If Buzzy was my cat, I would increase if you don’t see any blues or greens
Come one down and work that juice Buzzy
Have a great day

Doing a mix and match TR/SLGS is not recommended. Each one has its own safety measures, please pick one or the other.Yeah my plan is to go back to 1u literally tonight if today looks like yesterday. And then to do a sort of modified TR/SLGS in that I'm not going to decrease him for a number in the 80s.
Does Buzzy get to eat during the day and overnight?
Feeding small, frequent meals can help the ride out the early part of the cycle sometimes without large drops/ spikes in numbers?
I don't know about a dose...Buzzy has had 3 doses in the last week and you've skipped shots with Preshot numbers around 100 so....if you do go back up and get numbers that low again- will you skip doses or do you feel comfortable shooting? Can you consistently grab night test before bed?
if it were me, I'd try to hold a dose for 1 week, do a BG curve and see what his is actually doing on the insulin. I'd also offer snack at +1,+3 and/or +5 to help him surf through the onset of his insulin without dropping so low that you have to reduce a dose.
The answer really depends on whether you follow SLGS or TR. Your SS says SLGS? You would need to hold for 1 week, do a curve, and then re evaluate.
Doing a mix and match TR/SLGS is not recommended. Each one has its own safety measures, please pick one or the other.
Please read this older post on why we don't mix and match the methods. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/#post-1554089
. It really does take some time to start seeing the results, and numbers do go up and down. I know it can be frustrating at times, we all completely understand. The only thing I can say to try and reassure you is that you are so very new to this process, and have just started insulin, it has only been 8 days. It really does take some time to start seeing the results, and numbers do go up and down.
Part of this process is to learn how the particular insulin we use works for our cat, (every cat is different) which means understanding concepts of onset (length of time the insulin reaches bloodstream and begins to lower blood glucose), nadir (lowest point in the cycle) and duration (how long does the dose continue to lower BG). It is also important to understand how food affects your kitty. You can modify SLGS to have a lower reduction number, but IMHO for safety's sake, you aren't quite there yet, because you don't have enough data to be able to assess.
Staying in somewhat higher numbers doesn't cause DKA. The recipe is not enough insulin + inappetance + an infection or other systemic stress. Was Buzzy previously diagnosed with ketones or DKA?
I guess if we're really doing TR, that would mean hold 0.75u tonight to get 6 cycles in but increase to 1u tomorrow since he's got this flat/high curve thing going on... which I'm pretty OK with since I'll be around to test during the day tomorrow & Monday.
Does that sound right??
On TR, there's no rule about "holding the dose for 6 cycles" when you're talking about a "failed reduction".....the 6 cycle rule only pertains to dose increases
From the TR protocol:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.
First, take a few deep breaths...
Managing your cat's diabetes is not for the faint of heart. That's the bad news. The good news is that we have your back.
As a matter of perspective, cats go into remission using SLGS. Before TR (approximately 2009), SLGS or some iteration of that method is what was used here. One of the moderators, Jill (GA), was one of the first who actually used TR with her kitty. People were convinced she was going to kill Alex with such an aggressive approach. Both methods work.
I'm not convinced that what you're seeing is a failed reduction. This may be a bounce. You have the cycle where Buzzy earned a dose reduction and the following day, he was in blue numbers. He is likely bouncing into the current, less attractive numbers. It can take 3 days for a bounce to clear. We all hate to see high numbers. Just don't try to rush the process. If you want to switch to TR so you have the option to raise the dose sooner, that's fine. Do what works for you and for Buzzy.
I'm extremely frustrated. This CANNOT be my life. I have GOT to take care of my family, I have GOT to function well at work, and I have my own mental health issues that require I sleep, period - I have literally been hospitalized for this in the past. There has got to be some sort of compromise where my life gets to continue. I am doing my absolute best, but it feels like never enough. Never enough testing, never enough money thrown at this for supplies, never enough patience when I'm sitting here watching his numbers be high -- I KNEW I shouldn't have dropped his dose, and I'm angry that I listened to SLGS protocol.
Not to pile more on ... just wanted to share since I felt pretty frustrated in the beginning too. Almost like no matter what - I was failing my cat who I probably made diabetic by feeding crap food.
My only thought here is that TR since it is a more aggressive protocol ends up - in my opinion- requiring more testing, time and energy... and for you to be able to stay up with your pet when they are in numbers that are too low. It sounds like you already have a lot going on ....
SLGS is a bit more forgiving until you start to see patterns in your pets BGs or are data ready to better intervene with BG numbers. Higher numbers - and we are talking 400s- 500s here are no where near as dangerous as numbers that are too low can be...
We did SLGS in the beginning because I acknowledged that I had no idea how to manage this and that there would be nights that I absolutely would not be able to test or intervene with food. That might have meant a few weeks in the 300s, but I knew he was safer than possibly hitting the low 40s - alone with no food available. I needed a few days to emotionally rest and to try and process what I needed to do to take care of him and to try and take care of myself. SLGS with the 2 test/ day minimum and somewhat predictable numbers (after awhile) let me do that. I guess you ultimately have to do what works for you.
Cats bounce- the numbers don't always make sense- and patience is a requirement. It'll get easier but it does take time - like anything else.
I originally went SLGS because I also can't always stay awake or home.
I'm going to start leaving food out when I go to work. I can't do a timed feeder right now, but I can leave some food mixed w/ water out. I'll never know if he or his sister ate it, but it will be available at least. And if he's too low for my comfort, I'll mix his breakfast with some MC food for safety. And I'll get timed feeders as soon as I can afford them. I can probably afford 1 right now at least - thought of at least doing that (though, again, will have no idea which cat ate). That way I can make it offer food at like +6 but "take it away again" at +10.
I think it's too late for me to waffle on this again - I've already given the 1u dose, so I imagine it's important to go ahead and stay at this dose for now.
Neither SLGS nor TR suit me completely, but I just can't seem to tolerate sitting here watching the numbers climb and NOT acting, and SLGS wants me not to act. And I still don't think it makes sense to have reduced him in the first place just bc he touched the 80s when he came all the way back up to the 200s the next morning.