2/14 Yoshi amps 119 +6 77 +7 74 +8 64 +8.5 70

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
Happy Valentine’s Day!

Keeping an eye on Yoshi. I fed him some lc before the +6 because I didn’t know he was low.

@Wendy&Neko, I’ve been giving him 6 or 6.5 if he has a lower preshot. I think I need to make some stricter rules? Maybe half dose if he is in the low hundreds?

I don’t even know what dose he should be at anymore. Maybe I should try 6.5?
 
Last edited:
I had been stalking Yoshi’s spreadsheet. ;) I do love the change in colour scheme. :cool: I can see you are having a hard time giving the same dose, which really does make figuring out the dose harder. Remember, we dose by nadirs with the depot insulins, not the preshots. Get rid of that Prozinc thinking of changing dose based on preshots. Also, keep remembering Lev means lower preshot numbers. Dosing by nadirs also means getting night time tests, even before bed, is super helpful.

The 7 unit depot is still influencing today. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction, the higher end for larger depots.

Some guidelines I have used, as have others with cats with acro. Hold the dose if you are seeing under renal threshold numbers, unless you see numbers below a reduction threshold that works for you. With my human meter I used 70 when Neko was coming down dose fast after treatment, 50 if she was holding mostly steady. If getting a second test, including nights, is going to be an issue for you, maybe start with 90 in the AT, as per SLGS. That would mean reducing to 6.5 after today. You have the weekend to gather more data and get rid of the 7 unit depot. Plus you’ll be on the line. :)

Over time you may tweak that 90 as a reduction point if you find his numbers start rising too much if you reduce then. Yoshi doesn’t look to be in what I would call a fast reduction phase. I rather suspect you broke through some glucose toxicity, which usually means some downward motion in dose, but then settles to the normal gradual ups and downs.

Most important, how is Yoshi feeling/behaving now that he’s in much better numbers?
 
I had been stalking Yoshi’s spreadsheet. ;) I do love the change in colour scheme. :cool: I can see you are having a hard time giving the same dose, which really does make figuring out the dose harder. Remember, we dose by nadirs with the depot insulins, not the preshots. Get rid of that Prozinc thinking of changing dose based on preshots. Also, keep remembering Lev means lower preshot numbers. Dosing by nadirs also means getting night time tests, even before bed, is super helpful.

The 7 unit depot is still influencing today. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction, the higher end for larger depots.

Some guidelines I have used, as have others with cats with acro. Hold the dose if you are seeing under renal threshold numbers, unless you see numbers below a reduction threshold that works for you. With my human meter I used 70 when Neko was coming down dose fast after treatment, 50 if she was holding mostly steady. If getting a second test, including nights, is going to be an issue for you, maybe start with 90 in the AT, as per SLGS. That would mean reducing to 6.5 after today. You have the weekend to gather more data and get rid of the 7 unit depot. Plus you’ll be on the line. :)

Over time you may tweak that 90 as a reduction point if you find his numbers start rising too much if you reduce then. Yoshi doesn’t look to be in what I would call a fast reduction phase. I rather suspect you broke through some glucose toxicity, which usually means some downward motion in dose, but then settles to the normal gradual ups and downs.

Most important, how is Yoshi feeling/behaving now that he’s in much better numbers?
Hi @Wendy&Neko :bighug::kiss: My intuition was telling me that you were checking up on us. And I figured oh my God I better update my spreadsheet. It’s been crazy at work but I need to be more mindful of updating it every day. We can’t thank you enough for looking out for us :cat:. I don’t like to bother you too much, so I try to wing it :banghead:.

Gah! I ran to the store and he’s at 64 now. He kind of stumbled when he got up to greet me so I tested right away. Gave MC 13% will wait a half hour and if he’s not coming up will give a bit if hc.

Thank God I’m home today.

I’ve been giving him chicken fricassee, pate chicken breast dinner, and foul play. I think they are all under 3% carb. I never know which carb chart I should use on wurva. There are like 3. All of it is low phosphorus and he doesn’t go through as many cans as he did ff. Maybe the diet change is contributing to his numbers.

I still have Ff on hand for medium and high carb needs.

I know what you mean about dosing as if he’s on Prozinc. I was just thinking that to myself this morning. But when I leave for work I’m in a bit of a conundrum. I don’t necessarily want to skip the shot and give up all the work we’ve done (Wendy included), but I don’t want to give him the full shot, so I just use my instincts. I think that’s what I miss a lot about Prozinc . But I know I’m on a different insulin now. That’s why I think I need to Decide if he is in the low hundreds what percentage of the dose to give. I know I need to shoot the nadar, but seeing a 95 in the am, and then the one time he didn’t come up till I went to wk late and stuffed him w food... I get nervous.

His brother is still at my moms because I drive back and forth often and Seine (brother) hates the car. So Yosh has no one to run with (but he doesn’t particularly care for his brother so I don’t think he misses him Much) in terms of exercise... but he plays laser, scratches on his post, goes on the porch (until he realizes it’s too cold — which is 45 seconds). He sleeps and eats and rolls in catnip. Never drinks water (I put it in this food), pees and poos in all the right places. When BG is high he sleeps all day (hasn’t done this in a while) and when he’s too low he gets this look on his face like he’s on acid. He’s been on the bed with me a lot, he seems to do that when he feels well...or maybe it’s because Seine isn’t here to kick him off. Anyway, that’s his temperament. He gets constipated sometimes and I give him miralax. Sometimes his breathing rattles, sometimes it doesn’t. It doesn’t seem to be very prominent as of late. Maybe the tumor is sleeping.

Off to test.
 
Last edited:
70 a half hour and some change later. He’s okay. I let him lick the rest of the MC juice. He doesn’t eat the chunks. He glared at me and covered it up like poo when he was done like, “ thanks for saving me from the emergency vet, you peasant” (we need an eye roll emoji).
 
Good catch, he’s earned that reduction we talked about. Also good to know +8 is a good time for an autofeeder meal when you are away or asleep.

PM cycle of 2/10, he hit greens in spite of a higher blue preshot. Thus, preshot is not a way to determine how low they will go. Reducing for a particular cycle may not have much effect until following cycles, due to the depot. Uneven dosing makes it hard to determine what the dose should be, and may leave you on a higher dose that you should be. Just three of the reasons it’s not good to decide what to shoot based on preshot value.

If you are constantly adjusting doses cause you don’t feel comfy shooting a certain number, reduce the overall dose so you don’t get those values that make you nervous. This may result in him spending more time above renal threshold. But maybe you do that for a while to gather more data, and relax a bit personally. We all need breaks from this disease. :bighug:

Nice report on Yoshi. I bet he feels better in these nicer numbers.
 
I thought I was reducing the overall dose by shooting lower when he was lower? Do you mean reduce by a .5 and keep it consistent?
 
Yes. Over 5 units total dose, reduce by 0.5 units when you reduce the dose, and shoot that same amount all the time. Unless another reduction is earned.
 
Are you back to work on Monday? I might reduce to 6.0 units on Sunday. Give you a couple cycles to drain the depot and get him in slightly higher numbers while you are at work. The 77 you caught today could have been from the higher depot, but the depot isn't much higher at this point.
 
Back
Top