2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 PMPS 137 +4 124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Another rough night, 2 tests for ketones overnight showed "small" amounts and we had low glucose all night too, tierd mama bean. Thanks for the nighttime support again. As soon as the vet opens we are trying to go there...yesterdays link:

Chyna 2/14

Shes back in blue and I have to shoot something with the ketones, do I dare do 1 unit after last night or reduce to 0.5? Never shot this low, I'll be around to monitor, but we'll also potentially be at the vet...guess that is the best place to hypo if you are...
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

If it were me, I'd stick with the 1.0u.

Any chance you might be able to get another ketone test this morning?
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

Just stopping in to send along good vetty/no ketone vines for Chyna, and "I hope you can catch up on sleep" vines for the bean!
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

I was thinking 1 unit as well. Ketones test, I can try? I did take one at 5am (+9) so not sure if she has to pee yet but I'll set up the old aluminum foil...thanks for the vines, I also need some coffee ones:) ~O)
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

Just checking on you. Glad you shot 1u. Vines galore that all is ok. Hope you like the new vet.

I know you are exhausted. Hugs!
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

(((Rachel))) You are doing a great job! Sending tons of anti-ketone vines to Chyna and calming vines no you.
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

(Experts, correct me if I'm wrong here, please) One of the things that may help with the ketones is adding some water to her meals, providing you haven't already started doing so. Also, the vet check will help too, as it may be something that can be treated with medication. Sending tons of healing vines, and positive thoughts for Chyna, and you. I look forward to an update later today, or when I can get back online. Hang in there! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

Yes, I do add water to her food and she has been drinking. Only ate 3/4 of breakfast, but she did have a lot of food shoved at her overnight I guess! Called my papa bear and he said he would drive me if I needed, I'm sort of a wreck. Half an hour till the vet opens...your guys are all awesome:)
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 dose? Vet Visit!

Vetty appt at 9:45am (in an hour) with the new one. Sent her my google spreadsheet...paws crossed that she is good!
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 Back from Vet

Hi again. Just got back from the (new) vet with a not so happy to have been dragged there kitty. She didn't appreciate all the poking/prodding and bottom thermometer but was such a good girl! Turns out she has a bacterial infection in her ears (which I knew and my old vet didn't want to treat right away and every time I mentioned it she said later), and an infected tooth for who knows how long. I now have ear drops and antibiotics to give my baby girl. Recheck next Friday for the ears and stuff, and Dental appointment on Feb 25th. Supposed to keep an eye on ketones but she thinks those are from the tooth (and ear) infection.

The new vet is very nice, really happy about my proactive approach, has diabetic kittys on Lantus and is ok with wet food and "proper" glucose numbers. She liked the spreadsheet and profile too, and said to call or email if I have any questions or problems. She gave me some advice about skipping or lowering the dose if she is under certain numbers and I can't be home to monitor like all of you have been doing. I forgot half my questions about TR and such in my stupor of no sleep and worry, but will have next Friday to bring a list to the recheck:) Has anyone ever given "clavaseptin" antibiotic? I did forget to ask if she needed to take the pill whole or if it's ok mashed up...it does say chewable on the container...thanks for all your kind words this morning and last night. I'm such a giant softeeee when it comes to my Chyna cat:)
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 Back from Vet

Glad to hear its nothing too serious and that you've found a vet you can work with :-D

(Chyna - sorry about the bottom-thingy :sad: )
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 Back from Vet

Woohoo!!! This vet sounds like a keeper. I'm so glad you went. :-D :-D :-D Definitely write down your questions as you think of them. I'm like that too with medical people. :roll: We are softies for Chyna too. It doesn't take long. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 Back from Vet

what are the ear drops you were given. some ear drops are steroids, so you need to be careful with that and the BG's going wonky.
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 Back from Vet

I did like her. She did mention glucose numbers may go wonky and to let her know if I need anything or have questions. Eardrops are "synotic otic drops". Now I just have to figure out how to get my irritable kitty to take the antibiotic, lol. Wonder if I can mash them in tuna water...she outright refused them out of a bowl or hand. Guess I'll have to do some research, I've never pilled a cat...and maybe let her get comfortable at home again first:) I'm not sure why I bothered with a +4...since it's probably elevated from all the stress...
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 Back from Vet

have you tried pill pockets?
2 of my cats love them and would take anything in them and 1 thinks they're worse than the pill :lol:
Some people have used cheese to wrap around the pill or even butter.

It you mash, you need to make sure that Chyna eats is all so something irresistable like a little fancy feast appertizer might do the trick.
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 Back from Vet

A little cheese is a good idea. She really likes tuna water too. Are there pill pockets that are ok for diabetics? I don't know much about them, and I really need to nap now but maybe will run out later.

EDIT: the tiny piece of cheese worked, first antibiotic in kitty:)
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 Back from Vet

We use pill pockets from Greenies. Use the duck and pea flavor (no sugar but do have carbs so use as little as possible). We use the dog version and just use a tiny sliver of one. We give Zener his meds before feeding so it doesn't stay stuck in his throat. If you have to stick the pill down her throat, be sure to syringe some water (before and after) to make sure the pill goes all the way to the stomach and doesn't get caught in her throat.
Liz
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 Back from Vet

The pill pocket that Liz referred to are the allergy formula and don't contain corn syrup.

Soft cheese (e.g., Laughing Cow, cream cheese) or even a pill inside a chunk or chicken, etc. will work.
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 PMPS 137

Well I caught a few hours of zzzz's, not nearly enough, lol. I went and bought some pill pockets, duck and pea, and will try them out:) Now to try do the ear drops tonight...I hope she is a good girl for that too! 2 new things for me to learn today @-)
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 PMPS 137

The Clavaseptin is a chewable form of amoxicillin. You might want to consider giving Chyna a probiotic -- like many antibiotics, this one can cause diarrhea. FortiFlora is available online and is formulated for cats.

I'd also keep testing for ketones. If the ear drops contain steroids, they may raise Chyna's numbers. If that happens, don't be concerned about raising Chyna's dose. You'll want to be very attentive since ketones are more likely to develop if there's an infection and if not enough insulin is on board. Likewise, if Chyna's appetite is off, that can complicate things.
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 PMPS 137

I wonder if I can find the Fortiflora somewhere in store in Canada? I don't think it will get here on time to be helpful if I order online...but I'll look. I've never done any sort of antibiotics or any drugs for her but the Cosequin supplement, so any info is helpful, thank you. I have no idea what to expect, she's been a pretty healthy kitty till recently. When you say don't be concerned with raising her dose, do you mean increase the dose without worrying about it or don't increase it as the rise is from the steroids? I'm sorry if that is a stupid question, just want to clarify since the drops are now in...
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 PMPS 137

She means if the BG goes higher because of the meds, don't be shy about increasing the dose. She might need some more insulin for a short time. Just watch her.
 
Re: 2/15 Chyna AMPS 131 +4 139 PMPS 137

You can ask your vet if they have any Fortiflora. It's also for sale through Amazon.ca which might be a bit faster than coming across the border. I order some probiotics from iPet.com, but it takes about 10 days to get here.
 
The vet is open all day tomorrow so I'll call about the Fortiflora:) Tried the tiny sliver of pill pocket wrapped around the antibiotic tonight and it worked like a charm, fed her mini meal mixed with water right after...she ignored the cheese I tried first...smart kitty figured it out. Hopefully the smelly pill pockets will be interesting enough for her to keep eating it, lol. Ear drops made her scratch at her ears, I tried to massage so hopefully some got where they need to go! Vet said to keep checking urine ketones, no blood test today but she thinks its the absessed tooth infection causing ketones. If they go up I'm to call. I think that answers everyone and I'm off to bed again, +4 looked like a slow drop...thank you again for the caring and concern :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top