2/15 Eddie AMPS 180, +5 = 108, PMPS = 236, +5.5 = 69

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Successful PM cycle with a dosecrease back up to the previous scale. Later nadir at +8 with a 98, and of course, this AM, a longer-than expected surf.

2/14 Recap:

AMPS = 261 (2.2u)
+6 = 196
PMPS = 374 (2.8u) - dosecrease back up to prior scale
+4 = 238
+5 = 211
+6 = 150
+7 = 119
+8 = 98
+9 = 102

This AM (2/15) has been been lots of stalling as follows:
+12 = 107
+12.5 = 119
+13 = 158
+14 = 142
+14.5 = 180 (2.2u)
+2 = 285 (climbed as more or less expected)
+3 = 173
+4 = 134
+5 = 108
+6 = 110
+9 = 156
PMPS (+10) = 236 (2.2u)
+1.5 = 319
+4 = 142
+5 = 80
+ 5.5 = 69
+6 = 71
+7 = 94

Everyone was annoyed that breakfast noms were late this morning. I'm around to monitor since we are shooting a low AMPS here.

I think if Eddie and Lucian could get together and Eddie gave Lucian a couple hours of his long duration cycles, everyone could have nice 12 hour cycles. :-D

Happy Caturday everyone!
 
Re: 2/15 Eddie AMPS 180

Looks good, Jen. Wish he would hit a happy medium between higher and flat and low preshot, but he's a cat. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/15 Eddie AMPS 180

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Looks good, Jen. Wish he would hit a happy medium between higher and flat and low preshot, but he's a cat. :mrgreen:

I know, right? :-D The surfs are nice and I imagine the longer Eddie stays in healthy numbers, the better it is for him. I don't mind, in theory, chasing his numbers if he has long cycles, but that's really hard to do during the week.

I also tested out some vaseline last night, although of course, as soon as I picked some up, Eddie stopped puking hairballs. I guess I just needed to buy vaseline - not actually use it - to take care of that issue. :smile: To my amazement, Eddie thought that licking a tiny, tiny dab off the tube was the most wonderful treat. :-D Our most finicky civilian also thought the vaseline was a wonderful treat. The other three cats did not think it was edible. It does look like vaseline can coat the stomach and interfere with absorption of meds and things, so I'm thinking you'd not want to administer it within a few hours of feeding or giving meds of any sort.

Also, curious if anyone knows anything about eggs for cats. One of the Tiki foods we feed has little egg bits, which by the way, looks delicious. I know eggs are super high protein. Is a bit of cooked egg something we could share as a treat?
 
Re: 2/15 Eddie AMPS 180, +4 = 134

BJM said:
Cooked egg is OK; raw egg white may interfere with B12 vitamin absorption, also with biotin absorption.

Thanks for the info BJM!

Looks like nadir was around +5 which was 108. Considering the BG rise that continued after the shot this morning up to 285 at +2, not too bad of a mid-point number.

At +9, Eddie's at 156, so he's slowly rising. Can we shoot at +10 (which would be close to our normal shot time), if he's approaching or over 200? In other words, assuming the pre-shot numbers are safe, there's no need to wait till +12 from shot time this AM to shoot the PM shot, is there?
 
Re: 2/15 Eddie AMPS 180, +5 = 108, +9 = 156

You need to be careful about shooting early because you can get some overlap. Generally, shooting 1 hour earlier is OK if he's already up there.

Alternatively, if you really need to get back on schedule, you might shoot a reduced dose (something you don't do with Lantus or Levemir!). Ex if 2 units covers 12 hours, then 1 unit might do about 6 hours and 1/2 unit might do about 3 hours. it isn't that exact though, so be careful.

Looking at the spreadsheet, it seems clear that 2.8 units for a glucose of 374 last night was a bit too much because you had to delay shooting this morning.
 
Re: 2/15 Eddie AMPS 180, +5 = 108, +9 = 156

BJM said:
You need to be careful about shooting early because you can get some overlap. Generally, shooting 1 hour earlier is OK if he's already up there.

Alternatively, if you really need to get back on schedule, you might shoot a reduced dose (something you don't do with Lantus or Levemir!). Ex if 2 units covers 12 hours, then 1 unit might do about 6 hours and 1/2 unit might do about 3 hours. it isn't that exact though, so be careful.

Thanks BJM. We'll keep an eye on it. We've had good luck in shooting some overlap since he tends to get longer than 12 hours duration on many of his shots, as long as he's pretty clearly rising. We had kind of icky luck with shooting much lower than normal since he rises pretty fast towards the end of the cycle, so then the reduced dose doesn't work well to bring him off the higher numbers he climbs up to. We'll see where he's at and let the numbers tell us. Thanks!

Oops! I missed your note about the 2.8. We've struggled with longer cycles with Eddie from the beginning. We just went back up to our previous scale after reducing, in part, due to longer cycles but had flat cycles on a reduced dose. I think the occasional cycles are something for Eddie, anyway, that we're going to just have to figure out how to deal with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top