2/15 - Handsome - AMPS=406 - +2=409 - +4=449

MeowMomma

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-need-lantus-dosing-help.225382/#post-2523247

Our back story is in the link above. I've started a few threads asking if anyone could help with dosing advice. I hope this one is done correctly because I a SO unsure what to do.

We are in the middle of a curve today, and then tmrw should be the next .25 increase bringing him to 2.75U. However I am wondering if I should go back down to 2U as his numbers were better, it's like they are getting higher now.

•edit• I'm just now noticing I totally skipped over the 2.25 dosage for one week. I'm more inclined to try the 2.25 starting tmrw and then another curve Saturday.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1n7Tt4VXKQb987y-JO3FGMJYKgyTC4nZBNpB61UHpv1w/edit?usp=sharing

Any suggestions? I would very much appreciate the help!! I am desperate for better numbers.
 
Last edited:
Your boy needs more insulin - keep increasing as per your protocol until you start seeing better numbers.

A dose that worked once, may not ever work again...you'll need to keep increasing until you start to see an improvement in those numbers, then decrease down the dosing ladder based on the nadirs (lowest numbers mid-cycle)...
 
I would not reduce the dose -- I'd increase.

The suggestion of decreasing a dose if a cat is in high numbers is based on the idea of chronic Somogyi rebound. Somogyi is an outdated myth that should die from natural causes. The researchers who developed the Tight Regulation data published a study that debunked the notion of Somogyi especially in cats using a depot insulin. This is a bit of a soapbox issue for me!

The best way to get a cat out of high numbers is to systematically increase the dose to 2.75u. Given your ability to test frequently and how high Handsome's numbers are, have you given any consideration to using TR? You'd be able to increase the dose by 0.5u given that the majority of nadirs are > 300.
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-need-lantus-dosing-help.225382/#post-2523247

Our back story is in the link above. I've started a few threads asking if anyone could help with dosing advice. I hope this one is done correctly because I a SO unsure what to do.

We are in the middle of a curve today, and then tmrw should be the next .25 increase bringing him to 2.75U. However I am wondering if I should go back down to 2U as his numbers were better, it's like they are getting higher now.

•edit• I'm just now noticing I totally skipped over the 2.25 dosage for one week. I'm more inclined to try the 2.25 starting tmrw and then another curve Saturday.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1n7Tt4VXKQb987y-JO3FGMJYKgyTC4nZBNpB61UHpv1w/edit?usp=sharing

Any suggestions? I would very much appreciate the help!! I am desperate for better numbers.
I am still out of town so it will be difficult for me to follow up. In the past, when we’ve had a cat on SLGS with BGs this high, we’ve fast tracked them until they were seeing yellow numbers consistently. However, I’m not comfortable recommending that at this time for a couple reasons. One is because you’ve got a couple nights with no tests after PMPS and we can’t fast track if we don’t know how low the dose is taking him.

You would increase the dose tonight by 0.25u.

As an administrative thing, you don’t need to post the SS link in your text as it’s linked in the signature block. Also, if you can PM me, please, I can get the correct SS link format in the signature block for you.
 
Thank you so much everyone! I guess I thought to do 2.25 as I've read if you increase too fast you might skip over the correct dose? All the info is little overwhelming at times so my apologies.The issue with the PM numbers are that I typically go to bed 3 hours after his PM shot. I do try on the weekends to get additional ones when possible.

I'll increase to 2.75.

Can anyone tell me the proper next steps with this thread? Do I wait til next Saturdays curve and then update the title and numbers?
 
Each day is a new post, with a link to the previous one for continuity. That keeps each day’s post shorter too. You can post each day or just days you have questions. We suggest posting more frequently when you are new. Those of us with more experience may spot something that you do not yet see,

Also let us know how Handsome is feeling and behaving too. A cat is more than their numbers, which is all that we can see.
 
Back
Top