2/15 Babu-Chiri AMPS 446 +8 (100) +10 (95) PMPS 89 +.5 (86) +3(165) dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Veronica & Babu-chiri

Member Since 2016
Babu's 2/14

Good night I'm Stalling again but I think this time I am going to skip the shoot he is not going up after 30 minutes he even got lower

At +8 when I tested and found that he was at 100 I gave him MC food until +10 when I stopped feeding him to wait the 2 hours before his shoot but at shooting time he was still quite low and the Half hour of waiting didn't helped.

I don't know what to do he will surely bounce big time and tomorrow morning he will be really really high what dose to use? Any one has any suggestions?
 
Last edited:
Sorry you didn't get any advise I think it's been s busy night on the forum. If you put stalling pls advise?? as your subject this can help. I'm by no means an expert only been at this 2 months. I use to skip doses too if my cat was below 8.2 but then she use to bounce high too. What method are you following? If it's TR then you can shoot lower than 8.2, really I believe it's a lot lower. You'd have to confirm the exact lowest number you can shoot it may be as low as 2.9 but you'd have to check with others who are experienced on that and it would depend on the cat and the data you have I believe. My understanding is as long as you can monitor and have plenty of test strips, lancets, LC food and HC food or honey on hand then you're good to go. It's important to get in a +1 and +2. This will help you to know whether to wait, feed a little LC or whether HC is needed. It's amazing how much my cat has responded to LC with just a drop of honey! I use this as my HC.

It's helpful to have someone experienced on here monitor you the first time you shoot low. I've shot as low as 4.1 twice this past week and it's gone really well. It does take effort to monitor though. But the rule of thumb is shoot low to stay low. I'm no expert but I think if you could have monitored tonight and had supplies that you could have shot. I'd def stall and post that you're stalling next time and waiting on advise and others can then advise if you can shoot.

Your insulin dose is not high either so I think you'd be good. It's a little nerve wracking the first time shooting green but everyone on here is so helpful and supportive they'll help booste up or confidence loads and soon you'll get the hang of it. Keep going you're doing great!
 
Sorry no one got back to you. Under the circumstances, skipping was probably a good idea. Even with a reduced dose, the depot can affect the numbers and you have to be careful. I hope Babu won't be too high this morning.
 
Hi Veronica.

I'm sorry I didn't see that you were stalling and come to help. However, it looks like you made the best choice. Since you're following SLGS and neither your PMBG nor your +1 were above 90, skipping was your only option. Hopefully Babu won't go too high tonight and you can safely shoot at your regular time in the morning. Because he did drop below 90 , he earned a reduction back to .5 units.
 
Hi Veronica.

I'm sorry I didn't see that you were stalling and come to help. However, it looks like you made the best choice. Since you're following SLGS and neither your PMBG nor your +1 were above 90, skipping was your only option. Hopefully Babu won't go too high tonight and you can safely shoot at your regular time in the morning. Because he did drop below 90 , he earned a reduction back to .5 units.

It's ok thanks for answering any way

Yes I think it was the best since at+3 he was 165, sorry I didn't updated th SS I tested and went right to bed.

I know that the protocol does says that if he goes below 90 I should reduce to 0.5 but he has a history of not holding the reductions too well that's why I was asking
 
Sorry no one got back to you. Under the circumstances, skipping was probably a good idea. Even with a reduced dose, the depot can affect the numbers and you have to be careful. I hope Babu won't be too high this morning.

Yes I know and Babu tends to dive so with 89 and going down instead of up is too scary and I think I 'll use the chance to adjust the schedule a little since with all the stalling and everything it was getting a little bit late and I was arriving really late to work
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top