2/15 KT AMPS 140 We DANCED again! Dose Decrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning World! Yesterday

KT was true to his word last night at PMPS - our dance began about +6.5 as he slept like a rock. I'm truly exhausted today - at least he let me have 1 night to sleep between dances.

QUESTION - Do we take a dose decrease here? I had just added an extra drop to 'fat' shortly before the last dance. I dropped that fat 3 cycles ago. Do we now take another decrease back to 2 units? I did shoot just 2.25 last night knowing the bounce was breaking.

I'll update this when we hit AMPS....

===================
EDIT TO ADD:

AMPS 140 - And the next bounce begins.....

Our numbers overnight were:

+6.5 - 68
+7.0 - 72
+8.0 - 88
+8.5 - 89
+9.2 - 76
+10.0- 78
+10.5- 77
+11.0- 80
+11.5-126
AMPS 140

How 'bout THAT for a wonderful string! I just wish it wasn't because of the insulin - wish it was Mr. Pancreas joining our dance instead but I really don't have much faith in there being much left to work there... :roll: I think he was diabetic in high numbers for too long before diagnosis and start of insulin.

How about something totally different from my photobucket today. Another thing that not many here know is that, before DH got so sick, we owned 3 Antique stores in different locations. I just love love love old glass. I've collected quite a few very old and unique pieces and sold quite a bit on eBay when it was still fun. We've got pieces all over the world and even have pieces in museums! Today I thought I'd show you a piece that I truly can't quite part with yet. This was made by Jeanette Glass Company from 1935-1940. This is one of the original pieces - the later pieces were multiple molded, this one is just double mold meaning two sides of the whole piece were made then put together. The multiple molded pieces made the candle holders separately too. This one is worth quite a bit more than the later ones.

VaseCandleHolders1.jpg


Can you imagine what this looks like full of flowers and candles? Just BEAUTIFUL!

Hugs to all today!
 
Re: 2/15 KT We're DANCING again! Dose Decrease?

What meter are you using? If it is an A Track it would be a reduction, but if it is a human type meter you didn't get below 50.
 
Re: 2/15 KT We're DANCING again! Dose Decrease?

WooHoo KT!! I like your dance style, letting mamabean get some sleep between sessions!
 
Re: 2/15 KT We're DANCING again! Dose Decrease?

Hi guys .. KT, look at you go .. just make sure you don't wear out your bean to bad ok? Have a great day guys!
 
I'm confused. You said above that you shot 2.0u last night but your SS says s skinny 2.25u. If you were feeding HC last night, it will make a difference. If you were having to work to keep KT's numbers up, then shave the dose. If he was just surfing away without any help, I'd hold the dose.

Let me make a suggestion. Given DH's situation, I think it may be hard for you to stick to the TR protocol simply due to logistics. (You are doing a phenomenal job, BTW.) You might want to look at the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) protocol for comparison. I'm not sure I like the half unit decreases, but what may be appealing is that with SLGS, a BG of 90 gets a reduction. I think you should be aware that there are options and what you decide just depends on where your comfort level is. Personally, I think TR has the research to back it up but it does take more effort.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm confused. You said above that you shot 2.0u last night but your SS says s skinny 2.25u....

I'M SORRY SIENNE - that should have said 2.25 above instead of 2 (I'll correct it). Guess I'm more tired than I thought. Then my spreadsheet - why I put the 'skinny' on there I don't know, it was a solid 2.25, not more nor less. Boy I was BAD with numbers when typing wasn't I? Duhhh......

I'll look over the other protocol Sienne - I have so hoped we'd get to OTJ in the beginning but I've about given up that hope. I've just got to figure out how to play this game without all these hiccups. I don't like the sound of a reduction of .5 at a time - I think that's too much of a reduction for KT....maybe I'm wrong there since I haven't tried it.

BIG HUGE HUG!!
 
I would never say to not think in terms of OTJ. There are many cats (e.g., Devon's Mocha) that went OTJ at around 2 years. To me, the goal is a healthy, happy cat. If you can best do that with TR, SLGS, or some other method, so be it.
 
Hi Lyresa, I don't have advice, still new at this myself, but KT's overnight numbers looked great! :mrgreen:

I read the information on your DH's illness. I'm sorry you have to go through this. I have a chronic illness myself and I feel so bad my DH has to do so much for me. My illness also involves the muscles, I have RSD and Fibromyalgia, the RSD is worse, and I read a lot on this kind of thing, since science can't offer much… I hope your DH has a long remission soon.

Also, nice to meet you…don't believe I visited your condo before this, but then again, I could have, since memory is also an issue with me.
 
It is a regular disco at your place lately :mrgreen: I'm with Sienne don't give up on OTJ I have seen a lot of ss where kitty has got there but it has taken longer than you've been at it so far (even though it probably feels like forever!). I'm planning to keep OTJ as our goal for 2 years and reevaluate then if we haven't got there.
 
Lyresa, honey, are you getting any sleep at all?! It looks like you didn't sleep last night. How about getting a good night of sleep before any dose changes that might require another night of monitoring?

Beautiful piece of glass! I sold some old Fostoria, Cambridge, and others a while back, but you're right--eBay isn't fun anymore.

big hug from Mooks and me.
 
Those are some pretty numbers! I'm not a dosing expert, but I'm an expert at crazy numbers (thanks, Mikey...) and I will echo that sometimes you need to do what makes you comfortable so that you can get a little sleep and peace of mind, especially since you have your DH to worry about as well. You are doing an awesome job; make sure to take care of you, too!
 
that is a gorgeous piece of glass work. just beautiful - and yes, even before i read what you wrote i was imagining the vase full of flowers and some beautiful candlesticks in it. how lovely.

i think sleep sounds good too. you do a fantastic job juggling everybody's needs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top