2/15 Bella AMPS 231, +2 239, +5 222, PMPS 146

cecile & bella

Member Since 2021
yesterday 2/14 Bella AMPS 293, +4 120, +8 176, PMPS 128, +2 89
We'll see how she goes today.
I have a question, I've been reading and I would like to do the TR dosing. Is it possible to switch once you start one way? I think that what our vet did was more SLGS, so that is what I put on her SS, but I'm not sure if it matters after a few months? Or can we just change the way we dose?
 
Hi Cecile, you can always switch between TR and SLGS at any time. For TR, you will need to get at least 4 tests per day - 2 preshots and 2 midcycle - more in active cycles like last night.

Will that be possible? I was under the impression you cannot test every day? Maybe I'm mistaken?

TR is a more aggressive protocol but helps you stay at a dose where the cat can spend more time in normal numbers.
 
Thank you! I can test almost every day, when I work it's school time (I sub) so that leaves me time in the morning and late afternoon in any case.
Yes, when I read about it it seems to make more sense to me, closer to what you would do for a human diabetic.
 
If you can test, let's give TR a try :-)

With TR, she did not earn a reduction last night. For a newly diagnosed diabetic (less than a year since diagnosis) a reduction is earned if the BG drops below 68 on a pet meter. Let's hold the dose and see what she does on it.

A +2 is usually a good indicator of that the cycle is going to be like:
  • If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
  • If the +2 is a lot higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a little bit of a break on testing.
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your early warning that the BG might be going a lot lower later in the cycle and it's important to try to get some other tests in to keep her safe.
 
She might just head up from here too - bouncing from the green last night. Hard to say.
You could get another test later in the cycle to confirm.

Btw, did you order a human meter?
 
I'm planning to stop by CVS today to see what they have. Last time they did not have strips so I waited. I'm not sure if there is a Walmart close by, I don't think so.
 
I ordered one online from Walmart as there wasn’t a store close enough. Then strips can be purchased online or from eBay. I just to get great deals by auction. ADW is another online source.
 
Last edited:
They already delivered it! I'll start using it tomorrow.
Hi Cecile, you will need to make a change in the SS to reflect the switch to a human meter. I can help you with that.

I have sent you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account associated with the SS. Check the spam folder as well. Sometimes it goes straight there! :-)
 
Back
Top