/163+2/127+3.5/124+5/111+6/119+7/121+8

Increased dose to 1.5u starts today. @Diane Tyler's Mom @Suzanne & Darcy
Okay. I know you will be watching her like a hawk. It can take a few cycles for an increase to settle in, and some cats have what we call New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) after an increase and their numbers will initially go higher before going lower. I don't anticipate this for Snuggles, but I just wanted to mention it in case.
 
Okay. I know you will be watching her like a hawk. It can take a few cycles for an increase to settle in, and some cats have what we call New Dose Wonkiness (NDW) after an increase and their numbers will initially go higher before going lower. I don't anticipate this for Snuggles, but I just wanted to mention it in case.
Thank you! I had an appointment this morning and just got home..of course I called when I wasn’t home to check on her! @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Very good. I'm happy to see that. And you did great to shoot that blue preshot. Not your first time, I know, but first time one this dose. So just do the same as you did last night with regard to testing. I don't mean you have to stay up all night, but just long enough to get an idea of what the cycle is going to look like. Are you able to set an alarm and wake up and test and then get back to sleep. I did many many times.
 
Very good. I'm happy to see that. And you did great to shoot that blue preshot. Not your first time, I know, but first time one this dose. So just do the same as you did last night with regard to testing. I don't mean you have to stay up all night, but just long enough to get an idea of what the cycle is going to look like. Are you able to set an alarm and wake up and test and then get back to sleep. I did many many times.
So test around +3, +6, &+8…or what times do you suggest? I don’t have a problem setting an alarm and testing. I can always get a little rest in the morning after her shot and she’s fed because I really don’t need to test until around +3 after AMPS. I’m not as nervous about shooting in blues if I’m home..it’s when I’m gone for about 9 hours. :cat: @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Beautiful so far! Great job on testing! I’m really proud of you. If you can go to sleep but later get a +6 or +7, you may catch a green nadir. Don’t forget to be giving the Lc snacks now.
 
Beautiful so far! Great job on testing! I’m really proud of you. If you can go to sleep but later get a +6 or +7, you may catch a green nadir. Don’t forget to be giving the Lc snacks now.
I just gave 1Tbsp of LC. Is that enough of a snack? Im afraid if I go to sleep she may become hypo fast..if the BS keeps dropping like this every 60-90 minutes. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
Rememberi
I just gave 1Tbsp of LC. Is that enough of a snack? Im afraid if I go to sleep she may become hypo fast..if the BS keeps dropping like this every 60-90 minutes. @Suzanne & Darcy
yes. That is enough. You can give her another 1 T in an hour. Or a teaspoon is usually enough to smooth things out, but if it’s part of her meal split up then a tablespoon is fine.
 
Remember, you are in control because you are testing and feeding. We don’t really want her dropping below 90 but not because it’s unsafe, but just because for now you’re using the SLGS dosing method. She won’t be considered to have low blood sugar until she drops below 50. So all that means is that she will be safe. I understand not wanting to sleep. Hopefully you can feed a snack, sleep a bit and set an alarm to wake up and test at least around nadir time. You can even leave food out for her to eat if you think she will do that.
 
Remember, you are in control because you are testing and feeding. We don’t really want her dropping below 90 but not because it’s unsafe, but just because for now you’re using the SLGS dosing method. She won’t be considered to have low blood sugar until she drops below 50. So all that means is that she will be safe. I understand not wanting to sleep. Hopefully you can feed a snack, sleep a bit and set an alarm to wake up and test at least around nadir time. You can even leave food out for her to eat if you think she will do that.
she will probably eat it now..and she just ate 1Tbsp at +3.5…should I hold off or give her a little more? I can’t believe her BS didn’t go up like usual after her supper. @Suzanne & Darcy
 
she will probably eat it now..and she just ate 1Tbsp at +3.5…should I hold off or give her a little more? I can’t believe her BS didn’t go up like usual after her supper.
I would give a little more if she seems hungry. Just save some for nadir time in case she needs to still be hungry. We don’t want her too full in case you need her to eat later. But it sounds like she has a good appetite.
 
I would give a little more if she seems hungry. Just save some for nadir time in case she needs to still be hungry. We don’t want her too full in case you need her to eat later. But it sounds like she has a good appetite.
She likes her food..I’ve been giving smaller portions spread out so she doesn’t get sick…a few days she vomited. When she vomited three times she had been given beef wet food..everything has been good since she hasn’t had the beef..(knock on wood). @Suzanne & Darcy
 
The depot insulins like Lantus tend to give lower, flatter cycles when you shoot lower preshot numbers. We have a saying around here which is, “shoot low to stay low.”
So you don’t think it’s going to drop lower than 50? and hopefully no lower than 90 right? Snuggles is eating another snack. Luckily she is a good eater! @Suzanne & Darcy
 
She did great. Of course, it looks like you didn’t sleep much. What is your schedule like for today (Thursday?)
I just added a few more numbers..+9 & +10. I am home today..I’ve gotten about 45 minutes of sleep. I fed Snuggles PMPS..2Tbsp, +2..1 Tbsp, +3.5..1Tbsp. And then hourly I fed her from +4-+9..between 1-2tsp because I was afraid her BS would drop and there wasn’t much change in results. I really pushed the food and as the night went on she really didn’t seem hungry. We are both exhausted. I will check her AMPS in 20 minutes. What are you thinking about the plan for today? @Suzanne & Darcy @Diane Tyler's Mom
 
Last edited:
Last night’s cycle was beautiful. You don’t want to bring his bg up when he’s surfing blue. Remember normal is 50-100. Your goal is for him to be there as much as possible. That is healing time for his pancreas. I would not feed mc in a cycle like that. Lantus works best when keeping them flat blue and green. You could have gone to bed and set an alarm for +6-7. You could also have stopped when he was at 119 as he was flat.
 
Last night’s cycle was beautiful. You don’t want to bring his bg up when he’s surfing blue. Remember normal is 50-100. Your goal is for him to be there as much as possible. That is healing time for his pancreas. I would not feed mc in a cycle like that. Lantus works best when keeping them flat blue and green. You could have gone to bed and set an alarm for +6-7. You could also have stopped when he was at 119 as he was flat.
Thanks so much Elise , we are exhausted lol
You would think I would know this by now ! That's why I listen to all of you.
Sandy had off this whole week so at least she could see how she did on the increase
When she's at work she can get the last test in around +3 or +3.5 before leaving in the morning
Snuggles will not eat out of the auto feeder yet and if her husband is home will not eat for him. He puts the food down and she hisses and growls at him, that's why Sandy is so nervous when she's at work
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
I think you misunderstood the comment about not going under 90. If under 90 a reduction is earned since you are followed SLGS. If it’s too soon to let her earn a reduction then yes you can feed mc to prevent it as back to back reductions are not often successful. If eating a lc diet otherwise and she drops under 90 a reduction is earned. Those who follow TR see their cats in the low 50’s a lot and the same is true for cats not diabetic. It’s scary to see lower numbers after seeing so many high ones but once you get used to them they become addictive!
 
I think you misunderstood the comment about not going under 90. If under 90 a reduction is earned since you are followed SLGS. If it’s too soon to let her earn a reduction then yes you can feed mc to prevent it as back to back reductions are not often successful. If eating a lc diet otherwise and she drops under 90 a reduction is earned. Those who follow TR see their cats in the low 50’s a lot and the same is true for cats not diabetic. It’s scary to see lower numbers after seeing so many high ones but once you get used to them they become addictive!
Sorry, I put all questions on todays thread. @tiffmaxee
 
I think you misunderstood the comment about not going under 90. If under 90 a reduction is earned since you are followed SLGS. If it’s too soon to let her earn a reduction then yes you can feed mc to prevent it as back to back reductions are not often successful. If eating a lc diet otherwise and she drops under 90 a reduction is earned. Those who follow TR see their cats in the low 50’s a lot and the same is true for cats not diabetic. It’s scary to see lower numbers after seeing so many high ones but once you get used to them they become addictive!
In regards to this , this is what Sandy was told
We don’t really want her dropping below 90 but not because it’s unsafe, but just because for now you’re using the SLGS dosing method. She won’t be considered to have low blood sugar until she drops below 50.

Is it maybe because she had just increased the dose to 1.5?
 
Back
Top