2/14Max/EliseAMPS278 +5=101+6.5=256PMPS195 +3=211

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
So Max wanted food at 2:40 a.m. I decided to test him first and he was 222. I was thinking maybe he was low and that is why he woke me up but that wasn't it. He actually only ate a little which was a bit confusing. His AMPS is back up again in the yellow. Happy Valentines' Day everyone.
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101

He's been under the bed since I got back from spin class but that's not so unuual. He wasn't sleeping though which is unusual. I guess I need to hang around to see if he goes lower. Should I retest in 1 or 2 hours? It's time for him to eat so that might bump him up some. I generally put out food after his +4-7 test.
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101

It looks like that his nadir is +5 (for now). That's a very good # for him. :-D One thing to remember is that the PS #s will be the last to come down, and the others will be first. With Blackie, I've noticed that it's the nadirs that will go low first, and then they'll branch out towards the pre-shot #s. Then, the pre-shots are the last to follow suit. (If that makes sense). However, every cat is different (ECID), so what one cat may do, another may do something totally different. If you want to get another test, go ahead. The more tests you can get, the better you'll be able to find out how he's doing over time.

Keep up the excellent work!
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101

It wouldn't hurt to test in an hour or two. Cats can change their nadirs.

When Neko first started getting into greens, she'd sometimes hide under the bed. I guess she just wasn't feeling comfortable in those numbers.
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101

Thanks. Max started hiding when my other cat got sick. He continued to hide more when he got pancreatitis. Now it is a combo of habit and what he does when he feels off so it's hard to tell. I think he is hiding more because he doesn't want to get his ear pricked any more than he has to,sigh. I have to drag him out from under the bed. Thank goodness for the risers I bought when Tiffany got sick and that I am little and can easily get him out.

Yes it looks like his Nair is between 5-6 hours now. He was up to 256 at +6 1/2. Thank you Max for letting me leave to take my valentines to my mom. :smile:
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101

Oh, it's hard when they hide :sad: . It's always nice to have the extra info, like Angela and Wendy said :cool: . I wish there was a thermometer temperature gun type thing that would take BG! It would make things sooo much easier. I hope that Max is surfing that +5 nicely :-D
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101+6.5=256PMPS195

Thanks Rachel. I hope the skipped dose works for you.
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101+6.5=256PMPS195

someone recently mentioned an experiment that's being done - i want to say at Harvard Med School, but i'm not positive - on a tattoo that would allow BGs to be scanned. wouldn't that be cool!?!
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101+6.5=256PMPS195

Really? I assume it's for people. I wonder if it could be adapted for cats?

Max is looking so much better lately. I think you're doing a good job, too. Just remember, he's a cat, and cats are notorious for not doing what you think they will or should! :lol:
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101+6.5=256PMPS195

Cats will be the last to get any trials because they are so unpredictable don't you think? We even have to use drugs like cerenia and ondansetron off label. We can dream though and if they come up with something for humans or dogs that work try them for cats.

As for Mr. Max, each time I test I can't tell what will happen. It's like playing slot machines. I can't tell by looking at him or his actions whether he will be high, low, or normal. Is that the way it is for everyone ?
 
Re: 2/14Max/Elise AMPS278 +5=101+6.5=256PMPS195

basically, yes. i mostly couldn't tell what punkin would be based upon behavior. the only thing was that if he was really high, he would just lay against his water bowl. i'm not sure how much that was related to him beginning to have kidney failure, though. i hated seeing him do that.

the first time he got into the 30's i had no idea. he was just like always and i tested and there it was. some people seem to be able to tell what their cats are, but i think a lot are like you and me - can't tell. that's why we have to test.

the thing about the tattoo was in the very beginning stage of research. i'm sure it would be for people first. no doubt years away, but at the time it comes, won't that be exciting!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top