2/15 Hendrick AMPS 449 + 2.5 282 + 4 279 + 6 309 PMPS 291 + 3 212 + 4 208

Hendrick Cuddleclaw

Very Active Member
Yesterday

I am feeling depressed about my boy today. At first, you could see how much the insulin was helping him, his energy, weight gain and behavior all dramatically improved.

But for the last week or so, even with the .25u increase, it feels like we hit some sort of impasse. He seemed to take a downswing and even with the increase there doesn't seem to be any improvement in his BG levels. Last time we increased he went on a blue streak with a green 92 in there.

I know, I know -- it's a marathon and we're barely 6 weeks into this. Hoping someone here has some words of wisdom to prop me up today. Feeling beat down, defeated.
 
Yesterday

I am feeling depressed about my boy today. At first, you could see how much the insulin was helping him, his energy, weight gain and behavior all dramatically improved.

But for the last week or so, even with the .25u increase, it feels like we hit some sort of impasse. He seemed to take a downswing and even with the increase there doesn't seem to be any improvement in his BG levels. Last time we increased he went on a blue streak with a green 92 in there.

I know, I know -- it's a marathon and we're barely 6 weeks into this. Hoping someone here has some words of wisdom to prop me up today. Feeling beat down, defeated.
Look at where we were a few months ago with all the black, red and pink. I was feeling the same way. Stay the course and keep the faith!
 
I felt hopeless many times. Increase after increase, after increase after increase…always swimming in a sea of pink…on the lookout for ketones….It was 6 months before we saw green…1 year before we had to use HC.

One of the Lantus gurus here back then used to say-

“Be the tank”

A tank always gets where it’s going.:cool:
 
Ha, as a former MMORPG gamer I love it

the tank in that context is a warrior-class that can take a beating, and does. The tank's job is to keep the enemy focused on the tank, just unleashing hell upon it. Keep the enemy's attention so the other members of the raid can attack it without getting killed themselves.

The analogy works, I need to be the tank, take the beatings, the frustration, the feeling hopeless...and just absorb it, for Hendrick. So he can heal.

thank you so much
 
I felt hopeless many times. Increase after increase, after increase after increase…always swimming in a sea of pink…on the lookout for ketones….It was 6 months before we saw green…1 year before we had to use HC.

TR says

"When the cat first begins to have daily nadirs in the normal range of a healthy cat (50 to 80 mg/dl) and spends significant amounts of time in this range each day, stop increasing the dose and switch to Phase 3. It doesn't matter when you measure these lower BGs, it can be at pre-shot or sometime between shots. Getting to this point generally takes 1 month, sometimes a lot longer."

I guess when I read that initially, my mind zeroed in on the "generally takes 1 month" and just kind of glossed over the 2nd part.

6 months before you saw green, wow. And here I am complaining I've only seen him in the green like twice now, in the first month. Good to have perspective, ty
 
Last edited:
Back
Top