Hi everyone! We haven't been posting much. It's the same story every day these days.
We started testing less because of his stubborn numbers not doing much. I was also laid up with surgery at the end of January. I'm on the mend and Chuck is still going nuts after eating. We cut back his main meals to 4 oz and split the rest into his +4 and +6 snacks. He still gets his +8 snack too.
I have been thinking about starting R insulin for a while now but have been dragging my feet in fear of starting a vicious cycle chasing our tails with bounces.
He doubles his numbers almost every day after eating. I was thinking if we add a tiny bit of R around +1 depending on his readings it might help calm him down and give the 18 units a chance to carry him under 2oo for a whole cycle. I don't know if the +1 would be ideal or if we should wait until +2 to see if he will go up any more-- like if +1 was about the same as preshot, he could go up more by +2 and get the R then.
I'm not looking to keep him in greens the whole time with R. I know that's not how it is used. But if we could get to a dose and time that helps knock down his food spike, we might be able to lower his dose eventually too?
But my main focus right now is to knock down his food spikes and try to keep him under 200 consistently.
Advice on starting dose and time? I plan on picking up R tomorrow and possibly starting it tomorrow evening.
The R onset is typically around +2 and nadir typically around +4. You don't want the R and Lev nadir to occur at the same time. On Lantus you would typically try R first at preshot. You would test every hour for four hours to start. Starting dose would be 0.25 units of R.
We do suggest starting R when you have an experienced person around and on line with you. What time and time zone is your preshot?
Shot time is 3pm eastern.
So I would give 0.25 units at the same time I give the 18 units of lantus. Then test for the next 4 hours?
With R we are aiming for 100 point decrease, right?
I can't really see any patterns when looking at Chuck's SS lately. Less testing probably is to blame.
If by +2 he's in the 300s (without R at preshot) can I give R then? Or does that give them the same onset times and risk too big of a drop?
What about +4 or +6 if he's still in 300s after getting R at preshot-- or without R at preshot. Can you give R then or more R?
You must know the Lantus onset and nadir before starting R. Then add R at Lantus preshot and learn how it works on top of the L. We'll talk about other times to give R later. The hardest thing about using R is learning when not to use it.
Chuck's onset is usually around +4 but in lower numbers it can be as early as +3. In higher numbers it's more like +5. +6 is usually when we see the numbers really start to move.
Recently, he only goes up (fast) after eating until +4/+5.
He's been on 18 a few days now. He was on 17.75 a lot longer.
If there is a day that we can't monitor close enough, can the R be skipped when needed? We will most likely move his shot time back to 2am/pm to make it easier on DH and it lets me test until +8/+9 on pm cycles.
It won't be until next week if we do switch times.
Hi Steph, it is so nice to see you on again. You have been missed.
I have a used bottle of Lantus from a friend whose cat passed.( I think it's more than a 1/2 bottle) It has to be used by the end of April , I won't be able to use it before it expires. Would you be interested in it? If so, PM with your address. I will send it to you.
Glad to hear you are considering R. It was the catalyst for Bronx to get into better numbers. I also made sure the pros here were online when I started.
Yes only took a couple of shots to kick her numbers down. Hard to say if it was the R or if we had just hit the magic dose. But I believe the R helped.
Ok, not starting R tonight.
Chuck's preshot was 97 then retest was 104... I'm sure he will still go crazy once the food hits his system but I wouldn't risk it.
I will try again tomorrow on his PM cycle.
Ok, not starting R tonight.
Chuck's preshot was 97 then retest was 104... I'm sure he will still go crazy once the food hits his system but I wouldn't risk it.
I will try again tomorrow on his PM cycle.
Ok, not starting R tonight.
Chuck's preshot was 97 then retest was 104... I'm sure he will still go crazy once the food hits his system but I wouldn't risk it.
I will try again tomorrow on his PM cycle.
He only ate half his food. That's normal these days. He's finishing it now. So I expect +2 to be 250-300.
This is why I was thinking +1 or +2 for the R.
He can have a great preshot but once he eats he goes up, a lot!
So I was unaware of his cycle this morning.
AMPS 321, +3 189... I would have tried to get home for more tests if I knew he dropped that much in 3 hours! DH didn't tell me.
His +3.25 tonight is 289 so he's still on his way up. Is it possible to start at +3... It makes perfect sense in my mind too give him a tiny dose when he's high. If it works within 30 minutes that would be right before his possible onset of lantus. But he typically doesn't go down much if he's still going higher at +3. I guess tonight could be a study cycle to see when onset happens this cycle.
After that morning cycle though, this could be a bounce cycle.
Either way, I want him under 200.