2/15 Rocky PMPS 275 +1 355 +3 357 +7 360 +11 338

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

Hi Tina, that 94 kind of gets your heart pumping, doesn't it? :mrgreen: You've shot a 119 before so this is just a bit lower. Are you going to be around to test, have plenty of strips and karo syrup or honey in case he goes too low? From the spreadsheet, I think you are good to go. Be sure to get +1 and +2 tests to see what he's doing.
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

It's great that you got a PM +11 test! What that tells you is that Rocky's numbers have dropped from +11 to AMPS. What I would suggest, if you have the flexibility with your schedule is to stall for 20 - 30 min, don't feed, and re-test. Since you've not shot low numbers yet and because numbers are dropping, I'm suggesting a cautious approach. I shot a dropping number this morning but I know my kitty's response to my managing her numbers with food. You haven't had that experience yet.

So, stall -- and DON'T FEED -- no matter how much Rocky begs and pleads! Otherwise, you won't know if your next test is influenced by food.

I've got to leave by the next time you test. I'll make sure there's someone around to lend a hand.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

Sienne makes a good point about the dropping number. You want keep testing until you see the numbers start to rise, then shoot. That becomes your new shot time for tonight.
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

I just tested again. He is now at 106. Is there a number we're looking for to shoot? Thanks!
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

The 106 is food influenced, otherwise I'd say he's on his way back up. Can you test again in 30 minutes, no feeding? If he's up again, then you are ok to shoot. If he drops back down, then you will have to decide if you want to continue to stall or shoot a reduced dose or skip altogether.

Remember that whenever you shoot this morning, that will be your new shot time tonight. Ideally, you can move the shot by 30 mins per day, usually 15 mins in the morning and 15 mins at night.
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

Hi Liz, thank you for the guidance. I DID already feed Rocky his AMBG meal. I did not think to withhold his morning meal if I did not give him his shot.

It will be +1 in about 15 minutes. That means that his shot will be one hour LATE this morning, if I give him the shot at +1.

So, I will need to give him his PMPS shot one hour late tonight too?

I doesn't get his 2nd meal of the day until +2.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

Yes, the shot time tonight will be 12 hours after what you shoot this morning. That can be impossible for some people or not a a big deal for others, just depends on your circumstances. I would test again at +1 (or +13 from last night's shot) and see what he's doing.
Liz
ETA: I think you can take down the 911 icon. We try to reserve those for life threatening situations and Rocky is fine.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help)

Tina

Sienne and Liz let me know you needed help. I think they have to run out. Please just post his +1. I need to read back through the condo but I'll be watching for his BG?

Yes...generally you will need to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot this morning but there is some flexibility which I'll discuss in a bit. Let's deal with this first. :-D
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help) +13 105

Gosh darn it!!

Rocky's bg has barely changed since right after eating his food. He has dropped one point-- now at 105 instead of 106. I took his bg right after he ate.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help) +13 105

I'm confused. You got the 94 correct. Then you fed....how much? Then you took his BGs but was it just a few minutes after you fed or 30 mins?

Can you be there today to monitor him? If you can, I'd shoot the regular dose, feed him some more of his regular food, and test in one hour.

eta: could you also pls take down the 911? We tho ially ask that you remove it as soon as someone responds to you. Thanks. :-D :-D
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help) +13 105

How soon after eating his preshot meal did you test? it usually takes 15 to 20 minutes for food to start influencing BG. so if it was just a few minutes after he ate it might not have had much effect. With this test and hour later not going up there should be food influence. Can you test again in 30?
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help) +13 105

Hi Marje,

Ok i just gave him his shot, and then I fed him 1/2 can of NVIV right after. That would have normally been his +2 meal.

I'm sorry for the confusion. Let me see if I can try to sort it out.

At PMPS +11 Rocky was 151. By AMPS Rocky had dropped to 94.

I didn't know what to do, and I fed him his normal morning meal, but I decided to not give him his shot. (He was 94 at 8am. He finished eating around 8:15am.) I tested him at 8:30am and he was at 106. I retested him at 9am (that 9am would then be +13 because he did not have his shot yet), and he had dropped to 105.

So... now I've given him his normal dose of 1.50u at +13.15 and then I fed him 1/2 can of NVIV, which would have been his AMPS +2 meal.

Does that help?
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help) +13 105

Perfect. Thank you. So the 106 was likely not totally food because it does take about 30 mins from plate to meter especially with LC.

Could you please get a +1 test and post? You can change his subject line to "AMPS 105".

If he does this again...and he likely will at some time....it catches our eyes more if you indicate in the subject line something like this:

"2/15 Rocky +11 151 +12 94 stalling"

Then we can see right away that you have a dropping number and you are stalling the shot and need help.

If we see "AMPS 94" we assume you've shot. AMPS/PMPS are used once the shot is given, AMBG/PMBG are used if the shot is skipped, and if you are stalling, we just keep using hours from the last shot. Does that help? :-D

See you at +1 and I'll be back shortly with info on shooting tonight.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 94 (dose help) +13 105

Thanks for the guidance on what to write in the subject line to catch your attention. The 911 was all I knew to use, but I know that is really for bg's of 50 or lower.

I don't know if I'll be able to track the numbers correctly. @-) On the SS, a +2 today is really a +1 for Rocky, etc.. I'll do my best.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105

Thanks for fixing that.

Here's how you want to do the SS:
In the +11 column from last night, I'd put "151 @ 11; 94 @ 12; 106 @ 12.5". You might want to make the font smaller for that box.

Then in the AMPS column, put "105 @ +13". That way you can use all your columns after AMPS normally.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96

He has dropped 12 points in the past hour, after his 1.50u shot, and his 2nd meal of the day given one hour early. He is still in a good range though..greens are good.. I'm just a little nervous is all. I don't want him to start going lower. @-) He is still hungry any time I enter the room so it will be no problem feeding him if I must do so.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96

Why don't you give him another tsp of LC and then get a +2. Don't panic at any lower numbers because you are in control with food and there are people here to help.

I have an appt I am leaving for now but Liz is around and I'll also let others know to watch. I will be back after his +3.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96

Thank you Marje and Liz, and everyone else. I will give Rocky a little more food right now.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!!

Before posting here the +2 29 reading, I immediately gave Rocky 2 tsp of the HC food with (2) drops of Karo in it. I'm really frightened although he is acting completely normal right now, eating the food just great.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!!

i was watching for your update. aren't you 35 minutes past +2 now?

you did the right thing. wait 20ish minutes from when you gave him the food and karo, retest and repost the new # in your subject line.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!!

i'm confused on the timing. what time did you give the food? at 11:15 or at some later time?

the reason i'm asking is that i'm wanting to do some other things too, but don't want to leave you hanging if you need help.

in other words, what time should i look for you again?
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!!

Hi Tina,
That is a big drop. The next timr you get a number that is either much lower or much higher tha you expect, test again immediately. It may be because of a bad strip or a meter glitch. In any event, Rocky will certainly respond to all those HC carbs and karo. You pronably went overboard, but that is understandable. Your job now is to watch him carefully. Test in a half hour or so to see how he has responded. In the future, give just the gravy from the HC food. All the carbs are in the gravy. And if you fill him up with the food itself, he may get too full if you have to work to keep his bg from dropping as the hours go by. I'll check back with you in a little while.
You are doing fine. Remember to write down what you are feeding, testing, etc. so that you will have a record for the future.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! + 2.30 35

Hi Julie,

Yes, but I was with an important phone call and re-tested him at 11:30am instead of at 11:15am. I made the 11:30am my +2. I fed him the HC and Karo IMMEDIATELY when that 29 appeared. Thanks for being here! Still shaking! @-) nailbite_smile
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! + 2.30 35

he's not out of the woods yet. 35 is still too low.

numbers can bobble - so don't get complacent just because he's come up some. you want him over 50 and staying there solidly. so repeat every 20 minutes or so until he's staying over 50 without carbs helping him.

that is a huge drop from +1 to +2.25. i'd really be vigilant.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35

Hi Ella and thank you for your help. :smile:

Yes, I panicked at first and put almost a 1/4 of HC food into his bowl and then about 1/8tsp Karo, but I quickly tossed it into the garbage and started over. I took a deep breath, measured out (1) tsp of HC food and put about (2) drops of Karo into it.

It doesn't look to be a bad test strip, does it? :roll:
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35

btw, call the times what they are since the shot - you can use decimals. it may make a difference later and accuracy is important with FD.

so if you shot at 9:15, then got the 29 at 11:30 (do you need to recheck the time on your meter?) call that 2.25.

if you got the 35 at noon, call that +2.75.

in your ss you can record them both in the +2 slot as

2.25=29
2.75=35

if they are 20 minute intervals (and i would stick with 20 minute intervals when you're in the 20's and 30's - count that as a .3.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48

Thank you Julie. I will adjust Rocky SS to reflect the numbers and the way that you've offered that I need to display them. I'm a little confused and will need to look at this more closely.

When Rocky got the bg of 35, fed (1)tsp of HC again w/ the (2) drop Karo. Waited 1/2 hour, until 12PM, and then retested. He was at 48.

At 48 I fed him another (1)tsp of HC w/ the (2) drops of Karo.

Will retest at 1PM. I was calling that my 3 and 1/2.

Praying that he is up to 50 in the next 15 minutes.

He seems to know I am going to bring him more food.. LOL! He is nearly running after me, following me to the door.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48

please don't wait another hour. 48 is still too low. over 50 and holding is what you want.

until you get that, keep testing every 20-30 minutes.

when he's over 50, still test 2 more times at 30 minute intervals to make sure he's staying there without you having to give him carbs.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48

Sure, I'm sorry Jule. I didn't mean to say that I was going to start testing Rocky only every hour now.

I'm listening to you, and I am still freaked out over the earlier 29, so there is no way I would leave him. Going to retest Rocky right now. Will post ASAP. I will also feed him another (1)tsp of HC w/ the (2) drops Karo. THANK you so much!! :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48

Tina --
You're doing a great job.

Here are the instructions for handling low numbers. They are helpful to print out or bookmark. This is exactly the information that Marje, Liz, and Julie have been coaching you to do. The basic rule of thumb is to test every 20 -30 min and feed HC to get the numbers in the 60s or so. Once you bump Rocky into a higher range and his numbers stabilize there, you can reduce the frequency of testing to every hour. But for now, you need to be testing every 20 - 30 min.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48 +3.30 7

Hi,

Even though I said that I would-- I did NOT give him more food and Karo at 3 and 1/2 because he was at 71. Instead, I gave him his treats. I'll retest in 1/2 hour.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48 +3.30 7

ok, good to know. internet communication can be so confusing sometimes!

glad you're keeping up on the testing. we just don't want anything to happen to our sweet Rocky!
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS 105 +1 96 +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48 +3.30 7

ok - perfect. you want to see if he's past his nadir and will hold being over 60 for 2 tests after you finish giving him carbs.

thanks to sienne for giving you the post on handling low numbers.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +2 29!! +2.30 35 +3 48 +3.30 71 +4 77

He went up just smidgen in the last 1/2 hr. Still have not given any more food, but he is getting his normal 'Origen' Tundra Treats after each poke. They have no 0% carbs.

Julie mentioned that we want Rocky to stay above his nadir for at least two tests, with no carbs. Looking at Rocky's chart, what is his nadir BG?

When do you think I might be able to take a shower?

BTW- None of the three links at the bottom of the 'How to deal with low numbers' page worked for me. In addition, there was also another link somewhere provided and it also was not working.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +3 48 +3.30 71 +4 77 + 4.30 91 +5 119

Holy moly, Rocky! :shock: That was a crazy drop at +2. You did a great job, Tina.
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +3 48 +3.30 71 +4 77 + 4.30 91 +5 119

if you haven't taken a shower yet - you're good to go now.

wondering again if your previous insulin from the vet had been compromised. According to Rocky's ss, the shot last night and i think again this morning were from the new pen - is that right? if so, i think i would make a call to the vet on Monday to let them know that you've been using the vials they sold you since December 21. If you've been keeping it in the fridge, one vial bought from a pharmacy would've still been good at this point. In other words, i would be suspicious that their repackaging of the prescription Lantus has cost you, both in terms of higher than necessary numbers for Rocky and in unnecessarily having to replace the insulin already. I don't know how much you paid the vet for those 2 2ml vials, but if it was compromised, any amount is too much.

I would also ask them if they dilute the insulin at all. I would ask how that repackaging takes place, specifically if they use a syringe to withdraw the 2ml and if they then inject it into the vial. if so, the lubricant in the syringe may be the culprit.

Because of today's low numbers, his dose tonight will be 1.25u. I hope that isn't too much because of the potential issue about the difference in the strength of the new pen as compared to the repackaged vials the vet sold you. If he is low at pmps, and you don't want to stay up and do this dance again tonight, i think you could potentially drop to less than that. you'd still have to monitor him because the current dose depot will be affecting him for a bit still. I guess I'm feeling more cautious because of the dramatic difference since you gave the doses from the new pen.

Let's see what others think, and what his numbers look like for the rest of today.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +3 48 +3.30 71 +4 77 + 4.30 91 +5 119 +7

Thank you Julie. I'll do my best to measure 1.25u tonight. Although his bg is still climbing, I am still a bit freaked out.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +3 48 +3.30 71 +4 77 + 4.30 91 +5 119 +7

You did a great job today, Tina. Interesting about your insulin. I haven't been following your condo and didn't know that your vet had repackaged it. Julie is right to be concerned that it may have been compromised and affected all of your shots until the most recent ones. I hope that you will find a good dose for shooting the "regulation" Lantus (in the manufacturer's packaging). Congrats on the reducie.

Have a good, restful evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +3 48 +3.30 71 +4 77 + 4.30 91 +5 119 +7

He may be beginning a bounce from having gotten so low this morning. They are a pain in the neck, but they do save cats' lives.

If you have trouble measuring the dose, just remember your main goal is to give less than you gave this morning. i think given this particular situation, i'd err on the side of cautious and give less, rather than more.

i'm going to be out this evening but if you have trouble, just holler and i'm sure someone will be around.

you did well today! take a deep breath! it is a little unnerving but you were able to steer him and he's ok now.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky AMPS +4 77 + 4.30 91 +5 119 +7 182

Hi Julie, and everyone!

Yes, he is probably beginning his "bounce" right now. I just got home from feeding the community cats and he is at 258..

So, I am wondering more experienced users, should I still give him the reduced dose of 1.25u, even if he goes into the stinky pinkies (300s) by his shot time?

That is the other thing... I fed him at his normal feeding time but stalled for 1 hour on his morning shot. Should I give the shot at 9pm tonight instead of at 8pm tonight?

How do I adjust the time if I want to get him back onto the same schedule that i had him on before this happened?

Thanks!
 
Re: Going up! 2/15 Rocky AMPS + 4.30 91 +5 119 +7 182 +10 25

hi there :cool:

What a day you have had! Good job!

Yes, reduce the dose and yes - shoot 12 hours from the morning shot.

You can get back to schedule by shooting 15 mins early in the AM and each of the next 3 cycles (4x15 mins) or 30mins early in the morning and another 30 mins early 24 hours later.
 
Re: Going up! 2/15 Rocky AMPS + 4.30 91 +5 119 +7 182 +10 25

I meant to get back quite some time ago, Tina, and I'm sorry I didn't but you were in great hands. I think Julie was likely spot on about the insulin. I have to wonder seriously about repackaged insulin. But you handled it all great.

Looks like you might be able to get some rest tonight. It probably is a good idea to continue getting spot checks until we see how he does with this new insulin and new dose.
 
Re: 2/15 Rocky PMPS 275 +1 355 +3 357

Hi Marje, no problem. I remember you said you needed to go out. I do appreciate everyone so much for being here, and holding my hand through all of this..

If it weren't for you all, Rocky and I wouldn't have a good chance with this diabetes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top