2/15 Midas PMPS 88 +1 160 +2 114 +3 89 +4 69 +5 84 +6 91

Can you monitor? Have enough test strips and higher carb food? If yes, please shoot. He might just bounce from here like he did on 2/7.
I will be around to help if it is an active cycle.
 
Can you monitor? Have enough test strips and higher carb food? If yes, please shoot. He might just bounce from here like he did on 2/7.
I will be around to help if it is an active cycle.


Thanks for the quick response!

Yes, I can monitor and yes to having strips and high carb food. I will shoot the 6.5 units.
 
Not a bounce then. Does he get a little food with every test? Let's see the +3.

ETA: Could you please take off the question from the title and add the numbers for the cycle? Thanks!
 
You want to feed him 2-3 times in the first half of the cycle - say +2 and +4 - in addition to PS. In cycles where he is dropping like today (AM and PM) a little food - like a spoonful - will keep him surfing.

Have you seen this?
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Please feed him a little right away?


+3 was 89. I gave him some food.

No, I haven't read that information on using food to manipulate the curve. I'm not sure how I would have seen that unless it's linked from... somewhere(?). The organization of information here is, and I'm being polite, not ideal.

So, it's very late right now, I'm very tired and I'm staying awake to do these checks. I'm sure you can tell from Midas' ss, I have not been sleeping well for 6 weeks. And because of the time and worry involved with this, I have not been able to work. So the idea that, on top of all of that, your saying I can't (or shouldn't?) just feed Midas twice a day with my other cats and need to be giving him food at +2 and +4... I don't know what to say.
 
No, I haven't read that information on using food to manipulate the curve. I'm not sure how I would have seen that unless it's linked from... somewhere(?). The organization of information here is, and I'm being polite, not ideal.
Most of the information is in the sticky "The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!".

So, it's very late right now, I'm very tired and I'm staying awake to do these checks. I'm sure you can tell from Midas' ss, I have not been sleeping well for 6 weeks. And because of the time and worry involved with this, I have not been able to work. So the idea that, on top of all of that, your saying I can't (or shouldn't?) just feed Midas twice a day with my other cats and need to be giving him food at +2 and +4... I don't know what to say.
It understand that having a diabetic cat is not easy. Most of us here are sleep deprived most of the time. That having been said, there are some cycles in which you can stop testing and sleep through. If he is headed up from +2 or say +3, it is safe to call it a night.

Will he eat from an autofeeder if you were to set one up? That's what most folks here use to give their sugarcats food every 2-3 hours day and night.



 
Most of the information is in the sticky "The Basics: New to the Group? Start here!".


It understand that having a diabetic cat is not easy. Most of us here are sleep deprived most of the time. That having been said, there are some cycles in which you can stop testing and sleep through. If he is headed up from +2 or say +3, it is safe to call it a night.

Will he eat from an autofeeder if you were to set one up? That's what most folks here use to give their sugarcats food every 2-3 hours day and night.

I'll respond to the above later.

+4 was 69. I gave him more food.
 
Give him some food and you should be okay to call it a night.

The AMPS is in about 6 hours. Can you give me any guidance now as to what to do if his numbers are still under 100? Or if he's in blue?

Under what circumstances am I not giving the 6.5 units for the AMPS?

Edit to add: +6 was 91. I gave more food.
 
Last edited:
Under what circumstances am I not giving the 6.5 units for the AMPS?
Sorry, I'm only just seeing this. With TR you can shoot any number over 50 - provided you can monitor! Lantus is very good at keeping numbers flat like you saw tonight.
 
Back
Top