2/15 Munchie bouncy again AMPS 460

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
last condo

Hi All,
Feeling kinda discouraged as Munchie has been very bouncy again. Seems after her most recent pancreatitis attack around 1/20 it's almost like starting over again. She's been getting into blues for about the past 5 days but then gets hard bounce into 400's. I guess on a positive note, maybe the bounces are clearing faster to allow her to get back into the blues. I will be home tomorrow to test during day so will see how she does. I don't know what can help with the bounces - I think someone mentioned Levemir might cause less hard bounces so I may need to ask on that again but I don't want to rush changing her either. I'm thinking the pancreatitis complicates things- on 1/26 I was debating if she was about to get an increase after having been on a bounce with higher numbers and instead she earned a reduction- maybe I haven't looked at enough charts, but am not seeing this as typical- are others? Hoping she can start bouncing less into the 400's each time.

Thanks.
Elizabeth
 
Good morning Elizabeth,

I have no advice, but a great deal of sympathy on these hard bounces. I hope someone with more experience reading charts can help.
 
Hi guys .. no advice from me either but sympathy as well .. mocha was a bouncer .. sometimes she would bounce from yellow! How crazy is that? Hope the bounces slow down for you .. have a great day!
 
Munchie is bouncing. I think as soon as you get the bounce clearing, I'd increase his dose. The pancreatitis is obviously hard on his pancreas and getting him back in lower numbers will allow for more healing. In addition, the more time he spends in higher numbers, the more difficult it is to get the numbers to come down and he will be more prone to bounces.

I don't know that Lev is any better or worse when it comes to bouncing.
 
I'm admitting my ignorance and confusion here- when do we increase if the nadir is 150 or less? I know the Five Steps to Regulation protocol says "If the lowest point of the curve is between 90 and 149, keep dose the same." What I'm having trouble finding on the tight regulation protocol is when you increase the dose if you are getting nadir readings between 90 and 149. I'm realizing this is a point of confusion for me.

Thanks.
 
I'll be honest, most of us don't use the reference you noted, or at least don't strictly hold to such rigid guidelines. There are definitely times when an increased has been suggested when numbers are in the high greens to mid-blues. It all depends on the pattern. There just aren't hard and fast rules. You increase unless your cat is sitting in green numbers. Sometimes, it's a matter of waiting out blue pre-shots by holding the dose.

Munchie is bouncing off of blue pre-shots. Once the bounce clears, your can increase the dose.
 
I hope Munchie clears his bounce quickly. At least if it looks like the bounces don't last as long, maybe his pancreas is starting to get on board. Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top