2/15 Atticus, PMPS 69, +2 49, +3 54, +4 66

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monica and Atticus (GA)

Member Since 2011
Atticus has just been surfing along! Here's yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63645

Again, this is our lowest AMPS ever. I have to go in to work this morning, and I'll probably be able to come check on him at lunch, but that won't be until +5. So I'm afraid I'm going to have to shoot the BCS dose of 0.25 again. I hate to keep switching on him, but there's no way I can shoot the 0.5 if I'm not going to be here. I'm glad Atticus is doing so well, but nailbite_smile !
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79

What a great AMPS for Atticus! I understand your hesitation to shoot the full amount when you can't monitor. I usually try to come home for lunch to check on Simon when his AMPS is a little lower. Do you have an automatic feeder? That might help. You could set it to go off after 2 hours so Atticus has food before you are able to come home to check on him. That usually works for me and keeps Simon from going too low.

Keep up the great work!
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79

Hi guys .. these nice low numbers sure are exciting aren't they? To bad they're also scary! But you are doing really good and so is atticus .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65

I am really torn on your dosing. confused_cat

A few weeks ago when you were nervous about shooting 0.75 after a long night of low numbers your vet said go to 0.5u. A lot of us thought that reduction was too much and that Atticus didn't really earn it. But, you stuck with the 0.5u and Atticus has done very well.

The fidgeting with the dose has not seemed to affect him very much and the first round you fed med. carb and he maintained his beautiful green surf.

So this is the 3rd. BCS dose in 4 cycles and I am really wondering if you shouldn't just hold the 0.25u for 3 days and see what happens. :?: :idea: :?:

I am tossing this out there for your consideration as well as the more experienced folks too, to comment on. I know what the protocol says, it says you should still be shooting 0.5u and Atticus needs a drop below 50 to earn that reduction, but he has already proved once that is not to be his particular case.
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65

Beth, I've been thinking about that, too. I hate to admit it, but last night I was almost hoping that I'd catch a 49 in there so I could go ahead and "legally" stick with the 0.25. I feel bad about switching him up so much, but if I'm repeatedly doing a 0.25 anyway because I'm not able to monitor his low numbers with the 0.5., then maybe it'd be better to just hold the lower dose for a while and see.

I'm curious to hear what others think, too.
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65

Hi, Monica,
No dosing advice from me, just wanted to say hi. Good luck with your decision.
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69

PMPS is 69. I think I'm going to do the 0.25 tonight, and then stick with that for a few days and see how he does. This is our lowest preshot number ever!
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65

My thoughts (for what they are worth - remember not too much experience here I'm just practising with dosing advice) are that you're probably not seeing the full effects of the reduced dose 0.25 shots yet and staying at 0.25 may not hold. HOWEVER I don't see there's any harm in staying with the 0.25 for a few days to see what happens. It may just work for Atticus and you can easily go up again if you find you need to, it's just that you may find yourself with some higher numbers for a few days while the shed refills if that happens. I would probably risk it.

I hope you don't mind me practising on you I think the best way for me to learn is to put my thoughts out there for correction. I remember things really easily when I make a mistake and am corrected because I am quite the perfectionist :-D
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69

I do tend to think that shooting the same dose consistently is a better strategy than moving between doses. If you opt to reduce, what would you think about splitting the difference and shaving the dose? We try to keep a kitty on insulin for as long as possible as a means of supporting the pancreas so it has more of a chance to heal. If the reduction doesn't hold, go back to your last good dose.

Also, if you decide to reduce, please put a note on your SS as to why.
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69

Sienne, you mean trying for around a 0.35- 0.40? I can do that. I'm not convinced I was entirely successful eyeballing the in-between when we were going from 1.0 to the 0.85, but I can try. So a fat 0.25/skinny 0.5?

EDIT: He's been low so consistently, I think I'm just going to go with the 0.25 and stick with it. Since that's what he got this morning, I feel like that will be more consistent than switching to a new dose. Crossing our paws and we'll see how it goes!
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49 !

Well, I got my 49! Two hours after shot. And this was the 0.25 dose. I swear Atticus must have read his condo tonight!

Since we've just reduced, this shouldn't mean we do another dose reduction, right?
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49 !

That's exactly right. Hold the 0.25u dose for the morning. You'll also want to give Atticus a HC treat for that 49!
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49, +3 54

54 at +3. He got some MC an hour ago and again just now. I actually need to pick up a few cans of actual HC. I've been using Avoderm, which is 9%, for MC.
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49, +3 54

I know the low numbers are nerve wracking for you, but it is nice to see and I hope that means he is getting near OTJ. I would be the same way and only shoot low if I could monitor. You are getting lots of good advice from everyone. Good luck!!
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49, +3 54

Simon and Atticus are reading the same playbook! Simon didn't earn his first reductions either--they were for vacation safety. Then he did great--better on the low dose. I think they might be sneaking out at night to plan their doses together:) :mrgreen:

Also found this on rebound. To me, it describes what Simon was experiencing on higher doses. Those with more experience might weigh in. Don't know who wrote it, but it was interesting to me.
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound#What_you.27ll_see
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49, +3 54

Thanks, Lydia! It's been exciting, alright.

Kim, wow, Simon's SS looks just like Cus's! They must be meeting up somewhere to plan. I can picture them hanging out at Flagpole Hill or somewhere, plotting away.
 
Re: 2/15 Atticus, AMPS 79, +5 65, PMPS 69, +2 49 !

Monica and Atticus said:
Well, I got my 49! Two hours after shot. And this was the 0.25 dose. I swear Atticus must have read his condo tonight!

Since we've just reduced, this shouldn't mean we do another dose reduction, right?


Well Atticus, you are keeping us all on our toes! :mrgreen:

I agree with Sienne to hold the 0.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top