2/15 Lucian AMPS 403,+5/292, PMPS 401,+3/371

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

Oh now that is a pretty amps for him, its really close to pink and actually might even have been pink if you consider the meter variance. Because 403 - 20% = 322.4 :-D
So it looks like he is trying to clear that earlier bounce fairly quickly. It wouldn't surprise me if he dips into the high yellows today. With that said since right now he is clearing a bounce as long as he doesn't spring back up and stay there you are probably going to want to hold the dose longer than 10 cycles because you can't really count the cycle where the bounce happened or the 6 cycles after it while it is clearing (bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear). As he gets more and more use to those lower numbers he will start clearing bounces faster and faster.

Mel, Maxwell,Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

I'm not in any hurry to change anything at this point. If he'd just stay out of the 'black'! :sad: I've looked at so many other SS and it's much more rare to see those numbers, but he seems to keep jumping up there. It makes me crazy! Just an overall small drop over the course of several days would make me happy. He's showing a little of this, so I'm hanging in there.
I see Autumn is doing better, maybe getting over the stress of the vet visit? Hope so, although I'd bet she'll jump after the dental, in no time, she'll be OTJ. flip_cat
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

I completely understand that those blacks make you crazy, we want to fix it for our babies like NOW!!!! But I think sometimes when they have been so high for so long (and we never know how long they actually have been sick) that even the smallest drop in numbers freaks their bodies out. That they just take longer to settle on a dose than perhaps a cat that is caught rather quickly for being off somehow.

What I try to do with those that I have adopted as diabetics is not only watch just that day's numbers but also watch down the columns as well, are the preshots still going down, are the midcycles still going down on this dose in general....now yes there maybe a little hiccup every now and then but are they overall still falling, if the answer is yes, then hold the dose longer. Now if they aren't and staying virtually the same after a couple of weeks then it is time to go up again slowly and try to bring the overall curve down.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

Yup, that's what I'm looking/hoping for, just a small, overall decrease, over several days. I know he's apt to bounce, he's already showed us that! ohmygod_smile

Waiting for him to show me that I am, at least, getting closer to a good dose, ya know? Had such a problem with his dosing. :sad: Just want to feel a little better about it and know that HE feels better, too.

Plan to get a +6 and then go to the store. Calling for snow tomorrow, but no clue as to how much. GREAAAAAAAT! :lol: Stores will probably be out of bread and milk...what? they making milk sandwiches!?! :lol: We're apt to lose power, I go for stuff that won't spoil! ohmygod_smile DUH
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

If there is a chance you are going to lose power, then you will need a couple of things you may not have thought about...Got a small ice chest? If not grab one, even a cheapy styrofoam one, for Lucian's insulin and either a bag of ice or freeze water in a milk jug for the cooler. Since if you lose power you aren't going to want to keep opening the fridge to get his insulin until power is restored.

Not like I think you are going to need it anything soon but it is good practice, get all his stuff in one place including the hypo kit, and make sure the flashlight has fresh batteries. Testing by candlelight is no fun and dangerous if you have a squirmy kitty, much easier to have a small flashlight that you can hold in your mouth if you have to to see that little speck of blood. I also will print out a blank spreadsheet and find colored pencils or crayons in the right colors to keep a temp spreadsheet if I need too and still be able to see the color patterns. Yeah I'm OCD like that....lol. I also keep some of those hand and foot warmers like hunters use the kind you activate by mushing the stuff inside together to make it heat up for warming up ears when there is no power for the microwave.

Hoping it just blows over you and you only get a dusting at the worst.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

Yeah SIS, I'm a prep freak too! :lol: I have everything I need, extra batteries, etc, plus battery operated lights and fan. Remember? I tent camp. ;-) Would be useful to have a battery operated heater, but have never seen one and they would probably blow thru batteries like a tornado! :lol: Really, I got this. :-D We won't freeze as long as it's sunny, I'm on the top floor, I get heat thru the ceiling and have plenty of down comforters and blankets. :-D

I'll put my reusable freeze packs (several) in the freezer tonight, have enough to keep the cooler cold for a couple days. By then, we either have power or the ice companies have refilled the boxes. ;-)

I prepare for everything! :lol: Prepare for the worst and hope for the best! Safer that way. :-D I've been in situations where I lost power for 9 days due to ice storms, been there, done that. Plus being raised in FL, I've prepared for hurricanes all my life. Sooooooo I got this! :-D But will miss my puter!! If you don't 'see' me, you'll know what happened! :o

OH! Now they've put the prediction to 1-3 inches.......was a dusting to 1 inch.......they have no clue STILL and have admitted it! :lol:
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403,+5/292

We got yellow! YAYYY! :-D He woke up and wanted to eat, so I knew he wouldn't wait till +6, so I took a +5 and fed him. :-D
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403

LOL I figured you had the bases covered...But still wanted to go over things...its just me.

Yep after growing up in Nebraska, then spending 30 years in Colorado, 6 of which in the High Country I have become a prep freak. I take nothing for chance. Been up to my hiney in snow way more times that I would like to admit...lol. Of course at my height, up to my hiney isn't much distance..hehe.

I still remember when I first moved back here from NC, it was the first day of spring and they started out saying a skiff of snow, then it went to 1-3 inches, then 3-5, then 5-9 and when it was all said and done, we had 22 inches of that heavy wet spring snow...heartattack snow. I was had a battery powered tv, tons of afghans, comforters, camping stove (one of those Kangroo kitchen things) enough ice for a week and a fully stocked pantry....lol The kitties and I just camped in the livingroom as it was the biggest spot that I could set everything up and stay warm while watching TV.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403,+5/292

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT Go Lucian Go! :RAHCAT Now stay down here and SURF!!!!!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403,+5/292

:lol: I hear ya!

Around here you have to watch out, last time they called for 4-6 inches, we got 2 feet at the airport, our 100 yr blizzard they called it! That was about 10 yrs ago. :o I had 16 inches and 3 foot drifts at my house! That's a LOT of snow for eastern NC. Didn't lose power that time. But will always lose it with ice, every time and we're more apt to have ice than snow. Tomorrow night, it's supposed to start as rain, then transition to snow, should be ok, but I'll be prepared for the worst anyway.

Since I've been here, 4 yrs now, our power has only been out a few times, for 2 days at the longest. We can always get by for 2 days, no problem, cat food has pop top cans! :lol:
I just hate that the elevator doesn't work. :sad:

Got my cell phone charging, since I forget that, no phone for me without power, except the cell. :-D

Headed to the store before the shelves are bare!! :shock:
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403,+5/292

Oh! You just reminded me, I have an 8" LCD battery TV, I need to charge! Thanks Mel!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/15 Lucian AMPS 403,+5/292, PMPS 401

and both those preshots are so close to pink you can almost see it poking through. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top