2/15 | Moose | AMPS = 79, +2 = 90, PMPS = 85, +3 = 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moose (GA) & Rae

Member Since 2017
Good morning, kitties & beans! :cat:

Link to yesterday's condo.

I know that this is a normal kitty thing, but how do you stop from accidentally stepping on your sugar cat's paws when they are underfoot? :confused: Moose is SO EXCITED and anxious to eat in the morning (and evening when I get home from work) that he follows me from room to room until I feed him and he is always right under my feet. I've gotten good at not stepping on him, but sometimes it happens and I feel terrible when he lets out a little screech :( I usually T/F/S him first and foremost, but sometimes if I have stalled and a previous cycle and have to give him his shot a little later, I let the doggos out and feed them first. That allows for time for him to be underfoot! This morning I resorted to carrying him in my arms/over my shoulder like a baby so that I wouldn't step on him. I felt like the mother of a human child that I swore I would never be! Ha! :p

Besides a few stepped on paws, Moose is doing well. I'm happy to see him in the 70 range since the "normal" range is 50-80 (and he was often > 80).

Hugs & head bumps! :bighug:
 
Isn't it amazing that we don't break their paws after stepping on them??? My boys usually trip me rather than me step on them. Three Januarys ago, Bubba darted out in front of me while I was serving dinner. I tripped over him and did a body plant on the floor spilling all the contents of the dinner plate I was carrying to the table. I misplaced 2 ribs, ouch and at the time I had pneumonia and was coughing a lot. UGH. That is one time I wish I would have stepped on him, LOL.

Moose!! After today you are starting the OTJ trial. Rae, do you need the instructions for the trial?
 
Isn't it amazing that we don't break their paws after stepping on them??? My boys usually trip me rather than me step on them. Three Januarys ago, Bubba darted out in front of me while I was serving dinner. I tripped over him and did a body plant on the floor spilling all the contents of the dinner plate I was carrying to the table. I misplaced 2 ribs, ouch and at the time I had pneumonia and was coughing a lot. UGH. That is one time I wish I would have stepped on him, LOL.

Moose!! After today you are starting the OTJ trial. Rae, do you need the instructions for the trial?
Good morning Bobbie!

Seriously! Their paws must be specially made to handle human feet stepping on them all of the time, lol! Oh my goodness :eek: How painful! I bet you would have given anything to not cough with those misplaced ribs, but it's inevitable with pneumonia. That's rough! Not to mention the spilled food. RIP spilled food :( I'm sure it would have been a delicious dinner.

He starts OTJ trial tomorrow?! :D Hooray! I looked over the blurb about OTJ trial on the TR sticky, and on the "Earning Reductions" post, but they didn't go into a lot of detail. Is there more detailed instructions for the trial? If so, then yes I will need them. Thank you!
 
Here you go!

These are the instructions for conducting an OTJ trial:

  • Test at your usual AM and PM times. (This is now an AMBG or PMBG vs an AMPS or PMPS number.)
  • If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion. After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
  • Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!

Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
Thank you so very much! Looks like I should invest in that timed pet feeder since small meals are the way to go. I just hope he doesn't get sick from the "snacks" like he was over the weekend when I would give him a snack.

Ok so normal is 50 - 80, what if he is > 80 but < 100? Is that still considered "normal" and doesn't require any further testing until the next PS time? Is it only blue numbers (> 100) that require further testing?
 
what if he is > 80 but < 100?
As long as he is a green number , so under 99, you don't have to test again. If he gives you a blue number at Pre shot, feed as normal and then get a test in at +3 - +4 and as long as he brings himself back down to a green number, you are good to go. They will pop an occasional blue numbers from time to time. Anything under 120 is still a normal number but we use 100 as a guideline to account for any meter various + 20% .
 
As long as he is a green number , so under 99, you don't have to test again. If he gives you a blue number at Pre shot, feed as normal and then get a test in at +3 - +4 and as long as he brings himself back down to a green number, you are good to go. They will pop an occasional blue numbers from time to time. Anything under 120 is still a normal number but we use 100 as a guideline to account for any meter various + 20% .
Excellent, thank you!

Oh and I just watched all of the videos in your signature. I had only clicked on the SS previously. The OTJ party one is so adorable!! Bubba is such a handsome kitty! I love how he talks to you in the release video, lol :D
 
Question about (possible) OTJ trial (don't want to jinx it!):

During the OTJ trial, would it be OK for me to move Moose's AMBG and PMBG tests back to his original shot times? (minus the shot, of course.) I had moved the shot time up 1.5 hours because of how low he was dipping at night and having to stay up late. Now that he (possibly) won't be on insulin, I won't have to worry about the low dips and staying up as late.

@Bobbie And Bubba your post about resuming your workouts got me wanting to resume my workout schedule (it helps my mental sanity!) However, I haven't had time is my schedule lately due to Moose's shot times (my gym is right next to my work, so it's best for me to go right after work at 5:15pm) Obviously with Moose's shot time being at 5:30am and 5:30pm respectively, no can gym!

His original "shot" time (which would now just be AMBG/PMBG test time) would allow me to return to the gym as I would be home around 7pm for the PMBG check. Again, I always want to do what is best for Moose and put my needs (like needing to go back to the gym!) second. But I figured I would ask!
 
how do you stop from accidentally stepping on your sugar cat's paws when they are underfoot?
I have learned not to step fully if I feel something under my foot. My civvie Keena is horrible at mealtimes so I have had a lot of practice, thanks to him. Yes, I have stepped on him a few times, then I have to go find him so I can apologize and give him a kiss. :rolleyes: I always feel bad if I do find him and he wants to run again because he doesn't want to be stepped on. :(

Whoo!! OTJ Trial tomorrow!!
 
I have learned not to step fully if I feel something under my foot. My civvie Keena is horrible at mealtimes so I have had a lot of practice, thanks to him. Yes, I have stepped on him a few times, then I have to go find him so I can apologize and give him a kiss. :rolleyes: I always feel bad if I do find him and he wants to run again because he doesn't want to be stepped on. :(

Whoo!! OTJ Trial tomorrow!!
That must be my issue, I move too fast (always rushing around) so I don't have any time to think about not stepping down fully if I feel something under foot. I will do my best to slow it down, but Moose is always yelling at me to hurry up, lol! Prince Plump must be fed ASAP always! :rolleyes:

Oh yes that is the worst...and there's no way to tell them that you didn't mean hurt them...that it wasn't purposeful...:(

Woohoo! :D
 
Go Moose
c23_rah.gif
Go Moose
c23_rah.gif
Go Moose
c23_rah.gif
 
So now you have to train yourself to only get mid-cycle tests if Moose' AMPB or PMBG is over 100. We'll make you a member of Testaholics Anonymous. ;)

c23_rah.gif

Go Moose!

BTW, I step on or kick Boris almost every day. With so much fur on between their toes, Siberians make NO noise when they walk and he's always sneaking up on me. I feel so badly, but what can you do? He always forgives me right away.
:(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top